Fowell Street

There has been a trail of comments on the blog (see posts on Coronation Day Street Parties and 1966 and all that- the Demolition of Walmer Road) regarding a chapel on Fowell St. Researching recently for photographs of Lancaster Road at RBKC Local Studies, I found these photographs taken in 1969.

Fowell Street looking north 1969

Fowell Street looking north 1969

Fowell Street east side 1969.KCCHG.

Fowell Street east side 1969

Fowell Street west side 22-  1969

Fowell Street west side 22- 1969

Fowell Street ran south from Lancaster Road,  almost opposite the old Silchester Baths,  running parallel with Walmer Road. It was later demolished along with all the surrounding streets such as Bomore Road, Dulford Street and Grenfell  Road to make way for the Lancaster West Estate and the Kensington New Pools (not very aptly named since it is now being rebuilt!).

Fowell Street west side with Bramley Hall Mission 1969

Fowell Street west side with Bramley Hall Mission 1969

With thanks to RBK&C Local Studies for the photographs.

I found the following information about the chapel in an online text at http://www.gutenberg.org

THE CHURCH INDEX:

A Book of 
Metropolitan Churches and Church Enterprise.

by the Rev William Pepperell. Published in 1872

PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL, FOWELL-STREET, NOTTING-HILL.

A small plain brick edifice, built in the old familiar Grecian style, and situated in Fowell Street, in the Potteries, Notting Hill. The building is square; and has in the interior on three sides a gallery, the other being occupied

A small plain brick edifice, built in the old, familiar Grecian style, and situated in Fowell Street, in the Potteries, Notting-hill.  The building is a square; and has in the interior on three sides a gallery, the other being occupied with a platform for the preacher.  In all, ground floor and galleries, there is accommodation for about 200 people.  On a memorial stone outside is the following: “This stone was laid August 2, 1864, by J. Fowell, Esq., who kindly gave the land, Rev. J. Phillips, Superintendent Minister.  J. Carrud, Architect and Builder.”  The chapel is connected with what is called the “Second London” Primitive Methodist Circuit…………………..

The Primitives are poor, their chapels are of the least costly kind, and their ministers have barely a subsistence, yet are they highly respectable in their order, and exert themselves with vigour and enthusiasm in their calling.  One of the junior ministers, the Rev. Mr. Knipe, was officiating in Fowell-street, and offered extempore prayer with an ardour, read with a homely emphasis, and preached with a demonstration of manner that can seldom be heard except in a Primitive Methodist chapel.  His congregation consisted of about 70 or 80 of the adult population, respectable-looking poor people, by no means the lowest class to be found in the Potteries……………. There is a Sunday-school with about 80 children, held in the morning and afternoon.  The services are on Sunday at 11 a.m. and 6.30 p.m.; Wednesday, 7 p.m.; prayer-meetings, Sunday morning at 7, and on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday evenings at 7.  The society, according to Methodist custom, contributes its quota towards the support of the ministry by the weekly pence of the members, quarterly contributions, and collections.

Audrey Jones, whose family have been members of the Lancaster Road Methodist Church recalls that her grandmother attended the Fowell Street Church when she first came to London from Norfolk, where she had been a Primitive Methodist. This was around 1900.  Audrey has told me that the various Methodist Churches all united together in the 1930s, so presumably that is when the chapel probably ceased to be Methodist.

In the 1950 Street Directory the building is called  the Christian Community Mission (Bramley Hall). The photo above,  taken in 1969 refers to it as Bramley Hall Mission.  So any more information – let us know.

Next posting will be about Lancaster Cross, where Walmer Road, Lancaster Road, Clarendon Road and  Silchester Road all converged -including Kensington / Silchester Baths and Laundry. If you want your memories to be included send them to Sue at

northkenstories@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

This entry was posted in Before the Westway, Streets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

157 Responses to Fowell Street

  1. Len says:

    Many Thanks for the Photographs I’m sure everyone will be please and happy to see them …
    Len

    • Geraldine moore says:

      Great to see photos at last does anyone remember who lived there I lived at 20 and can remember the seers Coles curds murphys balflours struttons imms Morris benches mcgowns to name a few happy days ,,

      • Ray From Sally Ray From Sally says:

        Hello. My nan lived at number 10 fowell St. My mum was ada seers. She had a sister penny. 3 brothers tom. Roy & Brian. I spent many holidays there with my nan and grandad. I used to help the men at the tyre yard at the end of the road. Used to come home black as the tyres. Then had tin bath in the front room. Happy days

      • Seers family says:

        Ray your mum had five brothers and on sister – George, Len, Tom, Roy, Brian and Penny.

