1867 Portland Road and Princedale Road spoons robbery raids court proceedings. Tom Vague.

Portland Rd from KHT copy

Portland Road leading to the brewery, 193Os. Photo: Kensington Housing Trust

In 1867 William Barwell, of 84 Portland Row (Road), William Bull, of 65 Prince’s (Princedale) Road, and William Jarrard were indicted for the theft of 2 silver spoons and other cutlery from 9 Norfolk Crescent in Paddington, the residence of Richard Stoneleigh Illingworth. Barwell was arrested at his lodgings at 84 Portland Road, to the north of the Clarendon Cross junction. The witness Francis Emly lived with his parents at the other end of the road, near Holland Park Avenue, at number 9. Both of these houses are still there but the site of Mr Bull’s shop at 65 Prince’s (now Princedale) Road, between Penzance Street and Place, is now occupied by the post-war Crossways Penzance Place block. The minutes of evidence against the 3 Bills, Barwell, Bull and Jarrard, contains the earliest detailed account of life in Notting Dale not long after the houses were built in the 1850s. The thief Barwell was found guilty and got 18 months’ imprisonment, Bull, who had previous, got 5 years’ penal servitude for feloniously receiving the spoons, the shop assistant Jarrard was found not guilty.

Princedale Road west side 29-31 1970 KS686 copy

29-31 Princedale Road, formerly Prince’s Road, 1970. Photo RBK&C Local Studies)

Francis Emly was employed as a brickmaker locally and at the Kensington Park Brewery at the north end of Portland Road.

brewery poster 1899 copy 2

Poster from the National Archive

In ‘Notting Hill in Bygone Days’ Florence Gladstone has ‘Portland Road’ the road to the Hippodrome (racecourse) stables, was chiefly known as Norland or Hippodrome Lane’ in the 1840s and 50s. Another local William Bull was the grandson of the Ladbroke estate architect and Tory MP for Hammersmith in the early 20th century. At the time of the 1861 Census, the general dealer William Bull and his wife Mathilda, originally from Bath, were living at 29 Prince’s Road (sometimes Princes, now Princedale). In 1871 Mathilda was living at 65 Prince’s Road and working as a clothier and head of the household. Her niece was her assistant and her nephew, William Jarrard was the shopman. In 1861 there was a 14 year-old William Barwell living at 14 St James’s Street, with his father George, a baker from Northampton, mother Hannah, 2 brothers and 2 sisters.

Tom Vague with census research by Maggie Tyler

Old Bailey Proceedings

Old Bailey Proceedings Central Criminal Court. 8th Session, London and Middlesex Cases, Old Court, Monday, November 28 1867. William Barwell (22), William Bull (49) and William Jarrard (20) were indicted for stealing 2 spoons and other goods of Richard Stoneleigh Illingworth, in his dwelling-house (9 Norfolk Crescent). 2nd count, for feloniously receiving the same…

Old Bailey Proceedings June 10 1867 Central Criminal Court Sessions Paper. Gabriel, Mayor. 8th session, held June 10 1867. Minutes of evidence, taken in short-hand by James Drover Barnett and Alexander Buckler, short-hand writers to the Court, Rolls Chambers, 89 Chancery Lane. The points of law and practice revised and edited by Edward TE Besley Esq. of the Middle Temple, barrister-at-law, London: Butterworths, 7 Fleet Street, law publishers to the Queen’s most excellent majesty.

The whole proceedings on the Queen’s Commission of Oyer and Terminer and Gaol Delivery for the City of London and gaol delivery for the county of Middlesex, and the parts of the counties of Essex, Kent and Surrey within the jurisdiction of the Central Criminal Court, held on Monday, June 10 1867 and following days, before the Right Hon. Thomas Gabriel, Lord Mayor of the City of London; the Hon Sir James Shaw Willes, one of the Justices of Her Majesty’s Court of Common Pleas; Sir James Duke Bart, Sir Francis Graham Moon Bart FSA, John Carter Esq. FSA and FRAS, and Warren Stormes Hale Esq, Aldermen of the said City; the Right Hon Russell Gurney QC, MP, Recorder of the said City; William Ferneley Allen Esq, Robert Besley Esq. and William James Richmond Cotton Esq, Aldermen of the said City; Thomas Chambers Esq, QC, MP, Common Serjeant of the said City; and Robert Malcolm Kerr Esq, Judge of the Sheriffs Court; Her Majesty’s Justices of Oyer and Terminer, and General Gaol delivery of Newgate, holden for the said City, and Judges of the Central Criminal Court. Sydney Hedley Waterlow Esq, Alderman, Francis Lycett Esq, Sheriffs, Alexander Crosley Esq, Henry de Jersey Esq, Under-Sheriffs.

