Snarsgate Street and the Hytex Rubber Factory

Running off the northern end of Latimer Road is Snarsgate Street, a short cul de sac of formerly two up, two down terraced cottages. David Walker has sent has sent in some photos and memories of the street in the post war years and its relationship with Hytex a rubber factory, close by on Latimer Road.

OS map 1914

David Walker

My old Dad used to say the houses, were £100 each just before the War so you could have bought the whole street for £2100 back then.

All the houses numbers 1- 10 on our side of the Street  were rented out by Mr Parr who owned Hytex Rubber Factory that ran along the back of the properties. He was highly regarded both as landlord and provider of fairly well paid jobs for the local lads in the area. I did a stint there in my teens but that lasted about a month. The 100 degree heat was bad enough. Worse was the stench on my clothes from the molten rubber that did little for my street cred so I left. Mr Parr also ran a system of homework, a much welcome source of extra income for local women (cutting and trimming the rubber tyres for Dinky toys and Silver Cross prams). My Mum did it and was paid by the gross . She would never miss the chance to ‘press gang’ any us to help if we stood around too long. There was always a Christmas party funded by Mr Parr for us kids and a hot water bottle (another product of the factory) plus a week’s free rent for the grown ups.

The background of this picture shows the dividing wall between our cul de sac and the gardens of the ‘big’ houses Highlever Road. The door in the wall was usually locked but always of great interest to us as kids as it seemed to be like peering into a magic garden when it was occasionally opened for tradesmen to use. The faded white wicket cricket stumps on the wall painted by my elder brother Pete were still there in the 70’s and highlights the longevity of the nice drop of (probably lead) paint pinched from my Dads box in our backyard. The dilapidated corrugated iron construction on the right was Hytex distribution shed which has since been developed into an additional property, 10A. Another sign of the times?

The end of the war photo above shows most of the families of the Street that I remember when growing up (four of the families who lived in the Street were from my Dad’s extended family). Some of the others were from across the top of Snarsgate Street where it connects to Latimer Road. My Mum is far right outside the old family home with my sister on her lap. I am in my Mums tummy.

More recollections from Kenneth Saunders (from comments sent into the blog)

I remember Snarsgate Street especially for the bonfires in November, they were easily the best in the area, although they did no no favours for the road surface We really tried, storing up all the bits of wood and furniture from summer onwards. I’ll let you into a little secret. The reason they were the best is that we dug up most of the original old wooden tar blocks from under the tarmac road surface so the fire burned bright and so long that even the Fire Brigade had trouble putting them out. It’s a wonder over the passing years that the whole street entrance didn’t turn into a sinkhole. I am still unsure to this day whether it was the difference between a better equipped Fire Service or our ever depleting tar stocks that saved this event from actually happening.

Snarsgate Street used to be the play street for most of us boys who lived local to it in Latimer Road especially during the school holidays when we would meet up most days and organise ball games, home made cart and scooter races etc much to the annoyannce of a few of those residents without kids. It probably became a games area as it was a cul de sac and had a very smooth road surface ideal for the ball bearings being used for scooter wheels. We used to get the ball bearings from the Rootes workers who visited the Cafe on the corner of Snarsgate Street . The owner of the Cafe was Maurice and it was known as Mo’s Cafe.

There have been several comments about doing homework for Hytex, as many of the local families were involved.

James Farndale

I used to go to them (Hytex) to collect pressed rubber sheets of washers and grommets that my mum had to clean up with scissors. There were quite a lot of out workers at the time. There was always a container at home filled with the soap she used to make the scissor blades cut through the thin rubber. I don’t know how much she earned for this task, but I had to visit the factory several times a week. I must have been 12 /13 years old at the time.

Sharon Aldridge

My late mum Elsie Stanbridge worked there for many years, as a manageress. Her sister Doris Ellis used to distribute the rubber homework. In the 1960s there was an entrance for her homework room, at the end of Snarsgate street. And in later years her room was at the front of the building. The factory was owned by Mr and Mrs Parr.

I also remember the soap in a bowel to cut the rubber sheets, my mum Elsie did homework herself. I remember as a teenager being out of work and I used to do the rubber homework packing rubber bottle stoppers, and finger cones six in strip. and boxing them up. Happy times!

Michael Butler below sent in some photos

Michael Butler

We moved to Wallingford Avenue in April 1949 when I was 16 months old. My father worked in Alperton for Amplivox Hearing Aids and to make ends meet my mother started working part- time in the evenings at White City Greyhound Stadium. Dog nights were on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday, many local men and women worked part- time at the stadium then. Mum worked for the tote upstairs.

When I started school in 1953, my mother, Marjorie Butler got a job at Hytex Rubber working in the office on a part-time basis. Mr. Parr the owner and his wife (Dodi) were brilliant employers and not only did they pay decent wages they looked after their workers in many other ways. They paid for Beano’s (coach trips) to the seaside for the workers, normally Southend or Margate and for the office workers and customers a Christmas do at the Café Royal in Regent Street.

On the Beano’s the women in the factory had their own song they sang on the journey to the coast “We’re the Hytex Girls”.