      • Will Murphy says:

        I was born in the Middle Front Room of No. 12, Fowell Street, where a total of 8 children (7 of my siblings) took their first breath of Life, in that same room. I remember well the families you mention and quite a few besides. We were eventually rehoused in December, 1970 when the area was to be redeveloped and I was to gain my first ever inside Loo and a Bathroom, at the age of 20! No more Silchester Road Public Baths (always and only ever referred to as ‘The Barves.’) Happy Days? Not really, but as a kid, carefree days.

      • Tony Ardis says:

        Hi Will,

        This is Tony Ardis lived No 1 Fowell Street. Good friend with your brother Tommy,
        Can you tell me how he`s doing and pass on a hello message from me if poss (happy days).

        Tony.

      • Will Murphy says:

        Hi Tony,
        I remember you and your Brother Alex well. For some reason I have always associated the Everly Brother song ‘Cathy’s Clown’ with you and my Brother Tom around the time it was a hit.

        Tom is doing fine, the odd medical bits and pieces you’d associate with age. It’s not been an easy life for Tommy, had a couple of huge personal losses.

        He retired recently from Royal Mail and now lives in High Wycombe. Of course I’ll pass on your Best Wishes to him Tony. I hope all is well with you and yours.

        Best Regards,

        Will.

      • Tony Ardis says:

        Thanks for info Will, are you on Facebook? if you or Tommy are you could find my wife Anne Ardis if you want become her friend then i can contact you via this.

        Tony.

      • Will Murphy says:

        Hi Tony,

        Tommy don’t do Facebook, but I do. I’ll send your Wife a Friends request when I’m next on there. Best you let her know!

        Chat soon,

        Will.

      • Tony Ardis says:

        Thanks Will.
        Tony.

      • ray long says:

        Hi Will, thanks for the reply. Also my relatives lived in Fowell Street, my nan/ grandad, uncles Len, Tom, Roy, Brian, aunt Penny. Ada was my mum, Tom and Kath with their children next to the tyre yard, my cousins Margaret and Tina lived across the road from my nans house.

      • Kim Bowden says:

        My gran father lived in 20 and my grandfather live in 3 in the very early 1900 ‘s .

      • raymond long says:

        hi kim, my name is ray long, ada seers was my mum

      • Janette Hyatt says:

        I am related to the Curd family from North Kensington – My nan was Florence.

      • Ray says:

        Hello janette.
        My name is ray long my mum was ada seers.

      • Ray says:

        My nan and grandad sears lived at no 10 fowell street

      • Pamela says:

        My grandparents lived at 20, and 21 Fowell Street and were married 12/08/1922 They were Lily Hickman and William Frederick Honey, they were in their early 20’s.

      • Leon oclee says:

        Oclee has Denise & Leon at number 17

      • raymond long says:

        Hello leon.
        My mum was ada seers. My cousins lived across the road and uncle tom & kath lived next door to the tyre yard

    • When I stayed at my nan and grandads house in Rowell St. I sometimes helped out at the true yard. Came back as black as the tryes. Then tin bath in front of the fire. Happy days

  2. Julia Hotton says:

    Great to see the photos particularly the one showing the east side of Fowell Street which shows the back entrance to the undertakers – EH Napier and Sons. This was my grandfather’s business at 157 Lancaster Road.

    • Cy says:

      Hello Julia…Ive just been talking to my cousin about your mail above…Do any of your family know Peggy who lived with her Aunt Florence Nelson, pre.war time and after, at number 11 Fowell St. Apparently she used to play hide and seek with one of the Napier children in and out of the new coffins. She was great friends with them and they spent much time together. The Family Nelson had lived at no 11 since the 1900’s…Number 11 was previously owned from by the Family Coleman who were also related to the Nelsons by marriage.

      • Julia Hotton says:

        Hi Cy, I have spoken to my mum who was Marilyn Napier and she remembers playing with Peggy Hoath. She said she lived with her aunt downstairs and the Norris family had the other two floors. They lost touch in their teens. Julia

      • Cy says:

        Hello again Julia….(Hotton) Have just phoned my cousin and, if your mother is willing, she would very much like to get in touch with her. I dont think there are private mail facilities on here (that I know of) so we would have to think of a way to exchange email address to give out contact information. I could open a temporary mail address for this process if you like.. What do you think? Looking forward to hearing from you after you have spoken to your mother. Best regards..Cy.

      • Clare says:

        Hello, my grandmother Lydia May Holden lived at 10 Fowell Street in 1911

    • gpm1963 says:

      Hello I know thus post is old but I hope some one remembers my family.
      They lived at Number 6. Originally my great grandparents the Hills before 1901 and later my grandparents George and Rose Norris, they had 3 children David,Betty and later Sylvia. My great uncle also lived with them at some stage. I’m researching my family tree and my uncle Alfred Hill was always dirty and he apparently worked with rags. Any thoughts on what he did locally would be helpful. I know my nan worked at the laundry there.