Central Criminal Court. Gabriel, Mayor. 8th Session. A star (*) denotes that prisoners have previously been in custody – 2 stars (**) that they have been more than once in custody – an obelisk (+) that they are known to be associates of bad characters – the figures after the name in the indictment denote the prisoner’s age. London and Middlesex Cases. Old Court – Monday, November 28 1867. Before Mr Recorder. Reference Number: t18670610-527. 527 William Barwell (22), William Bull (49) and William Jarrard (20) were indicted for stealing 2 spoons and other goods of Richard Stoneleigh Illingworth, in his dwelling-house. 2nd count, for feloniously receiving the same. Mr Griffiths conducted the Prosecution, Mr Ribton defended Barwell, Mr Sleigh appeared for Bull and Mr Montagu Williams for Jarrard.

John Slow. I was a footman to Mr Richard Stoneleigh Illingworth of 9 Norfolk Crescent – on Friday May 3, Barwell came there about a quarter to 9 in the evening – I had known him before – I took him into the pantry – there was some plate there – I cannot remember what plate there was in the basket, but I can remember the plate that was stolen, 2 table-spoons, 3 tea-spoons, one dessert-spoon, 5 forks and 2 egg-spoons, all silver, the spoons had my master’s crest on them – I had seen them safe at dinner-time – I left the pantry for a short time to take up the coffee, and left Barwell in the pantry – I was away about 5 minutes – I went back in the pantry, Barwell was there and he said he must be going – I went out afterwards to get some beer for the maidservants – Barwell went out with me – I was away on that occasion about 4 minutes, or 5 it might have been – when I came back, from something said to me, I examined the plate basket – I then missed the plate mentioned in the indictment.

Cross-examined by Mr Ribton. Q. How long have you known Barwell? A. About 6 months – a person of the name of Emly is not a friend of mine – I made his acquaintance through Barwell – I have known him about 2 months – he was outside waiting for Barwell – he came with Barwell, I know that – he had visited me about a week before, on a Sunday, he came to see me – he stayed about 20 minutes – I did not take particular notice, but I should think it was about that time – I had not invited him – that was the first time he visited me – he had been in the pantry on the Sunday, that was the Sunday before the plate was lost – Barwell came to pay me a visit on the Friday and was with me for 3-quarters of an hour I should think – he was in the kitchen and in the pantry – the other servants were there – there were 3 or 4 maid-servants – I then went upstairs with the coffee – I must have been gone 3 or 5 minutes, when I came down Barwell was still in the pantry – he said he must be going, as he had a friend waiting for him – we went out together – I was not exactly treating the maid-servants that night – the beer was out and I went to fetch a quart – I paid for it out of my own pocket – I had not time to stop it from the master, because I had to leave that night – Barwell and I went to the public-house none of the maidservants are here – I was not out more than 4 or 5 minutes – Emly was with us the whole time when I was out – when the plate was missed I was blamed for it I was blamed for it – I was discharged and told if I would find the thief my master would take me back again – I did not leave Emly and Barwell at the public-house – they walked to the corner with me and I went in and left them – I went to Barwell’s house the very next morning – I had not seen Emly before I went there – I saw them there, both in bed together – Barwell said, “What brought you here?” – I said, “you will soon know what brought me here” – the policemen then told him the charge – he said, “Good God! John, what do you mean?” – he was just roused out of his sleep – I decline to answer whether I have ever pawned any plate before – I was asked at the police-court if I had ever pawned or sold any plate, and I declined to answer, and I decline now.

Edward Machett. I am page to Mr Illingworth – I remember the morning of May 3 – I counted my master’s plate that day about half-past 11 to a quarter to 12 – I did not see the prisoner Barwell leave the pantry – I saw him leave the house about a quarter-past 9 in the evening – he left in company with Slow – after they had gone I looked into the plate basket and missed 2 table-spoons, 2 large forks, 3 small forks and 2 egg-spoons; they were silver, with a crest on them, a lion rampant – I have seen spoons of the same kind weighed, and they weighed 25 ounces. Henry Addison (Policeman D34). On Sunday morning, May 5, I went with Slow to 84 Portland Row, Notting Hill, the house of the prisoner Barwell – I found him in bed – as soon as we entered the room he said, “Good morning, John”, that was to Slow, “what on earth brings you here?” – he said, “You will soon know what brings me here” – I then told him I was a police-constable, and told him the charge – he said, “Good God! John, what do you mean? You must be mad, I know nothing at all about it” – I searched him and found nothing on him relative to this.

