Memories of Schooldays in Lancaster Road – Part 1

In September 2014 two new schools opened in North Kensington. Kensington Aldridge Academy is a secondary school in a brand new building on Silchester Road at the far western end of Lancaster Road. The second school to open was the privately run Chepstow House School, which is located at the other end of Lancaster Road near Portobello Road in a building that has been in educational use since Victorian times. Since many schools have come and gone along Lancaster Road we thought we would recall them.

Portobello Road School by Sue Snyder

Old entrance to Portobello Road School - infants and girls. Photo taken in 1995

Old entrance to Portobello Road School – infants and girls. Photo taken in 1995

Isaac Newton Centre 2010. Originally the boys' entrance for Portobello Road School, and now Chepstow House, a private school.

Isaac Newton Centre 2010. Originally the boys’ entrance for Portobello Road School, and now Chepstow House, a private school.

One of the first board schools to be built in 1876 in North Kensington was Portobello Road School (now Chepstow House school). The building runs behind the houses on Lancaster Road towards Portobello Road with entrances on both roads. The best view of the two-storey building is probably from the train as it leaves Ladbroke Grove going towards Westbourne Park station.

My mother, Mary Horwood, born in 1913, attended Portobello Road School from the age of 5. It catered for children up to the age of thirteen, although my mother succeeded in transferring at aged 11 to North Kensington Central School on St Mark’s Road opposite Kensington Memorial Park (see separate posting). The entrance on Portobello Road was for infants and girls while the boys entered on Lancaster Road. She described to me how there was an upstairs flat over one of the entrances that was used for training the girls in ‘household” skills such as polishing the fireplace brass and black leading a stove.

After WW2, North Kensington Central School moved from St Mark’s Road to the Portobello Road School building.

 

Lancaster Road School by Jean Parker

Ladbroke Lower School for Girls in 1970, formerly Lancaster Road School. photo RBKC.

Ladbroke Lower School for Girls in 1970, formerly Lancaster Road School. photo RBKC.

I started at Lancaster Road School in September 1939 when I was four and a half years old. The infants were based on the ground floor with the junior boys and girls on the first floor and the senior boys on the second floor. The senior boys’ playground was on the roof and the infants’ entrance was in St.Mark’s Road. The senior girls went to St Quintin’s School in St Mark’s Road near to Kensington Memorial Park.

Each morning, assembly was held in the hall which was also used for dancing and singing. I remember that my first teacher was called Miss Doncaster and our lessons were simple, just learning to read, write and count. We used a slate tile and chalk. There was no paper or pencils. We had small wooden boxes to store our things and these were kept under our chairs. As war progressed, teachers were in short supply so sometimes we only went to school for half a day.

The Junior lessons were more serious. We had proper writing desks with lids that lifted up so there was space to store our books, paper, pens and pencils These desks had to be kept tidy and we opened the lids every morning for the teacher’s inspection. In my third year I became ink monitor which meant keeping all the inkwells in my class filled. In those days pupils stayed in their classrooms for all lessons while the teachers went from class to class.

I had a happy childhood and Lancaster Road was a big part of it.

 

Lancaster Road in the 1950s recalled by Mick Kasmir.

Part of the Isaac Newton Centre in  2010, formerly Isaac Newton Boys School.  Photo Sue Snyder.

Part of the Isaac Newton Centre in 2010, formerly Isaac Newton Boys School. Photo Sue Snyder.

When I was at school there were three schools in Lancaster Road. One being North Kensington Central School, which became Isaac Newton Secondary School (and is now coming to the end of its recent incarnation as Isaac Newton Professional Development Centre). It had an entrance in Lancaster Road and one in Portobello Road (which is now The Garden Cafe). The school was mixed and fairly small.

Further down Lancaster Road and across Ladbroke Grove there was Solomon Wolfson Jewish School, a mixed primary school that sat upon the site now occupied by The Lighthouse. Next door to this school was a secondary school named, appropriately enough, Lancaster Road Secondary School, now occupied by the Virgin Gym. This school was quite big, and from what I remember, boys only. It was also quite rough.

Solomon Wolfson School, 1970. Photo RBKC local studies.

Solomon Wolfson School, 1970. Photo RBKC local studies.

Because my stepfather was Jewish (he came with his family from Russia to escape the pogroms when he was a boy), he sent my sister and me to Solomon Wolfson. Also it was near to where we lived in Lancaster Road. Apart from Maths and English, the curriculum seemed to consist of writing, painting, clay modelling, growing plants and even knitting! Boys as well as girls! We also learnt some Hebrew, and in the winter we could all leave early on Fridays to get back home before it got dark so we could celebrate Shabat (Sabbath).

Next door to the school was a cinema, The Royalty, where one could play around the back, and sometimes even get inside the cinema. On the corner of Ladbroke Grove and Lancaster Road there was the Children’s Library (which is still there), where I discovered more literature than both schools put together!

Royalty Cinema, Lancaster Road with Solomon Wolfson to the far right, 1970. Photo RBKC.

Royalty Cinema, Lancaster Road with Solomon Wolfson to the far right, 1970. Photo RBKC.

After Solomon Wolfson I went to North Ken Central School which was a Technical school teaching technical drawing, woodwork, metalwork, art and science. My last year, 1959, took place in Wornington Road, when both buildings became Isaac Newton boys Secondary School. And pupils who wanted to take ‘A’ levels had to transfer to Holland Park School, which had just opened in 1958. Isaac Newton finally closed in the late 1970s. I think my science teacher Mr Carter later became the head of Isaac Newton School.

Next door to the Portobello entrance was a really good pie and mash shop that later became Ceres Wholefoods (and now The Grain Shop).

Solomon Wolfson by Pat Kasmir

Before moving to Lancaster Road we lived in Hammersmith and I went to St.Paul’s primary school on Hammersmith Broadway. Then when we moved to Lancaster Road our parents sent both my brother and me to Solomon Wolfson in Lancaster Road, as it was local. This was in 1947.

Although my brother and I were not Jewish (my step father was) and we were Church of England, we attended the Jewish assembly and learnt some Hebrew and the Old Testament. It was a mixed school and had other faiths attending. A nun would come into the school to take the non-Jewish students for their assembly.

I really enjoyed my time there. I was very happy and made lots of friends. I can remember that we had plays and celebrations on the stage in the school hall, we had prize giving and we were taught the usual primary subjects – Maths, English, Art etc.

We used to go out at lunchtime to a sweet shop around the corner in Ladbroke Grove (could be Winkworths Estate Agency now) using our weekly sweet coupons and 5penny a week pocket money. I would imagine this would only be once a week probably on a Monday payday.