      • Leslie says:

        Hi my Nan’s brother Alfred Hills was a rag and bone man 😊👍

      • gpm1963 says:

        Hi Leslie Alfred Hills was my nans brother too. What is your nans name? We called Alfred uncle elf because he was only 4ft 7 tall. He was a very kind man .

      • gpm1963 says:

        Leslie I’ve just checked my family tree info and it seems we have the same great grand parents.
        George and Emma Martha Eliza Hill.

      • raymond long says:

        My nan and grandad were the seers family my mum was ada seers

      • Leslie says:

        Hello Cousin that was my Nan’s parents 😊

      • gpm1963 says:

        Hi again I’m guessing your nan was my nans sister then,they
        We’re mostly named after flowers. Mine was Rose.
        I have some paperwork on Emma, if you are interested perhaps you can contact me directly somehow.

      • Leslie says:

        Hi yes where do you live ???? I’m in NW London

      • Leslie says:

        Hi good morning I would like to exchange our information and photos etc. not sure how to contact on this site ????

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Gill are you on messenger ????? regards Leslie

      • Sylvie rising says:

        Hi
        My name is Sylvia
        My parents were George and Rose Norris (ne Hill)
        You are saying they are your grandparents???
        I have no knowledge of a Lesley
        Perhaps you can inform me of your parents names please to shed some light on this
        I remember my Uncle Alf well he lived with us

      • Leslie says:

        Hi good morning is (gpm1963) that I was conversing with yesterday ???

      • Leslie says:

        Hi my Nans maiden name was Caroline Daisy Hill her parents were George Charles Hill and Emma Eliza Hill , nee Young , my Dad also lived at number six and number three Fowell Street Notting Dale for a short time 😊

      • Pamela says:

        Hello

        My grandparents lived at 20 and 21 Fowell Street. Honey, and Hickman, early 1900’s, I wonder if anyone knows of them?

        Regards

        Pam

      • gpm1963 says:

        Hi Leslie
        Sylvie is my aunt , and we both know of aunt Daisy your nan.

      • Leslie says:

        Hi I am also collating my family tree history , i have just come back from Ireland and found out loads of new information 😊

      • Leslie says:

        Hi I am also collating my family tree history , i have just come back from Ireland and found out loads of new information 😊 kind regards Leslie

      • Leslie says:

        Hi GPM1963 would you like to exchange information and photos if so drop me a message kind regards Leslie.

  3. As a child I barely noticed the Church/Mission building as I passed through Fowell Street many times a day. Now as both a pensioner and a Christian I am so glad to know it was there all those years for us.
    Napiers I knew all to well, and used them to bury both my parents. The day I buried my dad I left Notting Hill and didn’t return for 25 years!
    Thank you for your work on this history, our history project!

  4. roger doogan says:

    i rember all of them , i lived next door to the imms . we were top floor on ground floor were the curds.

  5. jennie patterson says:

    I remember a Rita Curd from the 1950’s.

  6. Edmond Franck says:

    I was born in no18 Fowell st in 1924. My father was a Belgian refugee from the first w war. My mother used to make toffee apples for the poor kids. She would open her downstairs window and leave them to help them selves. Next door lived the Downs. The youngest fell off the back wall and died. The house owner was Mr & Mrs Thurston, they lived on the top floor with their daughter Nora. The rent was five shillings a week. I also remember the stable at top of st catching fire and the horse screaming trying to get out. We moved out in 1931. The man came round regular and mother would give two jam jar and I’d get a ride on his roundabout on the back of horse cart.

  7. Clare says:

    Hello – so lovely to have found these pictures. My nan lived at 10 Fowell Street – Lydia (Lill) Holden. I’d love to hear any stories you have of this road and the people living there.

  8. Anthony Ardis says:

    Hi,

    We lived next to Napier`s rear entrance at No1 Fowell Street (Ardis family 3 boys Phil/Alex/Tony)
    anyone remember the tyre yard opposite the mission,and playing cricket/football/sticks etc in the street and ooh for a bag of Messer`s chips followed by a Mancini ice cream.

    Great fond memories of childhood thanks for photo`s.

    Tony.

    • roger doogan says:

      yes i rember all that. we lived 2 doors up from tyre yard top floor.

      • Ray From Sally Ray From Sally says:

        Hi roger. If you lived 2 doors away from the true yard . you must have known my nan. ( seers ) my mum ada . and the rest of the seers family

  9. Ray From Sally Ray From Sally says:

    I meant tyre yard.

