The northern end of Portobello Road

Portobello Road looking north from Golborne Road, 1969. Photo RBKC Local Studies.

Recently I was sent some memories of Portobello Road, so I am taking the opportunity of posting them together with some photos of the shops concerned (taken much later in 1970).

Rita’s memories of Portobello in the 1930s

I was born in 1930 at my grandfather’s house, No 341 Portobello Road. Grandfather James Taylor had a mews at the rear (Golborne Mews) where he kept a horse and cart and later it was converted to take a car. He owned a green grocers opposite at 342 Portobello Road managed by his two sons William and James Taylor.  My brother remembered going up to Covent Garden market with our grandfather in about 1930 by horse and cart to get supplies for the shop. He said the horse used to find its own way home as my grandfather had quite a lot to drink!!!

The greengrocer’s shop was closed in the 1930’s as grandfather said it was too expensive to run and James moved out and had to find other employment but the shop opened again shortly after with William(Bill) in sole charge which led to family friction!!!

I remember a cobblers in the shop at 341 Portobello Road in the 1930’s and my mother said it had previously been a laundry run by my grandmother who died suddenly in 1931.

A couple more reminiscences ……my cousins, who were a bit older than me, taking me to the eel and pie shop further down Portobello Rd in the late 1930’s where I just had the mash potato with the sauce as I don’t like fish. Also of my mother saying how they would go to the movie theatre in Portobello Road, probably to see a silent movie and there was an interval when tea and cakes were served! 

Incidentally my parents could not agree on a name when I was born in 1930. They went to see a movie called Rio Rita, hence my name! I also remember the trams from Paddington Green when going to see my grand parents, probably my father’s family who lived in the Prince of Wales area near the canal. The trams had metal runners in the road with overhead cables. Bicycles would get trapped in the metal runners.

Rita Runacres

The Butcher

My grandfather, James Reed opened a butcher’s shop at 338 Portobello Road in 1875. When my father Frank and his brother grew up they took over the family business and ran the shop until it was sold in 1960. The shop opened six days a week at 7 am and did not close until 8 or 9 pm. On a Saturday night meat was auctioned off very cheaply. This enabled poor families, who could not otherwise afford it, the chance to have meat at least one day a week. On Christmas Eve, it was open much later until 11 or midnight. People in those days had no fridges or freezers and no means of storing perishable goods for long. People often waited until the last minute in the hope of obtaining a cut price goose or turkey for Christmas dinner.

Frances Reed (taken from Portobello Its People Its Past Its Present by Shaaron Whetlor and Liz Bartlett).

Portobello Road west side 339-341 1969 KS209 copy

Portobello Road, west side nos 339-341,1969. Photo RBKC Local Studies.

Portobello Rd looking West neg2979 KS201 #363-365 (21-8-69) copy

Looking north from the corner of Faraday Road, 1969. The building on the corner had previously been a chapel. Photo RBKC Local Studies.

My own mother who grew up in the 1920s on nearby Wheatstone Road recalled this corner building, no 363 Portobello Road. She knew it as the Talbot Mission and it was where she went to Sunday School. It was an outpost of the Talbot Tabernacle.

Sue Snyder

Portobello Road - east side, 346-348 1969 KS203 copy

East side of Portobello Road at the corner of Faraday Road, 1969. Photo RBKC Local Studies

The 1960s

The photo above shows ‘Bill Cane’ ‘Turf Accountants’, a somewhat grand title given that Bill couldn’t write, however he had the nous to open three betting shops in the area shortly after they were legalised in 1960 and did very well with them. Prior to that he had been an illegal bookie collecting bets, via ‘runners’ at the local workplaces. He was also canny enough to employ young William Hill trained staff looking to supplement their wages on their days off and in 1965 I was one of them. I worked in his shop at the very top of Wornington Road, one of a short parade of shops close to the junction with Ladbroke Grove. The shop was a madhouse, always packed and Bill chain smoked c60 cigarettes a day often having one on the go at the counter and another in the ‘back office’. One day he sent me to collect money from the Portobello shop and that was even madder than Wornington. One day he came in with two packets of 20’s and sat beside me….. and just before the last race asked me if I could give him a cigarette… his packets were empty! The shop had a low ceiling and nearly all the customers smoked and looking back I don’t know how anyone could breathe in there. I was 17 at the time and it was illegal for me to even be in a betting shop let alone work in one! Fortunately Bill didn’t bother to ask how old I was and as I’d been recommended by another of his William Hill men he just threw a pile of bets to me to get on with … I think that concluded the interview.