There was also another school next door to Solomon Wolfson, which I remember as Lancaster Road Boys School (where Virgin Gym is now). It was a much more rough school and I remember being really frightened walking back to my house on my own as the boys were really quite threatening.

In later years, I believe it became a girls’ secondary modern called Ladbroke Lower School and eventually amalgamated with Holland Park School in the early eighties.

I was very unhappy when I had to leave and go to Secondary school, which was Mary Boon in Shepherds Bush (which by the way I really enjoyed also)

When I moved onto Secondary school, Mary Boon in Shepherds Bush, one day a week we had Housewifery or Cooking on alternate weeks. For the housewifery we came back to Lancaster Road to the Campden Institute. They had a flat on the top floor where we were taught to change the beds, hoover the floors, do the washing and the ironing. It was good fun and I never forgot these elementary rules.

n.b. Campden Institute (now Notting Hill Prep School, is on Lancaster Road next to the Library). There is more information on the Campden Institute on a separate blog posting.

 

Solomon Wolfson in the early 1950s,  Rachelle Stock

I was there from about 1950-54 from five till nine years old, when we moved to Tottenham.

We lived along the Uxbridge Road, so my journey was from Shepherds Bush train station to Ladbroke Grove station. Few people from the working class Jewish immigrant population had cars, well, few people had cars full stop, hence the train journey. There was a group of us including my older brother accompanied by various adults. The walk from the station along Ladbroke Grove round the corner to Lancaster Road was exciting because we often came across chickens that we could chase. They were wandering around the entrance of the alley just along from the station.

The headmaster at the time was Mr Mendoza (a lovely gentle man) and if I remember rightly my teacher or one of them was Mr Lipchitz, a memorable name…….. a chalk throwing, tall, tweed-jacketed scary man. We had large coal stoves in the classrooms, probably the norm in most schools at that time. The highlight of my days was playing marbles in the drains. I was quite the champion and had a tin full of my winnings….If it had been raining before playtime all the better as the coloured glass sparkled like treasure nestling in the drain cover holes. Not saying much for my early education.

Around this time, 1952, Christie was committing his murders and we used to go round the corner to Rillington Place, probably on the way home accompanied by adults since I can’t think we were let out during lunchtime – to see the police activity, lots of digging going on. Fascinatingly gruesome for small children. The film 10 Rillington Place, with Richard Attenborough at his finest brings it startlingly back.

I had a ‘boyfriend’, the first, called David Rose. Strange how I remember that I can still recall him kissing me and the smell of his breath. ..yuk. The worst part of that early education was the way we learned the days of the week and months of the year with charts for days drawn as oblong boxes running from right to left (the Hebrew way) starting with Saturday ( Saturday yellow, Sunday red) and finishing with Friday. Forever my image of a week will be seen that way. For the year a circle divided into 12 segments, each segment a month again. I can’t think of the year without that image. I find that extremely annoying!

I left the school because we moved away and I took my 11+ elsewhere.

 

Solomon Wolfson class, 1960s.

Solomon Wolfson class, 1960s.

Solomon Wolfson class in 1965.

Solomon Wolfson class in 1965.

Samuel Wolfson School finally closed in 1981 reflecting the reduced size the jewish community in Notting Hill who were moving on and out of the area.

This entry was posted in Schools, Streets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

108 Responses to Memories of Schooldays in Lancaster Road – Part 1

  1. Gwen Nelson says:

    A lovely nostalgic trip down Memory Lane. Thank you so much. I too have happy memories of the children’s section of Ladbroke Grove Library. One had to go downstairs to access it and have written permission from one’s parents if you wanted to borrow books from the adult section upstairs. I repeatedly borrowed “Grimm’s Fairy Tales” which was a big book bound in red fabric. I loved the illustrations which were always very scary.

  2. Stanley Morris says:

    How wonderful! I too remember tthis so clearly. Going downstairs to the children’s area and going straight to the Biggles books, (and earlier to the Enid Blytons) and being so dissapointed if the shelves for them were empty. Across the road was I think a sweet shop or toy shop or stationers perhaps which kept me glued to the window at Parker pens and Watermens pens which so enthralled me. At 11 I was sent to the school across the way – North Ken Central School I think where a wondrful teacher of french had me unabashed and fluent in my limitatioins before being upgraded to St Clement DAnes Grammar school the following year. There Mr Gush failed me with his more progreesive teaching style whereas Miss ? who taught strictly by rote had me a year or two ahead of my new ckassmates. Dear Mrs french teacher, if you are still with us , thank you so much.Dear Mr Gush – I do remember you with affection behind your cigarette smoke.
    Life with access to a downstairs library before television had much to offer.

  3. Annie says:

    I also lived in ladbroke grove but in the 1980’s and it’s fascinating to hear your recollection especially as I can relate to some of the places you mention. But I’m a little confused as you mentioned that you went to Mary Boon school for girls. I went to Mary Boon but it was in Olympia on Hammersmith road not in shepherds Bush. Could you throw some light on that? Did it move I’m really curious to find out.

    Annie

    • Pat Terry says:

      Annie,
      Mary Boon was originally in Lime Grove Shepherds Bush attached to the Art School. It did eventually move to Olympia after I left at the moment I do not know the year but it would have been after 1968. I might be able to find out which will be a bit long winded but I will have a go. It was a lovely school originally referred to as a Trade School which meant the students started at thirteen years of age and chose a trade to study cookery,upholstery art etc. In 1952 the intake started at eleven and I was one of the first.
      Pat

      • Tina Burke says:

        I started Mary Boon School September 1959-the year that it moved from Lime Grove to Earsby Street in West Kensington just opposite the Olympia building-it was a lovely school and gave me a great start in life- my name was Tina Burnell then

      • I was a pupil in Mary boon school in 1953 learning Tailoring left after 3 years and went to work for Norman Hartnell dressmaker to the late Queen,loved my time at school,my teacher was Miss Cummings.My Name was Barbara Beeden.