  10. marco Barry says:

    Gran drove me crazy with the church, but met ruby creed fowell st happy days bazza

  11. ray says:

    hi geraldine, thanks for the reply back, i forgot about the other brothers my mum had, i dont know if it is true or not but the story is, when my uncle len got married , instead of spending time with his new wife he went fishing on the afternoon of his wedding day

  12. Hallo, my name is John Boughtflower. I lived next to the Mission at number 16 with my brother Bob and sister Linda. Reading all the comments brings back lots of old memories regarding all the people that lived in Fowell st. Across the road lived Mrs Murphy Will was one of boys and two doors to the right at the top of the house going towards the tyre yard lived Roger and Alan Dogan, although they moved when I was very little. To the left of me was Mrs Morris and next to them was the Coles, I can remember Norman and Brian, Brian more so as I used to walk to school with him and Michael Stratton. Unfortunately, Norman died recently. Does anyone remember the dad Sam who sometimes parked his horse and cart outside the house with his nose bag on while he had a cup of tea? Ivy Cheese who was my aunt had the top two rooms in the Coles house and lived there with her son Barry who used to rent the old garage to the left of the Mission for his motorbike. Next to the Coles was the Curds – Albie and David who later went to Australia and let’s not forget who lived above them the Peels, Lil and Derick on the same side of the st I’m getting semi vacant” the Sanfords – the Gentreys Ronnie and Peter and of course last but not least, Bulls the sweet shop. On the other side of the street at the tyre yard end at number 15 was Michael Thomas and his sister whose name may have been Bernadette. Anyway the next house was number 14 where my aunt Doll and uncle Arthur who has Curd as a last name also ? Yes he and Albie Curd were brothers. Also the Dogans lived above them. At 13 lived Mrs Nel Cotton who from memory who was quite a character, her grandson Alec Hymns who was also Q A C. Just from memory I can remember him telling some of the kids to run around the block and the winner would get a chew, to see the winners face when he saw him smiling and already chewing. I have already spoke about Mrs Murphy whose house was next. Have some good memories of them all going hopping some summers including their nan in earlier years. l also worked with Jim Murphy for a few years in my thirties. The next house and family was Mrs Sears. I cannot remember much about her except sometimes in the summer she would sit outside Mrs Morris’s house who lived opposite on a couple of kitchen chairs eating tubs that they had got off the ice cream van. P S Brian Sears recently died. Also reading some of the blogs someone mentioned Jennie Creed unfortunately she is no longer with us. Anyway it’s nice to have so many really good memories.

    • David Curd says:

      Hi John I am David Curd who went to Australia and am reading this there. Yes we lived at 19 on the bottom floor; we were mum and dad Ruby (née Wicks) Albert, sister Christine and brothers Albie and Peter. My nan Mrs Wicks lived at 15 when I was little. My uncle Arthur and aunt Doll Curd lived in 14 with their children Rita Arthur and Janet. Great to read these stories.

      • John Boughtflower says:

        Hello David I remember you very well your aunt dolls daughter Rita has moved near me which is near Bogner Regis . I live in Selsey Bill which is 12 miles from Bogner but my brother Bob lives just around the corner from Rita and my brothers wife and Rita go to bingo every week and are really lucky they have had some good wins. If you want to contact Rita yourself she is on Facebook her married name is Rita Donnally I think that’s how you spell it JohnBoughtflower no16 Fowell st next to the mission Notting Hill W11 saying really nice to hear from you hope we can type again soon PS-I think you’ve still got some of my toy soldiers

      • Janette Hyatt says:

        Hi David, just came across this site – I am related to the Curd family from North Ken. My nan Florence Curd moved from Latimer Road to Carpenters Park, Herts. Obv she died years ago but I still have some wonderful memories from that time in London.

      • Leon Oclee says:

        Hi David Leon used to live in number 17 living in West Sussex now remember playing football outside your house If I remember there was a terrible fire in your place But it was a long time ago hope your all doing well.

      • Albert Vickers says:

        Im Albert, Albie Vickers. Im sure I joined the TA with Albert Curd at one Time, Anyway laugh with me or at me if I got it wrong. It was 324 Field Sqdn, Royal Engineers on the Uxbridge Rd. && now living in Malaga east!

    • Rising says:

      Just found this site.
      I was born in Fowell Street 1947, my older brother was David Norris, my sister Betty who was friendly with Shirley Cheese
      Our doctor was Dr Laurie. I think we lived at number 6

  13. roger doogan says:

    Hi John don’t now if you remember me and my brother Alan, Tony we lived top floor of no14 doll and Arthur, little Arthur and Rita we’re on ground floor. I think we used to sit on the wall of the chapel by your house. Regards roger

    • John Boughtflower says:

      Hello Roger
      Yes I do Remember you and your brother
      after all this time I also remember your mum
      Gloria if my memory is right and you moved
      into the white block of flats at the top of
      Ladbroke Grove opposite Hamrax the bike shop
      that’s as far as I can go memory wise
      It’s nice to hear from you again
      and I hope Alan’s ok and well and maybe
      we can talk again soon and you can tell me
      we’re you ended up as Fowell st went to the
      5 winds when it was demolished
      I look forward to our next chat if you’re
      up for it,
      John

      • Laura says:

        Hello john just wanted to know was you related to a annie boughtflower married name wise

      • raymond long says:

        Hi Laura,
        I’m Ray Long, my mum was Ada Sears my nan and grandad lived in Fowell street with the rest of the family. I used to stay a lot when the school holidays was on for 6 weeks, and a few more of the family lived in the same street. Margaret and Tina are my cousins who lived across the road. I sometimes helped at the tyre yard, used to come back as black as the tyres, then into the tin bath in the front room. Happy day.