John Henwood

If you have any memories of this section of Portobello Road please send them in to northkenstories@yahoo.co.uk or add a comment below.

This entry was posted in Local industries and businesses, Shops, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The northern end of Portobello Road

  1. Peter Fry says:

    I was born at 108, Highlever Road in October 1938. The owner of the house ran a dairy business in Portobello Road. My parents moved away in 1940.I wonder if anyone remembers that dairy, and what became of the family?

  2. S Garcia says:

    I lived in Wornigton rd in 1963. I remember the betting shop and Holmes the baker. Reiny pie mash shop in Golborne rd . So many great memories, still live in the area. Married a local girl good all days chances so much best wishes to all in W10 Kik

    • phillip downes says:

      Hello. I grew up in Acklam Road and I am trying to find out about the Kennedys who lived up the top of Acklam Road and St Ervans Road area, mainly would like to find out about a lady called Eileen Kennedy and her son Steven/Stephan. He was born around 1958 to 1960… I was born in 1960 and lived at 47 Acklam Road until we moved out in November 1970.. I remember the shop on the corner of Wornington Road and Acklam Road with a west indian lady being one of the owners. I used to watch her selling stuff out the side window when it was meant to be closed, like a threepenny loose ha aha she used to take back beer bottles too.. plus the off licence in St Ervans Road… around that time there was a couple of older boys than me that used to buy stuff from my dad – Terry Cummings and Rocky Monday.. and do you remember the shop on corner of Swinbrook Road and Acklam Road, Jamese’s…… and here is a ditty you might remember……. Mr Holmes’s bread, sticks in your gullet like lead, it is no wonder you fart like thunder, on Mr Holmes’s bread. We used to sing this to him and he chucked cakes at us. He drove a red SAAB.

    • phillip downes says:

      hello . being as yo ustill live in the area you might be able to help.. there wasa lady named eileen kennedy who i think lived at the top of acklam road 9 a good few of the kennedys there) she hada litle boy around 1959 /1960 called i think steven.. i would like to know if anyone here knows of steven or where he might be now.. i think at the time eileen might not of been married….. its pretty important i find steven any help would be good. i lived in 47 acklam road. my dad was known as chirpy and my mum was alice. we moved out in november 1970 due to the houses being knocked down…

  3. John Basham says:

    I lived in no 411 Portobello Road in the 1950s and have fond memories of then.
    I am now 78 years of age so I doubt if many people remember me.
    But good luck to all in w10 and a long life.
    John Basham

    • John Mackenzie says:

      I lived at 396 Portobello Rd. Born there in 1960 and went to Wornington rd then Barlby rd schools. Remember bunking school to help my uncle down the market on his stall. Had a great time as a kid working the market putting all the fruit’n veg out.
      All my family lived in Portobello Road, Nan n Grandad, all my uncles and aunts, my grandad’s brothers – all in the same part from 388-396-402 around 15 -20 of us.
      Great memories.
      Family name was Mayers

      • Great to hear from you, John. If you have any more memories of Portobello particularly of the market and the stalls, please add them as the blog is a bit lacking in that area.
        Sue from Northkensingtonhistories.

      • sandra austin says:

        Hello we lived at 396 portobello road “3 knocks” 1953 to 1966 . I remember pinnocks cant remember Macenzie.

