The Pavilion Hotel

This postcard of the Pavilion was sent to the blog a while ago by Michael Butler and I am ashamed to say I forgot that I had it, so I failed to post it in the previous chapter on North Pole Road. So it now has its own posting.

It was originally called the Rifle Pavilion Hotel because of its proximity to the rifle ranges of Wormwood Scrubs and is clearly marked on the Ordnance Survey map of 1871

OS 1871

I found another photo (below)from a different angle that I will show as well. Interesting because it shows the trolleybuses going along Scrubs Lane or Scrubbs Lane as it says on the old postcard. When I wonder did the spelling change?

Early 20th Century

Michael Butler has now corrected me as what we can see in the postcard are trams not trolleybuses so I will put his detailed transport notes here…………..

The postcard of the Pavilion Hotel page early 20th century shows trams and not trolleybuses, if you look closely the tram tracks are visible and there is only single overhead wiring, trolleybuses are trackless and require double wire current collection.Scrubs Lane was served by two tram routes prior to Saturday 11th September 1937 these were number 28 and 30

The 28 ran from Victoria Station to College Arms via Vauxhall Bridge, Vauxhall, Clapham Junction, Wandsworth, Putney, Putney Bridge, Hammersmith, Shepherds Bush and Harlesden Craven Park.

The 30 tram ran from West Croydon to Willesden Junction which was a bit misleading as it was quite away from the station and actually finished by the Craven Arms adjoining the Harrow Road. It went via Mitcham, Tooting Junction, Tooting, Wandsworth, Putney, Putney Bridge, Hammersmith, Shepherds Bush and Harrow road by the College Arms at the top of Scrubs lane.

On Sunday 12th September   the trams were replaced by trolleybuses and became route numbers 628 and 630. The 628 trolleybus ran from Clapham Junction to Craven Park but on Sundays only ran as far the College Arms at the top of Scrubs Lane and the Harrow road. The new trolleybus split the existing 28 tram route service in two with the tram continuing to run from Clapham Junction to Victoria.

Monday 13th September 1937 saw the introduction of the 626 trolleybus route which also ran along Wood and Scrubs Lane. White City Stadium was served by three trolleybus routes 626, 628 and 630. When major events were taking place at White City they occasionally laid on an extra 25 trolleybuses to take the crowds away until as late as 1.30am. Wimbledon Greyhound Stadium could also be reached by the 630 as well as Wandsworth Dog Track.

The service intervals between the trolley buses was normally about 5 minutes. I shall never forget the singing and swishing sound of the wires when a fast moving trolleybus was approaching

Pavilion Shops Parade with overhead tram wiring

After finishing school at Oxford Gardens in the summer of 1959 I went to Latymer Foundation secondary school in Hammersmith Road in September that year. I used the trolleybuses in Scrubs Lane and the Metropolitan tube line from Laitmer Road to journey from home to school and back. On Tuesday 19th July 1960 as part of London Transports stage seven conversion scheme the 626, 628 and 630 trolleybuses were withdrawn from service and were replaced by diesel Routemaster buses. The new bus  route numbers were 220 and 268.I use to go to Loftus road to see Q.P.R and I was told from a chap who worked at the BBC that when they were planning the scenery for Eastender’s that they based the design of the Queen Vic on the College Arms. 

Michael Butler 2021

The Pavilion, Lockdown April 2020

Sue Snyder, March 2021

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Pavilion Hotel

  1. Sally Hooper (Davis) says:

    Hi,

    Not sure if this message will get through but I’ve forgotten (or never knew,) how to post a message that was not a reply to someone else’s message and wondered if you could assist.

    My message is two fold, a request to ask if anyone remembers a shop I always knew as the Dairy, that existed in one of the streets between Chesterton Road and St Charles Square. I remember being tasked to nip round to the dairy for a pint of milk or a couple of eggs and recall hearing milk delivery so I think it must have been in Millwood Street but am not sure.

    The other element is also Chesterton Road related and is just an aside.

    I happened to watch film a few days ago (Talking Pictures) called Dangerous Davies: The Last Detective (1980) and the first scene made me sit bolt upright! I thought I recognised the location and after confirmation on Street View I knew it was Chesterton Road, just opposite Millwood Street and the house used was I think 85 Chesterton Road. I’d long left the street but had lived almost opposite 85 (at No 68 Chesterton Road). The film ( not one of Bernard Cribbins best) extensively used the general area.

    I’ve seen lots of old films using the locale, it would be interesting to collate info on film locations maybe? Is there a ‘filmed in North Kensington’ section in North Kensington Histories,(which I find great fun to read). Although not a film, I remember watching the Goodies rehearsing/filming an episode where they were taking part in a Bob Sleigh competition (Olympics?), they were obviously on location…. in the well known ski resort of Sutton Way, Dalgarno Gardens.! At the time there was a hall located on open space opposite Pagham House, Sutton Way and I believe the hall was used by the BBC for rehearsals. It was fun watching the 3 Goodies sitting in a box being pulled along by a rope! I digress!

    Can you assist with my enquiry?

    Many thanks

    Sally (Davis)

  2. Dear Sally,
    Regarding film locations in North Kensington, local historian Tom Vague has compiled a list for W10 and W11
    https://www.portobellofilmfestival.com/talkpics/talk-2017-psychogeography.html.
    On this website John Henwood describes a Bette Davis film shot in Walmer Road – see the postings list.

    Sue at North Ken Histories

  3. For trolleybuses along Scrubs Lane
    I was a delighted to see the photos but surely the picture shows the trams present and the rails are clear. From what I was told , the trams ceased just before the last war but the rails were left in position at several locations. The trolleybuses were numbered 628, 630 and the 626 ran at certain periods and all of these finished in the early 1960s. It is just possible to see the single wires for the trams, but of course the trolleybuses required two conductors .

    Sincere thanks

    Michael Shanahan

    Formerly Maxilla Gardens.

Leave a comment