  4. Arnold Carmel Ph.D. says:

    I, too, remember my days at Solomon Wolfson from 1947-1953. My brother and I would walk from Maxilla Gardens past George’s, a confectionary store on St Marks Road, and turn by the bakery onto Lancaster Road to get to school. We were always greeted by Mr. Drake, the caretaker of the school who was hovering in the playground area as students arrived. I have the fondest memories of Mr. Mendoza, even though I was a regular visitor to his office. He had great patience with me. I remember Mrs Drury, who too, had patience, but more importantly she ignited my imagination and motivated me to explore the world through literature. I became a regular visitor to the library on the corner of Lancaster Road and Ladbroke Grove. Those primary/elementary years I recall with great fondness- the school friends, who for the most part are etched in memory at the ages we were at that time. When I left after the 11+ I went to Central Foundation Grammar in the city, at the same time we moved from Maxilla gardens to Highlever Road, leaving behind the memories of Lancaster Road, and the school

    • Stanley Morris says:

      Hello Arnold! We lived in Brewster Gardens, and played a little together a bit and I think you came to a birthday party or two. I think our mums were friends. One would probably pass Ellis Turim’s home on our way to visit Do you recall? May be went to the park together where I think we payed a version of cricket with one man per side.
      Mrs Levey – do you recall as well?

      • Arnold Carmel Ph.D. says:

        Hi Stanley,
        I remember you well. We did indeed play together. I cannot say I remember Ellis Turim. I tried to locate an old photograph that I have from those days. There is one particular one with our year
        ( around 1952), on the stage in the auditorium. I was sitting in the front row next to Stanley Lions, and you were in the fourth or fifth row, at the end of the row. For the most part those years were idyllic with nothing but pleasant memories. I also remember Mrs. Levy, Mr. Supperstone, Mr. Busky and others from the faculty.

    • Graham Caine says:

      Arnold
      Was your brother Alan?
      I lived on Highlever Road as well at number 123. If I recall your mothers name was May?

      • Arnold Carmel Ph.D. says:

        Graham,

        Yes, my brother is Alan. Both he and I remember your parents very well. They were many times your parents came to visit our house and vice versa. We to lived on Highlever road, I think 169, though not sure. We also remember you too.

        Arnold Carmel

    • Lee says:

      Hi, I’ve been doing some family tree research and found an address for Mary sweeting 169 highlever road in 1953. After a few searches one of your comments saying you lived there around that time. Just wondering if you can remember if you knew her and had any information. Thanks

      • Arnold says:

        My parents bought the house 169 Highlever Road in 1953 round about September. We lived there until 1959 when we moved to Wembley. I ‘m afraid I do not remember the Sweeting family

    • Ronald E Collins says:

      Hi Arnold, You may just remember me. My name at the time I attended Solomon
      Wolfson was Ronald Czech, later changed to Collins. I believe I arrived SW in 1945
      left in 1952/3. I remember visiting your home in Maxilla Gardens. Your mother if I am
      correct was from Ireland
      Would be nice to hear from you I have now reached the age of 76 and have retired
      to Sri Lanka
      Check out google or FB you can find me under Ron E Collins
      I was a cameraman working for British Movietonews for many years
      Later ran my own film and TV equipment supply company

      • Arnold Carmel says:

        Dear Ronald,
        I remember you. How come you decided to retire to Sri Lanka? For myself, after leaving King Solomon I went on to Cowper Street grammar School near Old Street. Left at 16 after completing my O levels. Went to Israel for 1 year on a youth leadership training course, then returned to England spending two years working in Dror Habonim. At 18 I made Aliyah to Israel joining an Israeli Group –we served 3 years in the Israeli Army, and then joined a Kibbutz in the north of Israel, where I met my wife who was a student at Hebrew University. She had come to the kibbutz on a visit and the rest was history. We got married in Houston, Texas, and then returned to Israel.
        Later we left Kibbutz and ended up in Houston in 1966. I enrolled in the University, and got my B.Sc. and a M.Ed. We moved to Nebraska, and I went on to complete my Ph.D. in Educational Psychology 1974.
        My professional career was in the field of Jewish Education where I was Head of Jewish Day schools K-12. In 2010 I retired out of Connecticut, and Judy and I moved to Chicago to be with our middle daughter and 3 grandchildren. Our youngest daughter lives in London in Ilford with her husband and 3 children.

        So we have 5 grandsons and 1 granddaughter. We did have an elder daughter, but sadly she passed away unexpectedly in 2006. If you wish to communicate further I’ll give you my e-mail address next time. Hope all is well with you.

        Arnold Carmel

    • Ronald E Collins says:

      Thanks for your email Arnold
      so pleased you made contact with
      me seventy plus years on
      Please let me have your email
      address when I fill you in about
      all those missing years
      Best Wishes
      Ronald E Collina
      I’ve had quite a Life

    • Hello there Arnold: Are you still there? I just came across this page looking to see if Rhea Wolfson is related to the Solomon Wolfson family – eh voila – students from the school. I was Yvonne Herman, lived on Ladbroke Grove, passed Oxford/Cambridge Gardens, opposite a small church. I remember all the teachers very well. In fact, Mr. Busky sadly collapsed whilst teaching us one day. I ran into Mrs. Walker’s class (i hated her she was a nasty woman to tell her-very dramatic memory) I remember Mr. Lipshitz – strict and unloving man. I liked Mr. Mendoza, however, Mr. Somper took over – very different. I could say somewhat of a snob! I was naughty, always outside the classroom when, as my bad luck would have it, he would walk the halls and always see me. More detention. I remember Jeffrey Fisher in my class, the Valentine twins, Elizabeth Harvery (the only non Jewish girl in my year). Angela Veter (spelling) broke my finger one day, so I had to walk to St. Charles Hospital to have a plaster cast put on it. Ah, sweet memories of childhood. I went on to N.Ken Central – then Holland Park. To cut a long story short, I emigrated to the United States when I was 20 – two months after President Kennedy was assassinated. I have not looked back since – far too many stories to fill the gap here. In any event, I am married to an Int’l Tax Lawyer, living in Los Angeles and have one daughter. Oh, I forgot, my first teacher was Mrs. Levy who used to hit my hand (seems naughty was my middle name) with a bamboo cane that seriously hurt. Corporal punishment worked in our day, shame it’s not around now. Too much PC in the world today! All the best, Evie

      • Arnold Carmel says:

        Hi Evie,

        I cannot say that I remember you. I did my 11+ exams in 1953, and then went to Central Foundation Grammar School in the city in September 1953. It may well be Alan, my brother, who was 2 years beneath me. I remember David Leader, Stanley Lyons, Gloria Mannering, Malcom Eagles, Philip Stock, Stanley Morris, Ruth Hack.

        I lived in Israel for a few years where I met my wife who is from Houston, Texas. I followed her to Houston, where I enrolled in the University. From Houston we went to Lincoln Nebraska where I received my doctorate. We moved a few times, and finally settled down in the Chicago area after I retired in 2010. We had three daughters, and now have 6 grandchildren. We do travel back and forth to England a fair amount because one of our daughter lives in London with her husband and three children.

        Let me know if you bio matches the year that I was in. ( I just turned 76), if that helps.

        Regards,

        Arnold Carmel (lemracaj@gmail.com)

    • Samantha Ereira says:

      Dear Arnold. Did you know my dad, who was born in 1941 and went to Solomon Wolfson? He was called Brian Ereira. He told me about going to Rillington Place after school.

      • Arnold Carmel says:

        I have a vague recollection of home. I was born January 1942, so I am pretty sure he was in the same year. I left Solly in 1953 after the 11plus and went on to a grander school in the city. How is your father, I hope well.

      • Samantha Ereira says:

        Dear Arnold. Did you know my dad, who was born in 1941 and went to Solomon Wolfson? He was called Brian Ereira. He told me about going to Rillington Place after school.

      • Samantha Ereira says:

        Sorry, posted the same thing again! Dad would have been in the same year as you. He always had broken glasses! Thanks for your reply.

      • Arnold Carmel says:

        we shared the same problem. I too had NHS glasses that I was always breaking.. I started to wearing glasses from about the age of 6. They were the round rimmed wiry glasses.

    • Ray Alston says:

      I wonder whether you remember me, Arnold. I found this site quite by chance following yesterday’s dramatic news of Lord David Wolfson. I definitely remember you and a few others: Gloria Mannering, Malcolm Eagles and Stanley Lyons. To jog your memory I was probably the only pianist in the class… although Norma Fisher was excellent and two years before us. Are you still in Chicago? My wife and I emigrated to France about 20 years ago and I am still active in music — you might prefer to respond via my website : PracticalPianoEditions.

  5. Karen Long says:

    My mother wasnt Jewish but went to Solomon Wolfson and speaks of her time at school with very fond memories. I am in possession of a cookery book that was presented to her on 5/12/1950 for her good work and excellence of character and was signed by the the Head Master Mr Mendoza

  6. tina burke says:

    Mary Boon Secondary School moved to the Olympia site September 1959. My year was the first intake aged eleven-the older years moved over during the first term of that year. Hope this helps

  7. Janet Suckling says:

    Mary Boon School was in Shepherd’s Bush in 1957.
    It shared a building with an Art School.
    It produced outstanding results with pupils in Cookery, Design, Dressmaking,
    Art, Embroidery, Theatre Costume, it was a Technical School.
    Many girls went on to work with these skills some of them to the Designer Houses of the day.

  8. andy anderson says:

    oh wow i can see my brother there !

  9. Elaine king says:

    Elaine king
    I went to mary Boon school in Olympia and left in 1969 does anyone remember that year ?
    I could not wish for a better bunch of girls in my class

    • katie says:

      Elaine,
      I am looking for information about Mary Florence Steptoe, who went to Mary Boon school in the early 1960s and played hockey. She died recently and her husband is looking for information about her and her hockey playing achievements. Did you know her?
      Katie (volunteer with The Hockey Museum)

  10. Ayfer says:

    Does anyone recall Ladbroke Grove lower and upper school for girls in the 70’s? would love to get in touch with the girls who took English with Miss Lang (hope that’s the correct spelling for her name) she was inspirational.

    • Claudette says:

      Hello Ayfer, I don’t recall your name but I went to Ladbroke in the 70’s. My name is Claudette and I am friends with Regina. We have been having reunion recently and maybe you would like to come sometime. I do remember Miss Lang and Miss Webb.

  11. James Farndale says:

    I attended North Kensington Central School from 1950 to 1954 which I always thought was North Kensington Secondary Modern.When did it change names? I always entered the school from the Lancaster Road entrance a short distance from Ladbroke Grove and used the Portobello Road entance at lunch time. I seem to remember a cafe near the entrance and a shop where it was possible to buy a single cigarette. (buy one?….. who me?) Nah. I remember Mr Markham as Headmaster and a teacher Mr Palmer. The folly of youth, I wasted most of my time at school, and regretted it in later life.

    • Bob Bremner says:

      I went to North Ken secondary modern from 1946 to 1951. Percy Markham was Headmaster. We kids were all terrified of him.The cane was a regular punishment. I remember a Mr Wilson,sports master belong a good guy,and a Mister Davies,Maths teacher belong a tyrant. Miss Matthews was deputy head.and dealt with the girls. We received a fair education when you think the war had just ended and the country was on its knees, with lots of bomb damage in that area. The School was in a great position .Right on Portobello Rd ,with the market and stalls. I lived in Tavistock Rd ,Number 123. They were great days for us kids. Very tough for our parents. Bob Bremner.

  12. barry cheese says:

    Hello Stanley I remember you and Arnold, you also mentioned Ellis who sat next to me in
    class.
    Miss Walker was our teacher.
    Barry Cheese

    • stanley Morris says:

      barry cheese! as soon as i saw the name a bell rang in my head! good god it is 70 years ago. a bit advanced to be saying,’how you doing?’ I can’t remember much about those days but would love to hear and share more with you. I was corresponding withArnold but lost the address. Also love to hear from Ellis too and anyone else. stanley lions, Alan Shwartz, Geoffry gitter and some girls – Gloria, Carol Susan Fineman?

      • barry cheese says:

        Hello Stanley.I lost touch with Ellis but I managed to speak to Edwin Bennet who lives
        in USA, also in touch with Michael Sable and Flower Moses who both live in London.
        Barry Cheese

  13. frank howard clark says:

    I lived at 200 Lancaster Road and went to the infants school there in 1951. I then attended Oxford Gardens Junior school. I remember coming back from shopping on a Saturday and seeing crowds at the top of Rillington Place. The victims bodies had just been discovered.
    My sister went to Quentin Park school. Her name was Rosalind Ann Clark. I spent many happy Saturday mornings at the Royalty minors. Does anyone remember going up on the stage on your birthday? I remember an enactment of the boat race being played out. Flash Gordon springs to mind too!!
    Mum worked in Crumpton’s the butchers on Ladbroke Grove so we got to watch the Queen go by from an upstairs window after her coronation. I was a regular at the library having discovered W E Johns and Biggles. I can see those steps leading down now!! Do you remember the index cards when you wanted to find a particular book?
    I also spent my time singing in the choir of St Helen’s Church. Miss E Betty Roe(MBE) who was my choir mistress still lives in Barlby Road. She is now 86. They were such happy days and its good to read others memories of the times. Take care all. Frank.