I remember seeing loads of old prams and pushchairs coming and going from the factory picking up and returning the outwork. We occasionally did some to help pay for a holiday.

Mum stayed there until 1959 eventually working there full time


Mr Parr, the owner of Hytex and his wife Dodi in the back row with the office staff and their partners.

Hytex Beano with the coach. Mr. Parr far right. My mum in the camel coat talking to the lady with the handbag.

Mr Parr at the Café Royal shaking the hand of a woman who worked with my mum (name now forgotten).

If anyone wants to add more information about the history of Hytex and also about the ‘finishing’ factory on Gayford Road which is mentioned in various comments, please add to the comments below or send in an email direct to the blog northkenstories@yahoo.co.uk and they can be added to this entry.

This entry was posted in North Pole Road, Streets, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Snarsgate Street and the Hytex Rubber Factory

  1. Alfie kirkum says:

    My dad alf kirkum was born in snarsgate

  2. Linda Phibbs says:

    David Walker, I am related to you. Your dad was my mum’s brother. Mum was Florence Walker and her sister was Elsie Walker. I also remember Chris and Fred your parents. Also remember your sister Sheila’s wedding to Terry. The good old days.

  3. michaeldparr says:

    I very much appreciate the lovely comments about my Grandfather S. A. Parr and Dodie Parr. I moved to Canada in 1957 when I was six but returned for holidays fairly regularly and usually visited Hytex. I still have an F. M. Circulator which energizes your feet from the 60’s.
    Dodie ran the finishing plant in Gayford Road which we also visited on many occasions.
    Stunningly I do not have any photos of Hytex and would love to see some as my memory needs jogging quite often these days.

  4. martin webber says:

    I remember visiting a house in Snarsgate Street where my uncle Stanley Sidney Webber lived along with his wife Irene and their Three children, Sandra, Norma and Michael. They occupied one floor whilst Stanley’s two spinster sisters, Lydia and Eliza occupied the other floor. The house was on the righthand side of Snarsgate Street. My visit, accompanied by my father, must have been in the late 1950s or early 1960s. I don’t know if Stanley owned the building or if he just leased or rented it. Whatever the case, he and his wife and children moved out and went to live in High lever Road where his daughter,Norma, still lives today with her own family. As for Lydia and Eliza, they moved out and bought a house in Caverswall Street where they lived until they passed away. Stanley, Irene and Michael are also now deceased. I wish I could recall more details of my visit but it was so many years ago and my memory is not what it used to be. My mum, dad and older brother and me used to live in one of the prefabs in Bomore Road.

  5. martin webber says:

    I only found out the following information today after speaking with my brother. He recalled that our uncle, Stanley Sidney Webber, of Snarsgate Street, was the joint owner of a fishmongers business located about 3-4 shops down from the corner of Latimer Road and North Pole Road. They other owner was his sister, Lydia Margaret Webber. My brother says that Stanley used to go toBillingsgate market to buy the fish he would later sell in the shop. My brother remembers going to that shop in the 1950s but I don’t know if he got a discount for being family. Stanley was also known as Bubs or Bubbles so people at the time might have known him by either of those name. I hope this info will jog a few memories.

  6. martin webber says:

    On checking out some of my late fathers documents which I have inherited , I came across his driving licence covering the period September 7th 1929 until September 6th 1940, and his address is given as 5 Snarsgate Street. His soldiers service and pay book shows his civilian occupation had been that of a store keeper. My dad enlisted for service on October 17th 1940, at Maidstone, Kent.He was released from military service in February 1946 and by the 15th July of that year was residing at 25 Bomore Road along with his wife and first born son. I came along ten years later. I suspect that 5 Snarsgate Street was the home of a large clan of Webber’s headed by William Herbert Webber and his wife Maria Sarah Webber new New. They had seven children all of whom are now deceased. Hope there is someone around the area who remembers the Webber’s of 5 Snarsgate Street.

    • Allan George Seabridge says:

      Martin Webber – HI Martin, I am looking at the history of the shops in North Pole road and Latimer Road, and I am starting to put together a photographic record. I had previously had a comment to my shopping article that Bubbles Webber owned the wet fish shop. Do you or your family have a photograph of the shop or Bubbles (or any other shops) that I can use? if so can you attach it to the site. you may need to send a jpeg to Sue Snyder. Regards, Allan

  7. martin webber says:

    Sorry Allan but I don’t have a photograph of the wet fish shop and i never actually visited it. My brother David, says he did visit when he was 15 so that would put the year as 1959. It is my understanding that Stanley’s sister, Lydia Margaret Webber( 1902-1986) actually served in the shop whilst Stanley went and purchased the fish. My brother thinks Stanley and his family moved to Highlever Road in the mid 1960s. I remember visiting uncle Stanley in his new home but after I moved to Hampshire my visits got less frequent. Stanley served with the RAF during WW2 and for some of the time he was based in Lincolnshire. I don’t know what his duties were but I don’t think he was a pilot. Stanley sadly died on February 8th 2009. He was predeceased by his wife Irene. If you contact me by email at mwebber123@outlook.com I can give you details of his daughter Norma who still lives at the house in Highlever Road. She may have just the photo you need.