      • John Boughtflower says:

        Laura l can’t answer your question as there’s not enough people
        left to ask but if l find anything out l will let you know

  14. Ray Styles says:

    My great great Grandmother lived at No.1 and No.6 Fowell Street around 1875-1887. Her name was Eliza Styles (Lindsay) and her lodgers paid 4 shillings and sixpence a week rent.

    • Valerie Robinson says:

      Hi Ray, my maiden name was Styles and I know my Granddad Harry Styles was born in Fowell Street in1886. His father was Charles Bryan Styles and his wife was Eliza. I was born in 11 Rillington Place and now live in Wiltshire. Looks like we share the same great grandmother.

      • raymond long says:

        hello valerie, thank you for that ,do you have any more information please, i would like to learn more about our relatives, take care, ray

      • Ray Styles says:

        Hello Valerie, do you know who Raymond Long is?
        Ray Styles

      • Valerie Robinson says:

        Hi Ray, I have no idea who he is, do you think he might be related to us?

      • Ray Styles says:

        No idea but he thinks he is! Are you on Ancestry as I have a fairly large tree but I am always looking for more input eg photos of family etc
        Ray

      • Valerie Robinson says:

        Hi Ray, no I am not on Ancestry, this is all new to me, I had to really pluck up courage to do my first post. Will you tell me a bit about your side of the family please so I can have a go at the family tree. Val.

      • Ray Styles says:

        Hi Valerie, I’d be delighted, are you on email? I don’t want to clog up the blog site. I will write with as much as I know. Ancestry charge £13.95 per month subscription but we subscribe for a few months at a time when there’s something else to follow up.
        Ray ps I am at ravestyles@hotmail.co.uk

      • Will Murphy says:

        Hi Valerie,

        You’ll find lots of contact comments on here from and for Ray Long. His relations were the Sears around No.17 Fowell Street among others.

      • raymond long says:

        hello ray long here, a message was left here for me saying that we share the same great grandparents, eliza and harry stiles

      • Ray Styles says:

        Hello Ray,
        If you have relations with the surname Styles who lived at either No1 or No.6 Fowell Street sometime between 1881 and 1886 then you are related to both myself and Valerie Robinson
        regards Ray Styles

  15. Lesley Jadaa says:

    My wife’s name is Lesley (nee Searson) and lived in Fulham,she was a best friend of Tina Seers who lived in Fowell Street with her mum,dad & little brother. her sister Margaret was married. They went to Mary Boon School. They lost touch in about 1974. They both worked at BOC in Hammersmith. They went on holiday to Walton-on-Naze a couple of times and Lesley & Tina went to Greece on holiday.
    If Ray Long is in touch with Tina at all can you tell her Lesley says hello and often thinks of the great times they had. We live in Lanzarote a long way from home but Lesley is still a Londoner at heart.

    • raymond long says:

      hello lesley, ray long here, thank you for the message, yes tina , margaret are my cousins, my nan and grandad lived across the road from them, not heard from them all in a very very long time now, i dont know where any of them are now living, i am in hemel hempstead, would be nice to speak to them again after all these years,
      take care,
      ray x

      • L says:

        Hi Ray have you got any old photos that you could post of Fowell street or streets nearby by ??? , was Tommy seers any relation to you ????

      • Leon oclee says:

        Hi Leon here Denise‘s brother who lives at number 17 Kerry seers is my cousin and Tina and Margaret . My Nan and grandad with a Morrises marge was my auntie who is married to George seers

      • Ray says:

        Hiya. Yes tommy seers was my uncle. He was married to kath. They had a son and daughter. Margaret & tina are my cousins. Sorry i have no photos at all of fowell street

  16. Frank Howard Clark says:

    Frank Clark
    Hi all. So good to read all these memories. I remember during bob a job week for cubs and scouts, cleaning the roof light of Napier’s. I looked through the glass to the room below and
    saw a very small coffin. I suppose I was 10 or 11 but it made quite an impression on me.
    I am trying to recall where, in relation to Napier’s Dr Laurie’s surgery was. I was there with my
    Mum when news of the Munich air crash came through.
    I lived at 200 Lancaster Road and I have to say folks we were so blessed to grow up in a
    wonderful community.
    Best wishes and thanks for the memories!
    Frank

    • Hi Frank. So good to read your comments here. Albie DOB 30th 1945. I85 Lancaster Rd.
      Now in S. Spain. Good Luck Bro!