George Isaacson (Policeman D2). From information I received, I went to 65 Prince’s Road, Notting Hill, on May 7. I saw the prisoner Bull there, it is a shop kept by him, a general shop, clothes and other things – I asked him if his name was Bull – he said, “Yes” – I said, “I am a police-sergeant, I want to know if you purchased any plate last week – he said, “No, nothing in particular; some little pieces of old silver, which have been sold” – I then said, “Did you buy any spoons or forks last week?” – he said, “No, nothing of the kind” – I then produced this tea spoon, bearing the crest of the lion rampant, and said, “Do you remember seeing that crest, or did you purchase any bearing this crest?” – he said, “No, I never saw the crest before in my life” – I then said, “Have you an assistant by the name of Jarrard?” – he said, “Yes” – I said, “Then do you remember that Jarrard on the night of the 3rd, paid 13s. for some silver, and that you completed the contract on the following morning by paying 1/7s?” – he said, “No, I never did anything of the kind” – I then saw Jarrard and said to him, “I am a police-sergeant; I shall ask you some questions, but you need not answer unless you think proper to do so – I said, “Did you pay 13s. to 2 young men for some silver bearing the crest of a lion rampant on Friday?” – he hesitated for a long time, and he said, “Well, I don’t know; must I answer?” – I said, “Oh! No, not unless you like” – he then said, “Very well, then I refuse to answer that question” –

I then called Addison and we searched the house – this is a list I made at the time – what I found does refer to this charge – I found 8 duplicates, which I produce – there are 3 bearing the name of Barwell, one dated April 20 1867, for a pair of trousers, 7s; May 2 1867, one coat, 10s; and February 27 1867, one watch, 15s. – Bull does not keep a pawnshop – he asked me what the particular articles were that were stolen – I read over from a list I had – he said, “That is wrong, at all events” – I said, “How do you know it is wrong if you never saw anything of the kind?” – he said, “Oh, well, I don’t exactly understand, if I had time, supposing the silver was got back, which I believe could be done” – I said, “It is too late now, you are in custody, had you told me that when I first came in, things might have borne a different aspect” – the value of the silver that has been stolen is at the lowest 6s. 6d. per ounce; I know that – on the way to the station Bull said, “Supposing the plate did come back, what would the consequence be now?” – I said, “I don’t understand you” – Jarrard stepped towards me and said, “Mr Bull means, if the plate was got back, would they prosecute?” – I said, “The matter must rest now in the hands of the Magistrate” – when I was searching the house Bull said, “It’s no use searching, you will not find it here.”

Cross-examined by Mr Sleigh. Q. Is the name of William Bull up at his place? A. W Bull is over the door, in Prince’s Road, Notting Hill – I did not bring away one of his cards – I saw one afterwards at the remand – he appeared to deal in every description of goods – I saw no appearance of his being a dealer in jewellery or silver – I found a few articles of plated goods in the cupboard in the inner parlour – I found some watches and some insides of watches – I also found some memorandums – I did not notice any printed books – I found quantities of linen and clothes in all parts of the house, under the sofa and in every imaginable place – there was the usual furniture in the house – after telling him he must consider himself in custody, I said, “I must search your house” – he said, “Very well, do so, you will not find it” – I mentioned before to the Magistrate that he said, “If time were given and the silver got back, which I believe could be done,” and also what he said on the way to the station – my deposition was read over and I signed it. Cross-examined by Mr Williams. Q. It is the fact, is it not, that Jarrard is in Bull’s employment? A. I believe so – I stated before the Magistrate what Jarrard said on the way to the station – I swear that.

Francis Henry Emly. I am a traveller and I live at 9 Portland Row – I know Barwell – I saw him on Friday, May 3, in the morning, and again in the evening, and I walked with him to Mr Illingworth’s house – I did not go into the house – I am quite sure of that – Barwell went into the house – I don’t say how long he remained there – when he came out I walked with him towards Notting Hill – we went to Mr Bull’s shop – before we went there I heard the plate in his pocket and asked what he had got – he said, “Some plate” – I said, “For God’s sake, take it back, and say you only took it for a lark” – he said, “Oh! No, it won’t be found out for a month and then it will all be blown over” – he said he had taken it from Jack, meaning Slow – I went with him to Bull’s shop to sell the plate – when we got there we saw Jarrard – the shop was closed – we knocked at the door – Jarrard opened it – Barwell asked for Mr Bull – Jarrard said he was not at home – the plate was given to Jarrard – he said he could not buy it, Mr Bull not being there, but lent 13s. on part of it – he gave 8s. and Mrs Bull gave 8s, making 13s. altogether, and told us to call the following morning to see Mr Bull – I can’t remember what the plate consisted of – there were forks and spoons, I know, but the quantity I can’t say – it consisted of egg-spoons, tea-spoons, dessert-spoons and small forks, I think were the principal part; they were silver – there was a crest on them – I should know it again – (looking at a spoon) – it was similar to this and the same pattern – Jarrard put them in a cupboard in a parlour adjoining the shop.