  14. barry cheese says:

    Hello Arnold hope you are well

    Barry Cheese

  15. Anne Madeline Branson says:

    Hello, I attended the school on Lancaster Rd. for a very short time. My friend was Marion Burrows. I lived at #76. I had happy times there until Dec.’49 when we left for Canada. I visited London 4 yrs. ago and went to see #76. It was forlorn with eaves troughs (rain gutters) drooping and overgrown bushes bordering the sidewalk. In my head tho’ it was the same as before. I remember the Chippie around the corner where for sixpence I could get a meal, live eels in a barrow and sweet peas in the garden behind our house. I was peeking over the brick wall one day and the gentleman gave me a bunch. 68 years have passed. Sweet memories. Not so sweet-my dad, Basil Eustace Branson was a pilot in the R.A.F. and was killed several days after the war ended when the plane went down over Corsica. I never saw him.
    Anne Branson, Toronto, Ontario, Canada Brrrrr. Snow, minus 7 celsius.

  16. Alan Carmel says:

    My Brother Arnold & I lived in Maxilla Gardens, the next street to Rillington place which we passed on our way to our school Solomon Woolfson in Lancaster Road
    My Father had a Saturday job as a barber in Ladbroke Grove and used to cut Christies and Evans hair !!!!!!
    I went to Solomon Woolfson from 1949 to 1955,
    The names I remember were, Carol Leader, Stuart Soloway, Howard Eden who I have seen recently,
    I still see a lot of Phillip Zekanofsky( Zec) and occassionaly Stuart Phillips
    I remember playing Haman in the Purim school play one year, unfortunately I do not have any photo’s of my time at Solomon Woolfson, would love to see some !!
    Geoffrey Isaacs and his mother who lived opposite the school were very good friends of our family
    and I still see them, they have attended all our family functions these last 60 years ?
    Also Grahame Caine and his parents were good friends ,
    Other pupils are Stanley Lyons and Andre Douek who now both happen to be members of my golf club, who I see on a regular basis, We often talk about our time at Solomon Woolfson
    Would love to hear from my childhood school friends ?
    Best Alan Carmel

    • Sandra Kershaw (nee Krakowski) says:

      Hello Alan, I too went to Solomon Wolfson 1949-1955. My maiden name was Sandra Krakowski and I lived at 125 Ladbroke Grove. The names I remember were Briony Angel, Rosalind Levine, Natalie Stern, Hannah ? , Geoffrey Gitter, Stuart and Stanley, Ronald? My cousins lived in Maxilla Gardens and were Shirley, Myrna and Lynda Summercorn. I moved to Barlby Road in 1952. I was very happy at SW, the teachers were lovely. I managed to pass my 11plus and went to Fulham County School for Girls before moving to Essex in 1957. My Dad was Jewish but not my Mum.

      • Alan Carmel says:

        Hi Sandra
        Unfortunately I don’t remember you ?
        But I do remember the summercorns !
        I think I was friends with them
        I also was very happy at SW,
        Do you have any school photo’s, ??
        For some unknown reason I cannot find any !
        I am still friendly with Phillip Zecanofsky and see Stuart Phillips riding around Borehamwood
        Best wishes
        Alan

      • Hi there: I was Yvonne Herman, lived at 247 Ladbroke Grove. Remember all the teachers however, do not recognize your name? I was in class with the Valentine twins, Bernice Bearston, Jeffrey Fisher, Stuart Solomon. Went to Shul behind Portobellow Road! Wont go on unless I hear back. Best Evie

  17. Helen Keen says:

    I went to Mary Boon near Olympia in 1957. I went back recently to see it but couldn’t find it, there are new schools there now but none of the buildings looked familiar.
    Helen Keen – nee O’Connor.

    • katie says:

      Helen,

      I am looking for information about Mary Florence Steptoe, who went to Mary Boon school in the early 1960s and played hockey. She died recently and her husband is looking for information about her and her hockey playing achievements. Did you know her?
      Katie (volunteer with The Hockey Museum)

  18. Sandra Kershaw (nee Krakowski) says:

    Hi Alan – you remember the Summercorns, well Lynda, the youngest, lives in Dorset, Myrna in Retford. Shirley’s not well unfortunately. I remember your name but not your face! I have a photo of my 11th birthday party with those girls I mentioned in my last message. I’ll look it out later and attempt to attach it. It may jog your memory. Do you remember Mr Busky? What a kind, inspirational teacher! I think we were very lucky to go to that school. Best wishes, Sandra. Devon

    • alan carmel says:

      Hi Sandra, Do you remember Carol Leader ? Stuart Soloway, I do remember visiting a house in Ladbroke grove, near the top of a hill ?Did you go to the Shul in Portabello road, I used to sing the solo at Chanuka, I remember Mr Shinefeld,, Mr Mendoza and Mrs Walker, Would love to see the photo ?
      Regards Alan

      • Sandra Kershaw says:

        Hi Alan, I don’t remember Carol Leader but I remember a Stuart. 125 Ladbroke Grove was just a very short walk round the corner from SW and opposite The Elgin Pub, still there today. I didn’t go to Shul much, apart from the Saturday mornings at the school where you used to get a watered down red wine and biscuits afterwards! Mr Shinefeld changed his name to Shenfield as I remember. I’ve found the photo – now I have to find out how to insert it on this website? Regards Sandra

      • Sandra Kershaw (nee Krakowski) says:

        Alan – if you would like to see the photo, I could always email you? Up to you of course, will quite understand if you’d rather not. Regards, Sandra

      • Alan Carmel says:

        Hi Sandra
        Would love to see any photos !
        Regards
        Alan

      • Sandra Kershaw (nee Krakowski) says:

        Ok Alan, if you’d like to give me your email address, I’ll attach a scanned copy of the photo. Regards, Sandra

      • Alan Carmel says:

        Hi Sandra
        It’s. alancarmel07@gmail
        Regards
        Alan

      • Sandra Kershaw (nee Krakowski) says:

        You have email 😊 – hope it arrived!? Sandra

  19. Nicholas White says:

    Just for historical record, in the photo labelled ‘Solomon Wolfson class in 1965’ I am the second boy on the left, front row. Nicholas White, fame at last 🙂

  20. Alan Carmel says:

    Hi Sandra, I didn’t get any photo’s but noticed my email was too short,
    its alancarmel07@gmail.com

  21. Kerry Barton says:

    Hi, my mum came from Lancaster Road. Her name is Susan Squires (nee Arney) and from what Mum has said her house is no longer there, but I think she has said that it was opposite the round house. My grandad Fred Arney had a fruit and veg business (family run). It would be great if anyone can remember her or her family, so as I can maybe put her in touch with old school friends, and/ or family who may still live in the area. I’ve heard her talk about Rillington Place and how near to her school it was ( not sure of the name of the school she attended). I love hearing about her time growing up in London before they moved down to Kent.

