LATIMER ROAD LAUNDRIES AND SHOPS

Before the Motorway was built, Latimer Road ran all the way from North Pole Road south towards Shepherd’s Bush. It was a familiar walking route for those in North Kensington, ending at Norland Market which ran to the junction of Norland Road and Holland Park Avenue. In the early half of the century at the northern end there were many laundries. For many years Pilgrim Payne was the only surviving laundry/dry cleaning business, but they too recently moved to new premises away from North Kensington.

 Image

Above: Latimer Road (northern end, looking towards North Pole Road) circa 1900 (NK Community Archive)

Image

Drawing : The Laundries along Latimer Road in the 1920s (drawn by Audrey Jones)

Memories of Latimer Road as remembered by Mary Osborn whose family owned several laundries in the area.

Eynham House Laundry was quite a large building adjoining the red brick terrace of houses built, I believe, by a Mr. Eyles. It was owned by G&B Osborn (George and Bess), George’s father and mother. They were married in January 1903, so I presume that was when the business started in one of the houses facing the “Latimer” public house. It was eventually carried on by George, Frank, Elsie and Henry (always called Sonny).

Between Eynham House and Oxford Gardens were two other laundries, as I recall, one owned by Bill Osborn, father of Willie, Ernie, Eva and the other owned by Tom Osborn, father of Tommy and Ivy and there might have been another brother. All these Osborns lived in Highlever Road in houses which backed on to their laundries.

Further up Latimer Road, just before the “North Pole” was another Osborn owned laundry, I think it was called Osborn House but I’m not sure. I can’t remember the father’s name but one son who died very young, was called Henry. I think there was another brother also.

Bill, Tom and the owner of this laundry were all brothers, but George was a cousin.

Also there was Hatton’s, the laundry suppliers which was subsequently taken over by Harvey’s.

On the corner opposite the “North Pole”, was a receiving shop for the Lechlade laundry but I have no idea where the actual laundry was.

On the other side of Latimer Road, facing Oxford Gardens, there was a tiny shop called ” Little Wonder” which sold sweets etc. Further up on that side was a rather scruffy shop which my father always called “Dolly Fitchett’s”. I believe that was also a sweet shop but I never went in it.

Image

Above : Dovell’s on the corner of Latimer Rd and Walmer Rd, NKCA

On the corner of Latimer Road and Oxford Gardens was St.Helen’s School and on the corner of Latimer Road and Walmer Road was a small general shop called Dovell’s.

Just before you got to Snarsgate Street was the Post Office where I was taken to open my first Savings Account. I remember it was run by a woman with her hair done up in plaits wound round her ears!

Edited by Audrey Jones

 

cb-styles-shop-copy

246 Latimer Road in 1903

 The above photo was sent in by Ray Styles, whose great uncle was the proprietor, C.B.Styles.

9c42c278-7ac0-445f-a94b-d07fdfa3ebfd

Edwin Curtice outside his scrapyard. Photo from Paul Curtice.

Charabanc on Latimer Road. photo: Bill Heyburn.

Victory Party Latimer Road. photo: Bill Heyburn

This entry was posted in St Quintin Park and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

160 Responses to LATIMER ROAD LAUNDRIES AND SHOPS

  1. tillyandtimy says:

    Hi Sharon just seen your post. I remember you and your family well. Your dad jum was very good to me and my brother David. I remember the birthday parties. Do you remember the time David rolled a cabbage up your mum’s hallway. He got into a lot of trouble. I will try and post some old pics in the next couple of weeks. It is nice to reminisce about the good old days. Stay safe and stay in touch. Linds

  2. Julie says:

    Hello, I have just seen on the 1921 Census that my great uncle Patrick Bousfield worked as a van guard for The Globe Laundry, does anyone know anything about this particular laundry please?

    • Sharon Aldridge says:

      Hi Linda, thank you so much for replying yes they were such happy days yes I do remember the cabbage🤣 I also remember the time that my mum Elsie remembered when you both used to come to my birthday parties David climbed up the curtain I think something must have made him jump my mum could not stop laughing. Yes my dad Jum was a good man everyone liked him he was always helping people I always think of him and miss him there should be more like he was I remember making cakes with you and few others in my mum’s top kitchen then mum would take them up to your house on a tray do you remember that. I often walk down Latimer road and think of those happy times the roads changed alot since then we don’t live far from Latimer road .would love to stay in touch. Take care Sharon.

  3. Elliott Barnes says:

    Hi All,

    Can anyone shed some more light on mauds up shop please, maid was my wife’s grandmother. Maid and peters son David is her father. That grew up separated and she wished to make contact. David Peter James of this is helpful. I could only find that the property had been sold in 2007. Any help would be much appreciated and any backstories are most welcome

    Kind regards

    Elliott

  4. Sharon Aldridge says:

    Hi Linda, hope that you are well, do you remember the time David climbed up the curtain in our back bedroom it was at one of my birthday parties mum could not stop laughing I remember him rolling the cabbage up our hallway yes my dad was a good man always helping people so nice that you remember him helping keep in touch. Sharon🙂

  5. I have been wondering if anyone knows what has happened to Linda Stickly and her brother David she replied to my post in July 2021 and she was going to post some old photos of Latimer road on the site but she never did and that was the last I heard of her they were good childhood friends I do hope that they are in good health.

Leave a comment