Cross-examined by Mr Ribton. Q. Had you been to the house in Norfolk Crescent at any time before this Friday? A. I had, I think it was the Sunday previous, to see Slow – I can’t say how long I remained with him, it might have been 20 minutes – I was in the pantry – I can’t say now where I met Barwell – I think we were lodging in the same house at the time – I did not go for him to find him out – we went together to Norfolk Crescent – we had been out in the morning together – he asked me to walk with him to Norfolk Crescent; we went out, not with the intention of going there, but when we got outside he asked me to walk with him there, and when we got there he asked me to stay outside while he went in – Slow came out with him and stood a quart of ale – I can’t say how long I had known Slow, I only visited him that once – I went on the Sunday to see Slow; not about anything – I stayed in the pantry the whole time – I saw the basket with baize over it – I did not see the plate in the cupboard – I did not know where it was or where it ought to have been; it was the first pantry I was ever in – I can’t call to mind what we were talking about during the 20 minutes – I am now out of employment – I dare say I have been so 9 or 10 months – my parents are supporting me, I have been living with them – they put me in business – I was never in the service of Messrs Lee and Jerdein – I have been falsely charged with an offence and I have now an action pending – I was accused of forgery and embezzlement by Mr Bevan, a builder and brickmaker, in whose service I was; I was not charged – I went into his service in May 1863 and left in September – I was accused of putting his name at the back of a cheque for 95/- and receiving the money – I was discharged when the brickmaking season was over – he brought this accusation 2 or 3 weeks after I was discharged – he sent for me to his residence and accused me there – I did not receive the cheque – I ought to have received it, and went to receive it, but they would not pay me, they said they would pay my employer –

I have been in employment since then – I was with the Kensington Park Brewery, and travelled for Mr Clayton of Regent Street – my parents then put me into the cigar and tobacco business, that turned out a failure; for the last 8 or 9 months I have been doing nothing – it was publically known at Mr Bevan’s that this charge had been brought against me, that was in 1863, and it was afterwards known that he had withdrawn it from me, and laid it on his son – I have an action now pending against him – I did not bring the action before because I have lost my chief witness – I put it into one solicitor’s hands, and he kept it for a year and a half, and never did anything – I was then recommended to another solicitor – it has not come on yet – he told me had issued the citation – I have been in the service of Mr Wiley, a coal agent, at Kensington – I was discharged for carelessness – while I was there a cash-box was taken, with money in it – I don’t think I was seen on the night it was missed in the Haymarket, with a great deal of money – I was only 16 years of age at the time – I am now 23 – I was discharged about 10 days after the cash-box was lost – after that I went into my father’s business and remained with him about 2 year or 2 and a half – I forget whether I went into any other service before I went to Mr Bevan’s – I did not tell Mr Bevan I had been at Wiley’s – he did not ask for my character – I did not tell him about the cash-box – when we got to Bull’s I, of course, knew that the property was stolen – I did not know it was stolen from Slow – I did not know that he had it under his control – I did not know what situation he held, whether he was footman or butler – I had been in the pantry with him on the Sunday – I did not know he had charge of the plate – I swear that.

Mr Griffith. Q. Have you ever been convicted of any offence? A. Never, my father is a chemist – he supports me now – we were to call and see Bull the following morning – we did call on the Saturday morning, and the remainder of the plate was given up, and 1/7s. paid by Bull, making 2/-. Mr Sleigh. Q. Was Barwell with you? A. Yes. Court. Q. Who was present? A. Bull and Jarrard – when we first applied Jarrard was down in the area – he looked up and said, “All right” – he came up and opened the door, and called Bull down – he was getting up – we waited – we had some plate with us at that time – I don’t know how much – we received 1/7s. for it – the whole of the plate was not given on the Friday – the 1/7s. was given to Barwell, and the plate was given to Bull. The depositions of Emly and Isaacson were put in and read. Barwell – guilty – 18 months’ imprisonment. Bull – guilty (prisoner has previously been in custody) – 5 years’ penal servitude. Jarrard – not guilty.

Transcribed by Tom Vague from

https://www.oldbaileyonline.org/

This entry was posted in Local industries and businesses, Notting Dale, Streets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment