Lancaster Road Baths – Recollections from the 50s and 60s

The new secondary school for the north of the borough, the Kensington Aldridge Academy is due to open this September. It is being built on Silchester Road on the site of the Lancaster Road Baths that were finally demolished in 1979.

Lancaster Road Baths on the corner of Lancaster Road and Silchester Road, c.1900. photo: RBK&C

Lancaster Road Baths on the corner of Lancaster Road and Silchester Road, c.1900. photo: RBK&C

Foreword: The Baths finally opened in 1878 after the Kensington High Street based Vestry Hall (forerunner of today’s borough council) had been slow to react to the 1846 Act for the provision of baths and washhouses. This Act recognised the need for public washing facilities to be made readily available in those poor areas where such facilities were not present in the dwellings.  Paddington, Hammersmith and Chelsea all had public baths by the time the search begun in 1877 for a suitable site for Notting Dale.  It is unlikely that the promulgators of the 1846 Act could have envisaged what a vibrant lively social hub Lancaster Road baths would become.

Lancaster Road looking west from the crossroads with the Lancaster Baths (washhouse entrances) on the right hand side, 1970s. photo: RBKC

Lancaster Road looking west from the crossroads with the Lancaster Baths (washhouse entrances) on the right hand side, 1970s. photo: RBKC

My memories:
The baths consisted of 3 strands: 1) the public laundry part which was accessed at the Eastern end of the building fronting Lancaster Road. 2) the swimming baths, and 3) the washing baths both of which were accessed by the main entrance on Silchester Road. Built as a perceived necessity the whole would become an amenity in counterpoint with social intercourse and entertainment.

I never went inside the clothes washing part but recall seeing queues of women forming on Monday mornings waiting for the baths to open at 8am. I used to peer in as I walked past and it always looked a hive of activity.   Also it always seemed full of steam making seeing inside difficult. My mother told me Alan Mullery’s mother was invariably up the front of Mondays’ queue.

interior of Lancaster road Laundry. early 1970s.

Interior of Lancaster Road Laundry. early 1970s.

There were four swimming pools; 1) The main pool, 2) Men’s 2nd class. 3) Men’s 3rd class. 4) Women’s pool.

The main pool was I think Olympic size – the galas were held there and at the shallow end was a raised wooden slatted dais across the width of the pool from where the races were started.  At the deep end were diving boards in the centre and a springboard alongside. Around the perimeter were changing cubicles and there were more around the gallery above which also doubled as a spectator facility when there was a gala. It was mixed all the time I went there but had originally been male only.

The main pool. An early photo when it was male only.

The main pool. An early photo when it was male only.

The men’s 2nd class was smaller and had cubicles at poolside level only. There was a diving board I recall but not as elaborate as the main pool
The Men’s 3rd class was slightly smaller again than the 2nd Class and swimming costumes weren’t obligatory, the rationale being that if you couldn’t afford one you weren’t excluded. I don’t think there was a diving board in the 3rd.

Occasionally, to be nosey I poked my head around the door of the Women’s pool and it was always quiet seeming civilised and serene, a world away from the frenetic not to say hooligan activity in the other pools

I first went to the baths in 1955 aged about 7 with my Mother, herself a good swimmer, who taught me to swim there in the shallow end of the main pool.  I  went regularly thereafter and around a year later I went there from Oxford Gardens with our class where our teacher Leslie Barrett taught the entire class to swim in a morning in the men’s 3rd class.  He used cork floats about 2ft x 1ft which you held out in front of you keeping you afloat while you kicked your legs out behind you. This quickly dispelled fear of sinking or drowning.  As I could already swim I demonstrated the cork float routine and gave confidence to those who held fears. He had a phenomenal success rate and after a couple of mornings almost all the class could swim.

Later in 1959 when I was 11 I swam breast stroke for Oxford Gardens in the Annual Kensington Schools Gala making it to the Final. As I hit the water in that final I recall the noise from the spectators being really deafeningly loud – the place was packed to the rafters –  but sadly it didn’t propel me to the medal despite my older cousin Wendy (Darke) screaming at me at the top of her voice to go faster. Trust me Wendy, I was going as fast as I could.  I remember Kenny Bloomfield, Peter Parry and Philip Burton in my year being excellent swimmers and I think Kenny won the freestyle final.
I used all three pools in my time but when I was younger we would all go in the 3rd where we didn’t wear costumes and as it was mainly youngsters we could scream and shout our heads off to our hearts content and the attendants were usually tolerant of our antics.  I used to go in the 2nd occasionally but not much as it seemed a waste of money being twice the cost of the 3rd without obvious advantages though it was slightly bigger and had a diving board. The 3rd was 2d admission (.8p) the 2nd was 4d (1.6p) and the main pool was 8d (3.4p). When we had changed I was always ravenously hungry and we made for the cafe inside which was (very) basic – just a small room about 15ft square with a counter at the far end and some tables and chairs.  They sold bread and dripping and bread and jam both at 1d (.4p) a slice and I would have 3 bread and dripping and 3 bread and jam and a tea (2d, .8p).  If things were ropey it would be 1 or 2 of each and no tea. Opposite the entrance to the baths was a confectioner so if I had any money left I would buy some sweets as well.  I don’t think modern nutritionists would categorise this as a healthy diet however it couldn’t have been that harmful as I’ve survived to tell the tale.

As we got a bit older, around 13-14, we gravitated to the main pool which did have advantages –it was much bigger with the best diving boards and a springboard and all the older budding  ‘Johnny Weissmuller’ jack the lads went in there so we felt grown up and part of the adult scene….oh, and I nearly forgot there were girls there too who we could try to impress … if you call jumping on top of them and nearly drowning them impressing them.  I doubt any of them mistook me for Errol Flynn let alone David Niven.  These shenanigans bring me to the ‘Camp Commandant’ of the main pool – Freddy Bloomfield (may have been related to Kenny) who lived in Bramley Road between the junctions with Silchester Road and Walmer Road along from Bell Wilson the Chemist. We were all a bit wild – I suppose these days we’d be called feral and it therefore fell to Freddy to keep order. They couldn’t possibly have found a better candidate. He was a typical tough local and knew everyone. I think he’d been a boxer in his younger days.  He sat on a chair at the far (deep) end between the diving boards and the pool entrance and wore a vest, old trousers rolled up at the bottom and around his neck hung a referees whistle on a lanyard.  When he considered you’d been in the pool long enough – around an hour or so – he would approach, blow his whistle loudly, point at you and shout ‘OUT!’ Upon this command I would swim underwater away from him as fast as possible as if I hadn’t heard him. Of course I wasn’t fooling anyone but he appreciated boys will be boys and would give you another 5 minutes or so before repeating his ‘polite’ request. If you ignored the second warning he would wait for you to come to the side, take the lanyard from around his neck and with a good swing clump you on the back with the whistle. You got out then! And a bit lively too!! Similarly if you ran along the side or jumped on someone in the pool or otherwise acted foolishly he would soon let you know that wouldn’t be tolerated. If you persisted the whistle and lanyard would prove an efficient deterrent.   He didn’t have any difficulty with the older lads either who all respected him – they all knew he was ‘the guvnor’ and it wouldn’t be sensible to get too lairy with him. He let them have their fun to a point but if they overstepped the mark he left them in no doubt they were playing to his rule book.   Looking back it could have been chaos without him. When he wasn’t working he would often sit outside his house in Bramley Road surveying the scene. He was a real character and there was a great atmosphere in the main pool which could often get busy with a wide age range of users but he kept order effortlessly.

The Washing baths were a social hub as well as providing an essential amenity and there were Men’s 1st class and 2nd class baths and the same for Women. In the 1st you had your own taps and a towel; in the 2nd the attendant filled the bath and you brought your own towel. Friday and Saturday were busiest and there would be a great atmosphere in the 2nds’ where all the local jack the lads would congregate prior to their weekend night out.  I must mention at this point that the houses in Notting Dale almost without exception had no hot water or bathroom – just one cold tap in the scullery (a basic kitchen/washing room) to serve all needs so hence the washing baths provided an essential facility. When I was younger my mother would fill a small galvanised tin bath about 2 ft. long with hot water which involved repeatedly boiling the water in a kettle on the gas stove in the scullery. The bath was placed on the  floor in the scullery and it would take several kettles full to fill it. Then I would squeeze in with my legs up under my chin and once a week that was how I had a bath. And in the winter the scullery was freezing as it had no heating so you didn’t hang around in it too long.  We did have a longer bath about the same size as a normal domestic one but it took so long to fill with the boiled kettles that by the time it was 6 inches deep the first kettle full had gone cold so it was impractical. When I was about 11, I had outgrown the 2ft bath and from thereon went to the 2nd class baths.   After buying your ticket you would make your way to the baths and if it was Friday or Saturday around 5-6pm the cubicles, which ran either side of a central corridor, would all be occupied.  At that time of day most customers were in the 17 /35 age bracket and you would sit waiting your turn on a wooden bench arrangement that ran along one wall facing the entrance to the corridor. Whilst you waited there would be plenty of chat about that day’s football/horse racing etc. along with discussions concerning plans for that evenings activities.  Meanwhile in the baths the singers would be providing a free show for all – there would be a ‘Guy Mitchell’ followed by a ‘Michael Holliday’ and a ‘Tommy Steele’ then maybe a ‘ Mario Lanza’ or ‘Billy Eckstein’ –the standard would be at least decent and if someone was particularly good they might be shouted to for an encore and as generally everyone knew each other one or two requests might be shouted for. Remember this was all taking place while each bather was in his own cubicle so you couldn’t actually see the performer – just hear them.  I think this was a unique form of entertainment and I can think of no other situation like it. I never thought about it like that at the time  – that was just the way things were – but now I reflect on how lucky I was to have been there instead of looking at four walls at home in a domestic bathroom like most people– it was fun and entertaining and you got to meet your pals there too.  When your turn came you would go into the vacated cubicle and the attendant would fill the bath using the big brass valve which was mounted on the wall outside each cubicle. He had a big metal spanner thing which he used to turn on the water –a bit like a ratchet and socket – and it would fill the bath at a rate of knots as they were fitted with wide tap heads to accommodate the high rate of flow. When it was filled you jumped in and off you went. The baths were fitted along one side of the cubicle and all around the rim of the bath was a well worn wooden capping – a Victorian nod to Health and Safety, though living in W.10 at that time there were a lot more hazardous situations than getting in and out of a bath.   The cubicles were numbered and if the water cooled, you would shout ‘More hot in 26’ and the attendant would (in his own time) come and put more hot in prefacing it with a shout of ‘Watch yer toes its comin’ in’. This was advisable as the water was very hot and if you had your feet planted under the wide tap head they would be scalded.  Of course if you were 11 or12 and you shouted (in an unbroken voice) ‘More hot in 26’ your cry would simply be ignored as there were men waiting and the attendant didn’t want youngsters spending too long in there.  If you shouted a second time that request would also be ignored and might earn a sharp word of encouragement from the attendant to vacate. You soon got the message. Naturally as I got older and the attendants got to know you they would extend the adult privileges. When you had finished and opened the cubicle door almost before you were out the attendant would set about cleaning it.  He had a round galvanised receptacle – like a football cut in half in size and shape – which was filled with soap. This was mounted on a wooden handle about 2ft long. The soap was applied with a big wooden brush also mounted on a long handle.  He would have the bath cleaned and ready for the next customer in about 2 minutes.    The whole thing was efficiency personified – no technology needed at Lancaster Road Baths!!   Later when I was about 17 I would sometimes go in the first class to experience the luxury of your own taps (ha ha) but there was no atmosphere and entertainment like the 2nds’ which were different class and I quickly returned.

Looking back we had the Victorians to thank for providing a necessary and valuable amenity however due to the character of the customers it became much more, providing a social meeting place, entertainment and fun. I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.

John Henwood, 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

186 Responses to Lancaster Road Baths – Recollections from the 50s and 60s

  1. john Walker says:

    So nice to have joined the group and to read such wonderful comments,my age takes me back further. If this gets through I will join in. I am 83 years old and not very good with with computers.

  2. john henwood says:

    I lived at 77 Walmer Rd Harry

  3. Ann says:

    Hi
    I’ve loved reading all this. Freddie Bloomfield was part of our family. We are the Bloomfield’s from Testerton street and our Nan and Granddad lived in Hurstway street. I went to st Clements school and Ladbroke Grove. We moved out in 1964. I can remember swimming in the baths with my best friend Rita. My mum used to do her washing there every Tuesday and our gran looked after us. She lived next door. I’m really pleased to have found this site, such happy memories.

    • I learned to swim at the baths, we went every day after school which for me was Thomas Jones. If my memory serves me well there was a wooden walkway over the width of the shallow end. Being a small child the diving boards always seemed to be very high to me but not high enough for some, as some of the “lads” would jump/dive off the balcony. That used to wind Fred up terribly and I expect they would have been banned.

      • Ann says:

        Hi
        I remember the wooden bit and part of the shallow end was underneath, it was always busy there and we would go to the cafe and have bread and jam for a penny after swimming. I went to St Clements school and then Ladbroke Grove girls school before we moved. My brother went to is Isac Newton school. Most of our family lived there in those days our Nan moved to pangbourne avenue near st Quintens park which we often went to. Does anyone remember the fair that used to be at wormwood scrubs every year. Happy memories.

      • Hi Ann
        I remember the funfair very well, we used to help on the rides. Not very well paid but it seemed exciting at the time. Do you remember the barrage balloons with the parachutists jumping out onto the scrubs. The Grand Union canal ran behind the “scrubs” and we used to dredge the canal with a bicycle wheel rim, sack threaded with string onto the rim and a long length of rope to pull it along. We pulled out a badly rusted machine gun once, I don’t remember who had it last but I think it was taken to the police station. We also used to go down to the shunting yards at the back of the scrubs and put coins on the lines and let the trains run over them.

    • Nigel O'Connell says:

      Hi Ann,
      Like you I love this site. Thank you John, Brings back so many memories. I too swam and learnt to swim at Lancaster road baths. Also went to St. Clements school. I lived at 11, Estella House, Henry Dickens Court,
      Your brother Podgy ( Ray Bloomfield) was captain of our football team 1955/56. I played centre half. Podgy was so skilled, we won the league & cup. Each of us got a medal, which I still have. We were all ten or eleven years old.
      I have an official photo of the team, Which I treasure and would love to send you a copy, but not sure how. When you see Podgy say Hi for me.
      Very best wishes Nigel O’Connell

      • john henwood says:

        Thank you very much Nigel for your lovely memories – it’s what this blog is all about really – evoking memories in readers which they share. Kind regards, John

      • crazydaisy5@sky.com says:

        The steps up to number 14 , I was born in that room , 1953, the man sitting on the top step is a mile away from my grandparents, the Cummins family.

        Susan pull

    • phillip downes says:

      so you must be related to old freedie bloomfield the fighter….. he lived near where i live now in langley slough after moving out of notting hill…. he was a friend of my dad for a long time , although a bit older than my dad….. fred was famous for some of the old time 20 plus rounds of boxing at lime grove baths and then would walk onto the next venue as a young man.. fred has gone now , but he was a nice old bloke . he lived in langley near my in trelawney avenue… rip fred.

      • Ann says:

        Lots of memories from Fred at the baths in Lancaster road etc
        He was my dads cousin the Bloomfield’s are a big family from Notting Hill
        Now of course spread about the country
        Ann

      • Nigel O'Connell says:

        Hi Ann,
        I learnt to swim at the same baths and went to St. Clements in 1955, same time as your brother Podgy ( Raymond Bloomfield) I have a photo of our football team 1955/56 with Podgy as our captain. Happy memories. Would love to send you a copy and anyone else who may be interested.

  4. Julian Smith says:

    Dredging the canal – ingenious, wish we had thought of that!
    We used to stand on the near by foot bridge over the railway and wait for a train to come. Not one of our best ideas as they were steam trains in those days – got a bit mucky and smokey……….
    Talking of the Scrubs. I seem to remember a corrugated iron building at the entrance area left over from the war I guess and made into a cafe. There were some old buildings as well where we went looking for old shell cases etc.

    • John Henwood says:

      Thanks Ann, John and Julian for your comments and sharing your memories.. Julian, I believe the corrugated building was purpose built as a cafe by Sid Barwell the proprietor. I worked for him when I was c11 years old. The busiest time of the year was when the Fair arrived. Sid used three chest fridges full of soft drinks to form three sides of a square at the west side of the shed facing the Scrubs and I was installed inside my little square and sold the drinks non stop all day. Sid loved the White City dogs and never missed a meeting and he was unrecognisable .there in his suit, collar and tie. He lived above the off-license in North Pole Rd on the corner of Brewster Gardens. There were several buildings on the Scrubs left over from the war and they were away to the South West in a more remote part, past the Tennis courts….I think some were sites for anti aircraft guns but others could have been connected to the Scrubs use as a POW camp.

      • Ann says:

        Hi
        My dad used to go to the dogs (White City) every Thursday and Saturdays sometimes myself and younger sister would go with him. We also went to the scrubs for sports from Ladboke grove school the upper school was up by Quintens and St Charles hospital.

  5. Ann says:

    Hi
    I remember the fun fair at the scrubs at Easter time every year. I also used to go to St Quintins park a lot. Where abouts did you live? We left Testerton street in 1964 so a long time ago now.
    We also used to go to the Reck park which was near St Francis school.
    Such happy memories.

  6. John Henwood. says:

    Thanks Ann. Our history group meet weekly on Mondays at St Charles in the ‘Open Age’ Second half centre.

  7. John Matthews says:

    Hi Ann
    I lived at 30 Silchester Terrace, my dad was a Taxi driver. My sister Lilian used to take me to St Quintins Park to play. If I remember rightly there was a mini golf putting green at the park. I spent some time at Princess Louis hospital that was near the park too. I also went to a fun fair at the reck and my nanny Taylor used to supervise the swings.

  8. Hello,
    I really enjoyed reading your post! Your writing brings to life the photographs of the Lancaster baths. I am doing a PhD at UCL researching the history of the Notting Dale Urban Studies Centre (1975-1990). During the second half of the 1970s, the local community and the director of the centre campaigned to save the baths from demolition sadly without effect. If someone remembers anything about the Notting Dale Urban Studies Centres or the campaign to save the Lancaster baths I would really appreciate it!
    Many thanks,
    Sol

    • I used to work for Historytalk a local community history organisation that took over some of the archive of photos and documents left by the Urban Studies Centre. For a few years we ran the North Kensington Community Archive but because of difficulties with funding we too had to close the archive. Everything was transferred to RBK&C Local Studies up at the Central Library and is still there accessible to all. It is referred to as the North Kensington Community Archive and there are some folders on the Baths and Laundry.
      Sue (blog administrator)

      Sue

      • Hello Sue,
        Thanks for your reply. I visited the RBK&C Local Studies in 2015 and found a few photographs and some information about the Notting Dale Urban Studies Centres thanks to the donation of the North Kensignton Community Archive. A couple of years ago, I interviewed its former director and one member of staff. I am now particularly interested in any testimonies of people from the community who visited or participated in the centre since there are no published records.
        Any trace would help,
        Many thanks,
        Sol

  9. Dennis says:

    Born 1944 in Blechyndon St at railway end. Visited recently and looks like Grenfell Tower is built on the spot! Learnt to swim at the baths, teacher lined us up at the pool edge, jump in and grab the side! That worked. I do remember the twopenny nude, and there was always a group of girls spectating from the door.

  10. Amanda Harwood says:

    A really interesting recollection of the Baths. I have fond memories of swimming there until we moved to swim at Kensington New Pools. I swam in the main pool with our primary school. I joined the newly formed swimming club, but we went back to train in the empty main pool on Saturday mornings. School swimming – I think the swimming teacher was called Ms Munster. We had to ‘number off in 3s’, along the pool side, whilst the teacher and our school teacher finished their cups of tea. A white cup and saucer of tea. I went back to photograph the old Baths in 1982. It was in a sad state, disused and vandalised. It was the first of many old pools I have photographed since then, for my historic photographic archive/book – The Swimming Pool Library. It would be great to include some of your memories in with my archive, when I start to collate the material. It would also be fantastic to include some of the old photographs of the Baths. Any help with anything relating to the Baths would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks. Amanda

    • John Henwood says:

      Dear Amanda,
      Thank you for your interest….it’s odd how certain little things stick in your mind when growing up – you recall the white cup and saucer! You are most welcome to use any of my post in your book. It would be good if you could post here your 1982 photos when the baths were nearing their end. I’m sure they would be appreciated by all contributors to this post. With kind regards, John

      • Amanda Harwood says:

        Dear John, I’ve only just seen your reply! I’m still collating information and images – there were so many pre-1940s pools in the UK. I’ll have to scan my old negatives from Lancaster Road from 1982. When I have, I’ll get back in touch. Kind regards Amanda

      • john henwood says:

        Thank you Amanda, I look dorward to receiving any old images of Lancaster Road that you can turn up.

  11. Gareth says:

    There’s a great video from Nationwide about the closure of the laundry, including Alan Mullery’s mum!

  12. eileenhoare says:

    Hello John,
    I loved reading your account of Lancaster Swimming Baths (or ‘bars’ as I used to call them) You reminded me about hanging around in the water under those wooden slats in the big pool – I had completely forgotten! My older brother, Tommy, told me how we couldn’t afford swimming trunks as a kid, so he swam in the nude but I thought he’d made it up. How things have changed.
    best wishes
    Eileen

    • ollykite says:

      Dear Eileen, Thank you for sharing your interesting memories. Yes, your brother was quite right about the nude swimming in the 3rd class (2d in 1950’s60’s!) Under the slats were also a sort of hideaway sanctuary when Fred Bloomfield was on the prowl! How things have changed indeed Eileen – but we all seemed to enjoy those far off days, with kind regards, John

      Sent from my iPhone

    • The point about the affordability of swimming costumes is well made. In 1963, when I went to a new school in Croydon, the uniform swimming trunks cost 17/6, about £20 in current values. I have researched this, and pre-war, the price was the equivalent of twice that. Of course, female costumes were much higher still, being more elaborate. Before the 1980s, girls always got swimming costumes or were not allowed to swim. That meant that boys, who did not have to wear them, only got them if from fairly well-off families, so they went swimming in the nude.

      • john henwood says:

        Dear Allen,
        Thank you for your interesting comment. Many of the children wore handmedowns from siblings – families tended to be larger back then.
        I’m glad ypu enjoyed the post and it struck a chord.
        John

      • I appreciate there were cast-offs from elder siblings, but, if you think about it, this doesn’t entirely get around the problem. (1) if you have two boys and two girls, it is still the girls who will get costumes as a priority (2) if there is a preponderance of girls in the family, the boys are even less likely to be kitted out, the girls having drained the coffers (3) if an older boy hands down his costume to a younger brother, you would have to fork out a considerable amount of dosh to replace it. Far easier, if the boys don’t absolutely require costumes, not to buy them for any of the boys. It would be easier on the purse, fairer, and you could blame the rules, arguing the girls were only getting costumes under sufferance.

        As a Naturist myself, I have looked into how, and why, the practice of nude swimming has developed through history in the general population. For females, it seems to have died out during the 19th century, other than for girls up to the age of about 11. The advent of public pools provided from the 1870s onwards, came at a time when females were expected to preserve their modesty, even in all-female company, unless they were too young for it to matter. On the other hand, bathing costumes for males of any age had only been invented in the mid 1860s, and not using them was commonplace in municipal pools that provided for male-only use, and most of the Victorian ones did have separate pools for men. As was the case with North Ken, the pools continued that way right up to after WW1, as it was in other public swimming places, such as on the Serpentine in Hyde Park. From about 1920, adult males less frequently simply undressed to go swimming, but for boys that was still commonplace. Ironically, both the higher and lower echelons of society clung to the tradition for boys for as long as they could, but by the 1960s it was more difficult for municipal pools to provide a male-only environment, not least because the Victorian pools had begun to require replacement, eliminating multi-pool facilities, and timetabling of the reduced provision making it difficult to provide single-sex sessions. Boys going naked in public pools as a matter of course seems to have gone west in the late 1960s.