    • Tony ardis says:

      Hi Frank,
      This is Tony Ardis lived number 1 Fowell Street next door to Napier’s garage.

      Dr Laurie’s surgery was on the corner if you look at photo of Fowell Street looking East you will see Napier’s garage with the Doctors Surgery next door hope this helps.

      All the best Tony.

      • Dave Conway says:

        Hi Tony, I lived in Silchester Rd. but was friends with you and your brother and all the others from Fowell St. back in the 50s. Hope you and Alec are keeping well.

        All the best Dave.

      • Tony Ardis says:

        Hi Dave,
        Was it your mum that used to wear white gloves?,
        Me and Alec are both well but unfortunately we lost our brother Phil a couple of years ago.
        I live in Newport Pagnell Bucks and Alec lives in Laleham near Staines.
        Good to hear from you and taking me back to those happy days when we could all play out in the street.
        Take care Tony.

      • Dave Conway says:

        My mum did have to wear gloves because of eczema problems, sorry to hear about Phil but I am struggling to remember Phil, was he older than us. Remember your nan, in I think the front room. Do you know what became of Jackie Lewis the French boy who played with us. Got some great memories of Fowell St. I was always telling my new mates when I moved to Limehouse about it.
        I live in Plumstead SE18 now
        Say hello to Alec for me. All the best Dave.

    • Leslie says:

      Hi Frank Clark great article, my grandfathers brothers married into the Clarke family, being Violet Victoria Clarke and Annie Clark two sisters from 38 Testerton Street W11 are they any relation to your family as I am trying to put together my family tree any information would be appreciated regards L.

  17. R E WHEELER says:

    Hi All ….. I’m currently researching my Family Tree and in the 1901 census it reveals that the Girling family, on my Grandma’s side, ALSO lived at no.10 Fowell Street! Fascinating! 🙂

  18. R E WHEELER says:

    It wasn’t 1901, what am I talking about! It was 1871 …….

  19. Roy Jenkins says:

    Hi, my name is Roy Jenkins and this brings back a few memories. I lived at 22 Fowell Street, my cousins lived next door. They were the Hyms family. The Cass family lived opposite who were also related. We knew and played as children with most of you, the Curds the Boughtflowers and a few more in that street. I live in Hanwell now and my mother lives in East Acton and the Cass family moved to Drayton Green. The Hyms were scattered all over. Lil Hyms lived at Paddington for years and died a few years ago now. Some of the children grew up and now live in Bishop Stortford.

    I loved it in Fowell Street as a child.

  20. Rising says:

    I was born at 6 Fowell Street in 1947, family name was Hill anyone know of them now

    • Leslie says:

      Hi just discovered this site. My grandmother and great grand parents lived at number 6 and number 3 Fowell Street. Their surname was Hill. My Father and Uncle also lived there but moved to 18 Bomore Road in 1922. Great to see these old photos of the old neighbourhood. Any more information would be greatly appreciated many thanks L.

      • ray.long1 says:

        Welcome. My grandparents also lived in Fowell street. No 9 I think. Their name was Seers. And a couple of aunts and uncles with my cousins in the same street.Sent from Samsung Mobile on O2

      • Ray says:

        Welcome.
        My grandparents i think they lived at no 9. Their name was Seers. I also had a couple of aunts and uncles with my cousins lived in the same street

      • ziggybass says:

        Hello. Almost all of Bomore Rd was destroyed by bombing during the war. from back of out house 185 Lancaster Rd down to St Clements church was wiped out. Dozens killed. It became a site for around 50 PreFabs. Thanks for your news!

      • gpm1963 says:

        Hi Leslie that’s interesting is the Ireland link connected to the Hills I always thought they were London people. Or does it relate to further back. I’ve researched but have only got so far.

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Sylvie nan’s father George was born in Northern Ireland, Belfast

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Sylvie nan’s father George was born in Northern Ireland, Belfast did you ever meet him ???

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Sylvie are you still living in London ???

    • Leslie says:

      Hi my Great Grand parents where Mr George Hill and Emma Eliza Hill from 6 Fowell Street W11

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Ray thanks for the reply i am carrying out research on my family tree at the moment and the North Kensington neighborhood, if I find any information about the Seers family I will let you know kind regards L.

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Ziggybass thanks very much for your reply i did know about the bombing of Bomore Road as my uncle George told me he was there helping people get out of there homes after they were bombed, but I didn’t know about the pre fab homes being built there many thanks L.

    • Leslie says:

      Hi Rising just discovered this site. My grandmother and great grand parents lived at number 6 and number 3 Fowell Street. Their surname was Hill. My Father and Uncle also lived there but moved to 18 Bomore Road in 1922. Great to see these old photos of the old neighbourhood. Any more information would be greatly appreciated many thanks L.

      • Ray says:

        Hiya. My mums family lived at number 10 or 11 fowell street. The name of seers

      • Sylvie says:

        Hi
        I think you have recently been in conversation with my niece Gill
        I can now place you
        My aunt daisy was your Nan I believe and a sister to my mum rose.
        Is George your father I remember a used car lot run by uncle George back in the day

      • Leslie says:

        My Dad used to run one yard and George used to run another yard 😊

      • Sylvie Rising says:

        Hi Lesley
        There was a brother Charles Hill
        Who would be your uncle
        He married a lady called Ann
        They had a son also called Charles who moved to one of the new towns Harlow I think. Hope this helps in your research
        Sylvie

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Sylvie do you still live in London. ??? ??? Perhaps we could meet up ????

      • Sylvie says:

        Hi Lesley
        No I’m not in London moved out in 1966
        Now in deepest Suffolk
        Are you on facebook

      • Leslie says:

        Hi Sylvia no but I use messenger,

      • Leslie says:

        Hi good morning Sylvie if you would like to exchange information or photos please drop me a line kind regards Leslie.

  21. DAVID WATTS says:

    Hello all,
    I have just been going through this blog and it makes really interesting reading. One thing that stands out to me is the community spirit that existed then.
    I have been reading this as I am trying to find out my family history.
    My Great Grand Father, William Watts lived at number 9 Fowell St, I know he lived there in 1915 as I have seen this in his WW1 Army history.
    I know that I had a big family and they all came from Notting Hill, Dale and Gate.
    William Watts was the son of Robert Watts, I know that William married Ellen Boyle in 1902 also Williams Brother, Henry married Ellen’s Sister Emma Boyle about the same time, Ellen and Emma’s father was William Boyle. They all lived at number 9 Fowell St. I believe that William Boyle was of Irish descent.
    William Watts had two son’s Henry (Harry) Watts and Thomas Watts, Harry Watts was my Grandfather, I think he was quite well known around Notting Hill, he died in 1963, he had three children, Frederick, Thomas and Rose.
    I don’t know if anyone would remember these people but if so I would really love to hear from them as I am trying to piece my family history together, I have found out quite a bit through Ancestry but there are a lot of blank spaces.
    My name is David Watts, I am the son of Frederick Watts.

    This blog has been very interesting reading though.

  22. Trudie Irwin (nee Pinfield) says:

    My great grandfather, William Pinfield lived at No. 18 Fowell Street back in 1871 with his mother and father, grandmother and two brothers.

    • Will Murphy says:

      Hi Trudi.
      If your great grandfather took up residence in 1871, his house, along with all of Fowell Street, was just 5 years old, virtually a brand new structure!
      There was a sort of sand and cement plaque embedded in the wall on the same side of the street to your relatives proclaiming
      ‘Fowell Street 1866’
      A trifling bit if information I know but by mentioning it here, perhaps someone actually either remembers it or better still (probably by chance) some one actually has a picture of it.

      Regards

      • Trudie Irwin (nee Pinfield) says:

        Whoa, thank you so much. Did not expect anyone to see my post so soon but a brilliant piece of information. William was only about 5 years old and his father, John, had been in the Scots Dragoon Guards, I think but am having trouble tracing this bit. At the time of living in Fowell Street John was working as a hotel porter and his wife, Sarah, a laundress.
        Many thanks.

      • raymond long says:

        hi trudie, my nan and grandad and the reast of the seers family lived in fowell street, i tjink it was number 10, my mum was ada seers

  23. raymond long says:

    sorry about the spelling, i will try again, hello trudie, my nan and grandad with the rest off the seers family lived in fowell street i think it was number 10, my mum was ada seers

    • Trudie Irwin (nee Pinfield) says:

      Thank you for getting in touch. William was my great grandfather and long before my time so, unfortunately, I have no anecdotes about him living there or about any of the people in the street.. Great to see all the pictures of Fowell Street, though, and very interesting to read the posts and all the history about it. There seems to have been a lovely community feel about the area. Much written about the East End and it’s characters but the West End seems to have been just as colourful. Good to hear from you. thank you

  24. Stephen Grieve says:

    My father, James Arthur Grieve, was living in no. 8 in 1939.

  25. England says:

    Does anyone know/remember families from 20 and 21 Fowell Street W11, London? Hickman and Honey in the 1920’s?

  26. Elizabeth Stickler says:

    Hi All
    Does anyone remember a Kathleen Ryan who lived at 15 Fowell Street in 1956.
    Sounds like it was a lovely road to live in.

  27. David Conway says:

    Albie Vicker, although they would be 100 now in the 1950s they would have been in their 30s and us in our teens. So quite feasible we would have known them.

  28. I would like to hear from Frank Clark. If the the same Frank Clark that went to Addison Gardens Sec, Mod.?

  29. KAREN DACK says:

    hi
    I’ve recently started to expand my family tree and have come across a great aunt living at no.15 Fowell Street when she had a baby in 1935, her name was Kathleen Carr

  30. Leon oclee says:

    Hi all my name is Leon Oclee. I used to live in Fowell street my parents names were Eric and Rose Oclee. My grandparents lived on the ground floor, the Morris family and George and Margaret lived on the top floor us on the middle floor of no 17.