        Cindy Smith

      • John Mackenzie says:

        Yea we lived 402 then moved to 396 top floor my nan n grandad were the Mayers’s lived 388 jimmy n Lenny Mayers 402 about 5 of them lived in portobello rd
        Ruth lived 2 doors away now runs cockney pie n mash
        My dad used to bring the big lorries home my uncle Charlie used to have the motor bikes on the corner of levie mews my mum was Betty Mayers brothers Johny n Charlie n Marlene then became Mackenzie when she married my dad at St. John’s now both in Kensal rise along with nan grandad and uncle Charlie
        My other nan and grandad lived lonsdale road didn’t travel to far for family get togethers every Saturday in the eagle or cowshed or walmer castle remember Jeff n Kim Powell and the McClintocks great times especially down the market

      • I remember u John have great memories of Portobello Road, we lived at 419 Portobello Road, opp the pinnocks and the Powells, my aunt my mums sister married Bob Pinnock Have memories of us collecting wood for Bonfire night , going to Ruth Philips Boxing Day fancy dress parties. Missed that street when our dads house (Charlie Laight) was compulsory purchased and knocked down and we moved out.

      • John Mackenzie says:

        Yea I do remember you great times
        I saw Ruth about a year ago
        I gave her an old picture of the road
        She owns the pie n mash shop on corner of goldbourne Rd ( I went to a funeral at Kensal rise )
        We did have some big bonfires in them days
        Remember the composury purchase orders
        Such a shame was a great community
        I’m living in Buckinghamshire but also lhave a house in the Cotswolds
        Long way from the slums in portobello Rd maybe it made me work harder
        I didn’t do bad for someone who couldn’t read or write until I was 14 and started working at 16
        I wouldn’t change my childhood for anything 😉

      • Jenny Patrick says:

        Hi , can you help ?my great great grandmother and grandfather lived 389 portobello road, believed to be a sweet shop that they run, with flats above.
        Emily and George Witt , we think it would have been 1930s onwards.
        If you remember the shop or pictures we’d really appreciate any info thanks Jenny.

    • Reg Banbury says:

      Are you related to Billy Basham I lived in Octavia house

    • Jeff Nagle says:

      Hi John. Do you remember the Nagle family at 414?

  4. james cogdell says:

    I used to have my haircut at Dave’s barbers when I was a kid!!

    • Reg Banbury says:

      So did I My dad refurbished his shop with blue laconic boards 1960s

      • James says:

        Blimey I used to go to Dave’s as well. Do you remember the old Exchange and Mart? I used to go to Bevington Road school. I still live in the area. Let’s just say it’s changed lol

  5. Family names Hamilton/Bancroft says:

    Hello James,
    I believe you must be a descendant of the Mrs Reed who used to send/bring her net curtains to my mother to be cleaned. We lived in Walmer Road and Mrs Reed or a man came by car to deliver them and frequently she would also have a bundle of clothes for my sisters. I was the youngest of five, and she often brought us toys and games as well. My niece still has ‘The Wonder book of Tales’ which was a great favourite of us all. I was wearing my Sunday Best REEDs coat when I was evacuated, but during the war my Mother gave up curtain framing as she was afraid that if we were bombed she would be liable. I wasn’t aware of the butcher’s shop but my sisters went to Portobello Road School and often had the job of delivering the finished curtains on the way. It’s good to hear stories of the old Nottinghill/Dale days.

  6. Lesley says:

    I lived in Porlock Rd Born in 1962.
    It was a tall 3/4 story house. Lived with my nana and her children.
    I’ll love to find any rare photos of this street as it’s so clear in my mind .
    Anyone?
    I recently returned and the closest I could get was to a little street at the back of some shops. Don’t think I was in the right place.
    I distinctively remember being close to a train line.

    • Dear Lesley,
      If you google Porlock Rd or Porlock St W10 you will find a map of the street on http://www.theundergroundmap.com. It was part of the big rebuilding after bomb damage of the Rackham Street area. It ran off Barlby Road just before Barlby Road joined ladbroke Grove, joining Treverton Street. A short road. A tower block is now there called Treverton Tower. Barlby Road primary School was demolished and moved probably to just about where Porlock Road was. The railway lines were just to the north of Barlby Road. There were and still are shops along Ladbroke Grove to the corner of Barlby Road, I don’t know of any photo of your street although there are one or two out there of nearby streets such as Branstone, Treverton and Rackham. There is a posting on this website on “Bar;by Road and Ladbroke Grove” that shows the junction and shops. Look under ‘recent posts’ or see the link below

      Barlby Road and Ladbroke Grove junction

      This is from Sue administrator for the website.