  8. martin webber says:

    Sorry Allan but I don’t have a photo of my uncle Stans wet fish shop in Latimer Road and I never visited it in person. My brother went there when he was 15 so that would put the year as 1959. Stanley Webber served with the RAF in WW2. I am not sure what he did but I don’t recall anyone saying he was a pilot. He married Irene Shaw on January 30th 1943 and his first born child, Sandra, was born on November 9th 1945. Stanley was one of seven children resulting from the marriage of William Herbert Webber and Maria Sarah New. Stanley himself was born on October 3rd 1920 and died on February 8th 2009. I was told that Stanley was nicknamed bubbles because when he was a baby he blew lots of bubbles. This is a family story which may or may not be true. Hope this info will be of assistance. Photos of Stanley and Irene’s wedding to follow.

    • Ken Saunders says:

      Martin
      If I remember right your uncle Stan had curly hair and I always thought it was because of this he was called Bubbles. He started with a stall/cart that he pulled from Snarsgate street to the North pole pub and back every weekend selling shellfish. He then started to have fish for sale as well and started pulling the cart back and forth daily throughout all weathers and in the freezing winter months he was standing there with a tilly lamp on illuminating the fish display with very little cover standing the dangerous road side of the stall. He then moved into a shop at 491 Latimer Road which was almost directly opposite his pitch in the road. Suppose this move gave him a break from pulling a heavy cart about and some cover fom the elements along with storage of the fish. I now wonder how and where he stored any fish produce living in Snarsgate Street as I used to visit the family who lived above the shop in 491 Latimer and can remember that the smell of fish was rife in the hallway and in the summer there were flies everywhere

  9. David Webber says:

    Hello Allan
    I am the nephew of Stanley Sidney “Bubbles” Webber and I have sent you a photograph of him taken in his RAF uniform in 1941. Stanley was the youngest of the 7 children of William Herbert Webber and his wife Maria who lived at 5 Snarsgate Street and when the died Stan took on the tenancy and lived there for many years before buying a house in Highlever Road. I remember my uncle, also named Willliam Herbert lived opposite to his parent in Snargste street
    Best wishes
    David Webber

  10. martin webber says:

    Thanks Ken for the information about my uncle Stan that I was previously unaware of. Yeas he did have curly/wavy hair. I don’t know where Stan kept the fish after he shut up shop for the day. The smell , as you say, would have been bad in the summer heat. I can only remember visiting Stan, Irene and the kids after they moved to 152 Highlever Road. I think by that time (mid 60s) Sandra had already left home. Stanley eventually gave up the fish business and became a groundsman at Upper Latymer School playing fields and as far as I know he stayed there until he reached retirement age.

  11. Bob Kirkham says:

    My dad William Kirkham/Kirkum was born in number 7 in 1908

  12. Michelle Wyles says:

    My mum and aunt lived at no. 8 Snarsgate street.
    Ivy and Doris shepherd. My Nan was Lillian and my Grandad was John. When my Nan passed away my Aunt Ivy left and moved to Jaywick Essex where she lived near her sister my mum.
    and my dad. Bert.

    • Michael Butler says:

      Some old Postcards of the area Thats all for now. Keep those wheels spinning, in your memories if not still on the road. Be lucky Mick Butler Huntingdon UK. 

  13. Michelle Wyles says:

    My Aunt Ivy is 2nd row with the sailor hat. then my Nan Lillian standing next to my mum Doris also with the sailor hat on same row.
    Ivy was there until the 1980s with my Nan until my Nan passed away then she was asked to leave by the landlord who was selling. So she moved to Essex nr her sister.

  14. rbasalvage says:

    Hi Everyone. Interesting to hear all of your comments about the Hytex factory. My Grandad was the factory manager – Stanley Salvage. Grandma (Audrey) and Grandad used to live in the flats above the factory on Latimer Road and I have many memories there.

    When we used to visit, Grandad used to take me into the factory at Latimer Road and Gayford Road.

    I am going to send this link over to my dad (Bryan). Dad is 85, but I am sure would love to contribute with some pictures and memories.

  15. tillyandtimy says:

    we lived at 415 latimer road and auntie chris and uncle fred walker lived on snarsgate street

    • sue spencer says:

      My Mum Jean was related to chris and fred – would be good to get in touch. sue

      • tillyandtimy says:

        hi sue, I believe you are a cousin of mine. Your mum and dad were jean and John, your grandparents were glad and bill. My parents were floss and John stickley. If I remember correctly I gave you a dolls house when we moved to Kent. I love in Bromley. Still sending Xmas cards to your dad and brother. Hope you are well. Linda phibbs (nee stickley)

  16. sherbetpip2be78b3894 says:

    Hi Linda, thanks for your reply. I don’t remember the dolls house, although Mum told me about it, wasn’t you bridesmaid at their wedding?- I believe my middle name was after you :)  Would love to connect by email perhaps? sherbetpip@hotmail.co.uk. Hope to hear from you x

Leave a comment