  31. Will Murphy says:

    Good day all,
    The exchange of information and memories of Fowell Street has run on for many years and I’ve found it to be both interesting and in some cases informative. I wondered whether any former and present contributors would be interested in a sort of update giving their present whereabouts, etc.

    As for me, from Number 12, Fowell Street I’ve moved around with lots of different addresses, mainly in England, but I spent on and off nearly 20 years in Spain where I lived and worked. My last job in England was in Derby where I retrained in aerospace engineering for 6 years. All sounds very interesting but in fact I was working in a factory making small parts for aircraft engines.

    Due to a number of factors, the main one being ill health and the quality of healthcare in England, I finally returned and resettled permanently in Kent at the end of last year.

    It’ll be good to hear from you.

    • Ray says:

      Hi all. When i stayed at my nan & grandads house ( seer). I sometimes helped out in the tyre yard there. My uncle tom and aunt kath lived next dokr to the yard. I used to cone back as black as the tyres. My nan would fill up the tin bath for me in the living room. Happy days 😅😅😅😅

      • Will Murphy says:

        Hi Ray,

        I think your Uncle Tom and Aunt Kath’s surname was Thomas, who had two children, Bernadette and Michael. Would that be right?
        Michael Thomas and I played often together and usually as a threesome with my Cousin, David Pye, who lived just a few yards away at Brendon House, the Bomore Road end .

      • Ray says:

        Hiya. No sorry my uncle tom and aunt kath surname was sees. The had a son and daughter. Young tom & sandra i think. It is many many years since i have seen or spoke to them.

      • Will Murphy says:

        Hi Ray,

        I wasn’t aware that 2 families lived at No. 15 as Michael Thomas and his family certainly did. I assume then that your Uncle and Aunt lived on the ground floor.

      • Ray says:

        No. They lived on the upper floor of that house. Name of seers

      • Will Murphy says:

        I had it back to front Ray. I remember that Michael Thomas had the middle floor, they must have had the ground floor too, though I don’t recall ever being in there.

      • Ray says:

        No worries. But great memories of being there. No such thing as a locked front door 😀😀😀😀

    • Roger Doogan says:

      Hi Will I lived at no 14 top floor, ground floor was Arthur and doll with little Arthur and reta. Remember playing out in street with your brother’s and sister and all the others kids. We moved to top of Ladbroke Grove in the white flats.i now live in Peterborough

      • Will Murphy says:

        Hi Roger,

        I remember you and your brother Alan well, and recall your Dad being a bit of a joker. (I can still remember you wearing a slice of toast and jam that your Dad put in your face!)

        Both my parents have passed; my Dad long ago as a young man really at 59 years old back in 1972 just short of 2 years after being rehoused from Fowell Street in a far more comfortable home with a bathroom and inside loo, plus a big garden!

        Regards to you and your family. 👍

      • Oclee says:

        Do you remember who live at no 17 fower street ?

  32. Leslie says:

    Hi good morning Will I have moved around a bit myself New York, Los Angeles, France , Hertfordshire and now back in London trying to finish my family tree project looking for photos of Fowell Street Bomore Road and Testerton Street if anyone can HELP !!! kind regards L.

  33. gpm1963 says:

    Hi Leslie
    Alfred was also my nans brother he was only 4ft 7 tall we called him uncle elf , what is your nans name?

  34. Barb Beadle says:

    Hi all
    My father was born in fowell street in the 1920s, he married and moved around the corner to boomer road, where I was born in 1955.
    Sadly we moved away in 1961, but my aunt still lived in boomer road for many years after.
    Apparently I’ve been told I went to the chapel in fowell street, and my father used to swim in the cellar when it was flooded.
    I can remember it all so well.

    • Will Murphy says:

      Hi Barb,

      The actual spelling of the street around the corner from Fowell Street that you mention is BOMORE Road. Several houses in Fowell Street had blast damage to the front during the Blitz and some in Bomore Road were replaced with temporary Prefabs, which stood for a ‘temporary’ period of almost half a century! One of my Aunts and her family lived in one until around 1970 when, along with the rest of the area, people were rehoused and the whole area redeveloped.

      My family had a long association with Fowell Street until redevelopment, from my paternal grandparents through to my Parents and all their children. I am one of 12 Children; The first 8 were all home births, born in the middle front room. I was the 5th born in late 1951.The last 4 were born in nearby St. Mary Abbots Hospital, W.8.

      We moved away in December, 1970 to a beautiful home which actually had a bathroom and inside toilet, a further inside loo upstairs, a kitchen instead of a scullery, running hot water and electricity in every room.

Leave a comment