        As I implied, this was not due to any initiative of the boys concerned advocating their “right to modesty”. The idea would have been absurd to them. They had no say in the matter, and their parents were usually quite content with the practice. No, it was the middle class that eliminated it. They were the new puritans and “guardians of decency”, who got elected to the councils that ran the pools and enforced their attitudes on the users. The upper-middle class boys and the toffs were OK at their private school pools in the nude for another 10 years at least.

      • john henwood says:

        Thank you for your comments Allen.

  13. dennis james coleman says:

    I have scanned through these notes and don’t see anything re boxing?
    I remember passing the metal fire escape outside, crowded with men in flat caps and raincoates queuing to get in.The pool would be decked to support the ring

    • ollykite says:

      Thank you Dennis for your accurate comments. Yes, Boxing did take place in the way you suggest and I recall seeing posters around advertising the forthcoming bills. I am unsure if these were staged on an ad hoc basis or at set intervals. I will endeavour to find out more. Maybe you or another reader could provide more information. I will add a paragraph in the text to reflect your comments. John Henwood

  14. martin webber says:

    I used to visit the baths on a Saturday morning approximately 1964-1966. I went with my friend Lenny Riches along with his brother Kenny and their sister who’s name I have forgotten. We got the number 52 bus from the stop just after the railway bridge and get off just opposite the David Gregg’s shop. We then walked to the baths. I cannot remember how much it cost to get in. Sometimes we were the first ones to enter the water which could be chilly to start with. I remember my eyes sometimes stinging because of the cloreen. Once we finished our swim we got dressed and went to the small cafe area where you could buy jam sandwiches. I lost touch with Lenny aft
    er his house in Porlock Street was demolished as part of the Barlbby Road School redevlopement.

  15. martin webber says:

    Sorry I forgot to mention in my previous comments that when you entered the pool area the male changing cubacules were on the right hand side and split over two levels. The female changing cubacules were on the left hand side, again split over two levels. I don’t know which pool it was that me and my friends swam in. It was the same one each time. I have a vague recollection of women doing their washing but can’t give any details. The man who served in the on site cafe I think always had a white apron. The bus journey I mentioned in my previous communication was from one part of Ladbroke Grove to another. Sorry I did not make that clear.

  16. Foluke Falana says:

    I started Ladbroke secondary school in Uk London in January 1974 with one of my senior sisters. We are the two Nigerian girls. We use to live in number 119 Tavistock crescent London W11 near Portobello road/ Portobello market London w11

  17. ollykite says:

    Thank you Foluke for your memory – do you have a photo from back then? With kind regards, John Henwood, author

  18. Beverly Batchelor says:

    I lived at number 86 Lancaster road I went to Ladbroke road secondary school in the 60s our family moved to Watford in 1971 we spent many times at the swimming baths we also spent a lot of our time at st marks park and Holland Park they were great days.

  19. John Menzies says:

    Yes, exactly as I recall it, down to the bread and dripping in the small shop. I too would go there with the Oxford Gardens school, Mr Barrett was also the music teacher, I recall he taught the recorder.
    Was there from 1954 to 1958, after which went to Issac Newton off of the Portobello Road and Ladbroke Grove. Do recall no swimming trunks being required in the small pool, never happen today, attracted a few strange men as I recall!
    We lived at 4 St Charles Sq W10

  20. john henwood says:

    That’s right John, Mr Barrett did teach music. He was an accomplished clarinettist and he taught me this instrument.

    • John Menzies says:

      Mr Lusby, was the deputy headmaster when I was at Oxford Gardens (1954 thru 1957) Mr Hitchens was the headmaster, a really nice guy, sadly he passed, cancer I believe so that Mr Lusby then became headmaster. Both were very respected leaders, as was Mr Barrett.

  21. Hugh says:

    Im not sure if this went through. It mentions that Silcherster baths were demolished in 1979. I was a teenager and scrambled inside the baths in April 1983 taking pictures internaly of the place making notes in my note book of time palce ect. It was not long after this that it was actually demolished I still have the note book and the photo’s

  22. dennis coleman says:

    Boxing- we moved to Hammersmith and much later visited Sheppey where we now meet Ken Curtis now and then. Turns out he lived in Hammersmith at the same time and we probably crossed paths doing our paper/milk rounds. Well he was a bit of a boxer and often used to fight at the baths. (never told me if he was any good)

Leave a comment