  22. Margaret Canter nee Cleary says:

    Was there someone in your family called Ruth Arney and did they keep horses in a mews at the bottom of Lancaster Road, near the Baths?

    • Hello there: Did you have a brother that ended up working at The American Express Co. in The Haymarket? I remember your name – I think – its not an uncommon name. My name is Yvonne my maiden name Herman.

    • Kerry Barton says:

      Yes Margaret, Ruth is my aunt, and yes they had horses, some of the info I got wrong, after speaking to my mum, they had a meat business, not fruit and veg, my grandad started that when they moved to Kent, their house was in Lancaster Road, I do have a picture, but don’t know how to up load it on to this page, , mum said it was the first house that had pillars at the front.

    • Kerry Barton says:

      I have msg back to you Margaret, but it’s further down the page, sorry, think I must have clicked on the next ladies comment.

  23. jo lack says:

    I have enjoyed reading your reminiscences even though I followed on a lot later 57-64. Some of you may remember my brother and sister (Silverstone) I certainly remember the name Alan Carmel.
    I really liked Mr. Somper and Miss Levene of course but Mr Shenfield tried to make me eat peas so I didnt like him. I loved my time at SWJS and was sad to leave.

  24. Roni Kermoded says:

    Does anybody remember an ex-pupil called Joolia Cappleman? She was a friend of mine and died unexpectedly very recently and it took me some time to find a relative. I know from her Facebook page that she went to Solomon Wolfson. She was an actress living in London – and maybe Cappleman was her stage name – if it was, then I probably won’t be able to take this any further.

  25. Roni,
    Can you give us an idea of when Joolia would have been at Solomon Wolfson? How old was she when she died recently or when she was born. Then I can alert certain people who might be the same age.
    Sue from northkenstories

  26. Reginald says:

    Hello, does anyone remember my father Reginald Cheesman? He went to Lancaster road school. He was born in 1934, would live to hear from someone who knew him as he would like to be in touch to talk about memories.
    Thank you

    • Derek Newell (Del) says:

      I remember Reg my name is Derek Newell ( Del)and we were both in the same class in Lancaster rd school . He we was my best friend at one time and I often called up at his house opposite the little park. We would often cycle to bluebell woods after school and play. I now live in Adelaide South Australia. I was also born in 1934. I have so many pleasant memories of my school days and a great lot of them was with Cheddar (Reg). I also remember Shovehalfpenny who lived near Reg. Love to hear from you Reg.

      • Reginald Cheesman says:

        Hello Derek,
        My father Reg is so excited to have found you and would love to speak to you, it was so strange as he was talking about his friend Derek he has so many happy memories too. Are you on facebook or is there a way of contacting you?
        Take Care
        Karen (Daughter)

      • karen Mary cheesman says:

        Hi Derek,
        Would love to call you, are you on Facebook? would be great to call you.

        Reg

      • delboyrn says:

        Hi Karen I could start connecting with you but I’m not sure how to get you on Facebook I have tried emailing but I would need your email address. I am on messenger viber Skype and do regular video calls to uk but I’m not too clever on Facebook my email is drnew5960@icloud.com would be great if you could contact me

    • delboyrn says:

      Hi Reg would be great to be able to chat with you about our memories so many years ago. Please reply when able
      Del Newell

  27. Ann says:

    Hi
    I went to Ladbroke road girls school in sixty three sixty four. When we lived in Testerton street a girl called Angela Bowen went to st Mary boon school does anyone remember her ?
    There was also a butchers shop next to the post office in Bramley road and the butcher was called Cheesman he had a boy and a girl I think the girl was called Pauline not sure if they were related to Reginald ? Also a long from there was a florist owned by a family called Innis does anyone remember any of these ? It would be nice to hear from anyone from around the fifties and early sixties that lived around there.

  28. Gerry kurzon says:

    Hello,
    I too remember many of the names of teachers and pupils at Solomon Wolfson during the early 50’s Mendoza/Somper/Gottlieb/Walker/Lipshitz (he of accurate blackboard duster throwing fame) and pupils of course Alan Carmel/Andre & Jeremy Doueck/Stuart Solloway/Roy Kemp et al. It was an interesting journey down memory lane. I remember battles with the boys oft the neighboring school,particularly snowball fights, And spending many happy hours during break time playing conkers and marbles.
    Would be interested to discover if anyone recalls me, Gerald Kurzon, I lived in Blythe Road and went to Brook Green Shul

    • Evie Marlin. www.eviemarlin.com says:

      Hello there: My name, whilst at Solomon Wolfson, Yvonne Herman. In my class the Valentine twins, Bernice Bearston, Linda Harper, Jeffrey Fisher plus I remember the other boys you mention. I also remember getting punched in the stomach by a Gerald! I think the last name was Blue? Not sure, memories fade into one another re early school names etc. However, faces – I see them all. I live in Los Angeles – see my website (sculptor/painter)…. http://www.eviemarlin.com... Always hated the name Yvonne – last name now Marlin. Husband Int’l Tax Lawyer, one daughter – actress – has recently appeared in Hawaii Five O and Magnum P.I. coincidence both in Hawaii. Emigrated to U.S.A. at age 20. Was a voracious reader – most contemporary and/or other American novels….so decided to go ‘on the road’ with Jack Kerouac. Best thing I could have done. After SW went on to N.Ken Central – one of only a handful of Jews there – an eye opener, to say the least. From there to Holland Park Comprehensive. Remember all the SW teachers. Much preferred Head Mr. Mendoza – Somper = a spiteful man. I remember, after being put outside the classroom door, (I was somewhat of a minor brat) a few times, Somper calling my mother in and being extremely rude to her. This no doubt due to the fact that my family was on the lower rungs of the ‘class/wealth scale’ in his books. Was it Mrs. Gottlieb who would hit us with a knotted bamboo cane? Who would get away with that now I wonder. If you want to go to FB – I know Social Media! …..you can see my photos etc. I am somewhat of a political commentator these days. All the best from sunny Los Angeles. Evie Marlin

    • Alan Carmel says:

      Hi Gerry
      I do remember you.
      It is great just reading all the names from my childhood, and thinking of those great times we had, Phil Zec and I playing marbles on the drain. We now have dinner together with our
      wives, and I play golf with Andre Douek at my local golf club.
      We lived in Maxilla Gardens and I remember watching the police dig up the garden at 10
      Rillington Place, my worked in the barbers in Ladbroke Grove where he cut Christie’s and
      Evans hair !!
      I have mentioned a few times on this site about not having any school photos!!!!!!
      Would love to see some of them from 1949 to 1956
      Best. alancarmel07@gmail.com

      • Gerry says:

        Hi Alan,
        Every now and again I bump into Andre, mainly at Pinner Shul on Yom Kippur. I also remember playing marbles and conkers of course. I’m afraid no photos, if you ever get hold of any would be interested in seeing them
        Kind regards
        Gerry

    • Evie Marlin. www.eviemarlin.com says:

      Hi there: Evie Marlin – nee Yvonne Herman here. Was in class with Valentine twins, B. Bearston, Elizabeth Harvey, Jeffrey Fisher, Roy Kemp et al. Shall continue if you remember me.

    • AlanCarmel says:

      Hi Graham, Alan here,I remember you and your parents very well, our fathers were barbers and I remember your father lost a finger after a hair got under his skin
      You lived in Highlever rd the other side of the roundabout to us,
      Our parents were friends and socialised a lot
      Hope you and your family are well
      Regards
      Alan

      • Graham Caine says:

        Hi Alan. Life is good thanks. Good to hear from you. I remember you lived at the little Scrubs end of Highlever Road. I wasn’t aware that your dad was a barber as well but I remember (i think) that you and your wife had a hairdressers in St Helens Gardens?
        Best wishes
        Graham

    • AlanCarmel says:

      Hi Gerry Would love to hear from you ?do you have any photos ?
      alancarmel07@gmail.com, allthgebest Alan

  29. David Grant says:

    I was at Solomon Wolfson around 1963, and remember Mr Somper. I lived in Willesden my name before was David Goorwich.

    • jo lack says:

      I do remember you. I was Josephine Silverstone. I have been watching Professor John Newton in the virus updates and wonder if he is the John Newton from our class.

  30. Bronwen Price says:

    Hi everyone, my name is Bronwen Price, and I’ve just spent a couple of very enjoyable hours reading all your memories of Solomon Wolfson.
    I was 6yrs old when I joined SWJS in 1961 at the same time as my brother and sister (Shan and Morgan are twins a year younger), the youngest Owen joined us ’65. I spent my 1st school year at Fox’s School where I was very unhappy but I have wonderful memories of SWJS. I passed my 11’plus in 1966 and went on to Holland Park, the “new comprehensive” which had just opened.
    We lived at 45 Talbot Grove around the corner from the school and were among the few gentile pupils at Solomon Wolfson.
    My father Ron Price sent us there because my mam (Hanna) had strong childhood memories of Jewish family connections in Poland. For this reason, we always felt we had the benefit of both “worlds” and would happily celebrate Shabbat on Friday nights/Saturdays, and sing hymns at church on Sundays.
    My grandparents, Mog and May Price, owned a grocery-cum-general store (Price and Son) on St Marks Road. It was a poor neighbourhood, but a fantastic multi-cultural, varied ethnic and diverse religious community to grow up in! I recall we had a lovely Trinidadian piano teacher called Mr. Prince.
    I remember Mr Somper and his ominous pipe aroma very well. Also, Mrs Levine and I think Mrs Walker too, but the other teachers have faded in memory. I don’t think i learnt a great deal academically, but I do remember drama, dance and music with great pleasure. Also of being sent to Mr Somper for a “telling off” because I got caught with a novel tucked inside my geography text book,
    My brother Morgan once got a caning from Mr Somper for fighting with some boys. And… so the story goes…. Mrr Somper told dad that while he didn’t condone pupils fighting, he acknowledged our family loyalty (my sister and I had jumped into the fray to “help out”). We liked Mr Somper because we felt he was firm but just. I have no bad memories of Solomon Wolfson School, only memories of hazy lazy happy days, and a legacy of loving drama, dance, music and literature to this day!!!

  31. school1949 says:

    Hello everyone
    To start, please forgive my poor English!
    I was seven years old, in 1949, when I entered the Solomon Wolfson jewish school, which I left late 1950 for Israel.
    I found in an old trunk a small children book “ the caravan goes west” a label inside on which is written: “Presented to Pierre Pollaschek by Isaac Wolfson Esq. on the occasion of the wedding of his son, Leonard. November 14th 1949”
    It reminds me that I was the only frenchy of my class and suffered quite a lot being a kind of support of Napoléon against Nelson, or by extension the French government during the war, collaborator of the Germans against GB?
    Anyway I kept a good souvenir of my short passage in England, too long to detail …!
    I live now in south of France and if anyone remembers something about our past life … welcome to you!
    All the best Pierre.

  32. Arnold Carmel says:

    I have a very dim recollection of you. I, too, was 7 years old in 1949, but entered Solomon Wolfson at the age of 5. I hope life has been good for you.
    Shalom

  33. Chloe Smith ( nee Kay ) says:

    Hello, I was a Lime Grove pupil in the late 50’s. Here are a few names I remember, and would love to know what happened to them all. Please forgive me if I spell your names wrong. Ann Spitzer, Frances Wine, Rachelle Stock,Valerie Kito, Ruth Thompson, Maureen Connerly, Elaine Daniels,Barbara Z……….,perhaps one of you remember her surname, plus me, Chloe Kay at the time, now Smith. I recall a couple of our teachers, Mrs Montgomery Baird, Mrs Mar, and a gentleman who’s name escapes me who taught us manuscript writing . All such a long time ago, would love to hear from any of you, and maybe those who remember me,
    Best wishes to you all, Chloe

    • Rachelle says:

      Hello Chloé its Rachelle , I still live -partially -near banbury..as you did at one time …we used to bump into each other at Deddingtonmarket if I recall correctly.I am still great friends with Valerie(Kitto) and Lynda (Butcher) they both live in Essex and I see them often. Barbara Zimmerman (same surname as Bob Dylan) no contact with but would love to know what happened to her and as for Frances Wine I think she moved to America years ago, she was my best friend at the time. Mr Kennerly was the Art teacher… strangely his daughter taught me when I was at St Martins doing fashion .Mrs Miller who also taught art and a great influence on us. We loved Mary Boone never a day went by without uproarious laughter ….great that it was all girls.
      By the way way one of my daughters -I have two -is called Chloé always liked the name ..shes 48!!

  34. Leonard Sugarman says:

    I attended Solomon Wolfson Jewish School, 1946 to 1951.Some memorable moments were the ‘iceball fight in the freezing winter of 1947 with the next door boys school and the very long diagonal ice slide across the playground. Mr Mendoza took a selected class, in a little room at the top of the building, for maths and geometry. A few of us used to long distance run around the school, within the playgrounds throughout the whole of lunchtime. We used to sneak out of school and play cowboys and Indians in the shrubbery further up Ladbroke Grove in the communal gardens of the terraced buildings. Infamously I had learned that metal twin pointed staples flighted better in a strong elastic hand held catapult than the flight of paper pellets: I stupidly fired one ( among many) in the playground and it stuck in a boys neck ( accident-bad shot!) I was caned by Mr Mendoza, on the hands, on the stage, in front of the whole school assembly- many tears and shame. There was a reunion of pupils and Mr Mendoza , at the school premises, very early 1980s. There was lots of ‘do you remember me from ex pupils?’ Mr Mendoza did not remember the caning but he did like the fact that I recalled the special math class.

    • Linda Allery says:

      Hi Leonard, I wonder if you knew any of the Forbes children who lived on Southam Street, NK. I know my uncle David Carl Forbes b1936 attended Solomon Wolfson Jewish School in 1947. He had brothers Paul Winwood Forbes b1935 (my father) and John Roosevelt Forbes b1938. Paul and David were both very artistic. David went on to do fish illustrations in fishing magazines and wrote a number of fishing books. My father Paul won a scholarship to the Royal Academy of Art.

  35. Leonard Sugarman says:

    A short while after having left Solomom Wolfson my dad sent me around the corner from Oxford gardens to the corner of Rillington Place ( Christies murders!) to purchase a pack of ‘fags’. It was the same evening that I had noticed in the Daily Mirror that the police were looking for him-Christie- for questioning about some bodies found in his house. I was really frightened.

  36. Leonard Sugarman says:

    A few of us did used to go to the rear of the Royalty cinema and occasionally sneak in through the fire exit door. When we were finally discovered and chased out we never returned except to go to the pictures with grandma and cousins with our packages of jam sandwiches. When sweets came off coupons we went to Maynards sweet shop in Ladbroke Grove and spent our pennies on sticks of barley sugar and did our teeth no good at all!

  37. Ted Burton says:

    Lovely views and recollections of life at Solomon Wolfson Jewish school.. I would think pretty strict as were other schools at the time. Contributors said how much they enjoyed their time at the school, The view that it closed because of falling local Jewish residents also interesting.Question now , why were the Jewish people leaving the N/K area ? , if I’m fact they were.Some comments on our NH/NK seem to suggest mixed opinions about enjoyment or not at other local denomination schools. On reflection I enjoyed my time at school. St Andrews and St Phillips junior and Brunel Sec’Modern. Thanks for the info, remember the school very well.

    • Jeni Parkes says:

      Hi does anyone remember Elizabeth Urwin she lived on Everington street?
      She’s my mum and is now suffering from Dementia.

  38. Gavin Hughes says:

    The sweetshop in Ladbroke Grove was called Maynards. My Mum would sometimes let my Sister and I get a quarter of our favourite sweets but halfpenny pick and mix from the newsagents worked out cheaper. When Maynards closed the shop became a branch of The Woolwich bank and building society.
    Both my Mum and Nan worked in Isaac Newton school and when I was born my family and my Nan lived in flats in Lancaster Road. Mum & Nan were bombed out of two houses in Portobello Road during The Blitz before moving to Lancaster Road and family was still there until my Uncle died in 2005.
    I remember watching Carnival which used to go past my Nan’s house in Lancaster Road until the Police took over Isaac Newton following one of the riots.
    The area has changed so much but the happy memories remain

  39. Carol Perkins says:

    My Dad was a teacher at the Issac Newton school in the 1950s his name was Oscar Almeida

    • john Taylor says:

      I very much remember Mr Almeida, He taught our class metalwork in a very well equipped metal shop. you must be proud because he was a brilliant teacher and was a great influence in my future career ..all a very long time ago now as I shall be 80 years old this week

      • Carol perkins says:

        It’s lovely that you should remember my dad . He was very talented. He made lots of lovely things which I still have and I love going to portobello road market and always think of him when I’m there

  40. John Taylor says:

    Having left a brief memory of Mr almeida I thought that others would then come back with other stories, as that hasn’t happened I feel I should say more. As I mentioned before Mr Almeida taught our class metalwork in a workshop adjoining the woodwork section the new building .I can’t remember the name of the woodwork teacher but he was a man of extreme self belief and told us that he was the best carpenter in London, why he felt the need to talk to a bunch of pubescent boys in this way is beyond me but he certainly got me going because I told him that my Dad was better than him (My Dad was actually a great cabinet maker). not the best way to endear yourself to your teacher maybe . Anyway to Mr Almeida ,I can’t speak more highly of him and when I was a father myself to three boys ,my experiences with their schooling and their teachers made me once again so aware how special he was. He was a teacher who led by example and in no time us lads became aware that he was seriously talented and soon our spotty bunch were all trying our best to acquire the skills he demonstrated and to be able to use tools accurately and work on our projects, he very cleverly let us design anything that interested us knowing of course that we would then put in maximum effort. (one boy by the name of Peter Ashford decided he wanted to make a large Bowie Knife ) something that today wouldn’t get past the proposal stage . A good example of how we enjoyed his classes was the fact that he had to chase us away at the end as we were all reluctant to leave. what discipline there was was always proportionate and when you think that his class was a bunch of teenagers let loose on powerful machine tools the responsibility on him was
    enormous .
    Yes Carol you really must be so proud of your dad .
    John Taylor

    • Carol Perkins says:

      Thank you so much for your comments. It is so lovely to hear all this . He was a popular teacher throughout his career and went on to be a lecturer at Trent Park teacher training college where he was also very popular . My brother learnt a lot from him and I went along to his evening classes for a short while and learnt some of the basics and made a few things I was only about 17 at the time and didn’t carry it on but my brother and I both have a creative streak but our dad was fantastic. He always made his own Christmas cards every year on his etching press using the traditional methods . Im also very proud to say that my dad never raised his voice to me once ,he didn’t need to , he was firm but kind and always good fun . He had a very mischievous side too.
      I certainly am proud of him.

      Carol Perkins

  41. Diane says:

    Oh my. Thank you so much for this memory. I went to Solomon Wolfson School from 1962-1965. I lived across the road 162 Lancaster Rd. I have now realised at the grand age of 66 why I see the months in a circle and days if the week in an oblong reading backwards. Absolutely fascinating as I never knew why I did this.

Leave a comment