      • Rita’s Portobello memories

        I have just stumbled on this lovely website, and am so delighted to say that I have found a cousin. My grandfather too, was James Taylor, my father being William. I was born in 1944 and lived at 342 Portobello Road, where my father and mother ran the greeengrocer shop. Sadly I have never known my father’s side of the family probably as a result of the ‘friction’ mentioned, and I believe grandfather James died just after I was born. I too remember often going to Covent Garden with my father, very early in the morning, We had a van then, but I remember the horse and cart stories. I had two older sisters, one died at the age of seventeen and the elder one lived in the house in Golborne Mews after marrying. I lived in 342 until 1967. I married and we moved to find a larger family house. I would love to know more about my father’s family as I have never forgotten my roots and these postings have revived some of my fondest memories growing up in North Kensington.

  7. Brian says:

    I lived at 31 Faraday Road in the 40s,50s and early 60s, went to Bevington Road School with Angela Holmes daughter of the local baker. Had hair cuts at Dave’s, used to take beer bottles to the off-licence for the returns (then climb over wall to get them back and return them again).15 bus came up the bottom end of Faraday Rd past the old fire station, turned left Portobello Road and parked up next street and crews rested for grub at the bus canteen. Well remember Marion the bookies runner standing on the corner of Golborne Road before legal betting shops. She used to Leg it when Old Bill came along. Those were the days.

  8. John Henwood says:

    Dear Brian,
    Thank you for your interesting comments. Marion the bookies runner was probably in the employ of Bill Cane who operated in the area and had runners in the local factories and workplaces. Once betting shops became legal in 1960 he opened three shops one was in Portobello Road and another in Wornington Road. See my earlier post re. Bill Cane near the top of this blog along with a photo of his Portobello shop.

  9. martin webber says:

    I don’t think I ever met Bill Cane but I do remember his premises in Ladbroke Grove which was next to a newsagent. I did however, meet his son, John Cane, who married Maureen Butler.One day they took me fishing along the Thames somewhere and I lost my footing and fell in and John came to my rescue. I recall he drove a Ford Zepher or something similar to that. Maureen lived on the top floor of Treverton Tower prior to her marriage.Her parents Reg and Joan, later moved to New Milton.

  10. Shirley says:

    Anyone remember the Mayers family, who had a daughter Barbara. They lived above Jacks Fish and Chip shop in Portobello Road. Got a feeling they moved to somewhere in Ladbroke Grove at some point.

  11. martin webber says:

    Following on from my previous entry, I forgot to mention the Rumbelows shop in Portobello Road where used to enjoy looking at the display items. I also recall my visits to the Woolworths store which was located next to a Salvation Army building. I got many of my LPs from Woolies. I remember the wet fish stall which never seemed to change location, and I remember buying stamps on a Saturday morning from an old chap who had a stall in Portobello Road, not far from junction with Cambridge Gardens. Don’t know what happened to him, he just stopped turning up. I also remember a fight in the area now known as Portobello Green. I must have been aged around 4 or 5 so the year would have been 1958 or 59. There was a crowd who had formed a circle and inside was a Blackman who facing off against 3 white youths who I guess were Rockers based upon their clothing. Don’t know what started the fight as it was already underway by the time I arrived, accompanied by my father. I had never seen adults fighting before.

  12. Tony Puxley says:

    The only “job” I was ever sacked from -was as a paper boy working for Bill Cane when he had his newsagents. I couldn`t get up in the mornings!

    We lived in the small, low level block of maisonettes by the side of Raymede and Treveton Towers. My dad, Bill Puxley, was the resident caretaker on the estate.

    Very good memories of growing up and living in the area.

    Tony Puxley

  13. Dave Warren says:

    My mother told me that her father owned 2 butcher shops in Porterbello Road late 20s early 30s. His name was George Broomfiel. whether or not this is true i don’t know as he might just of worked there lve tried finding out and found nothing if anyone can help please let me know or have any old photos

  14. Phill downes says:

    Martin kennedy. if your mum was /is eileen kennedy and was related to the kennedy’s up the top of acklam rd/st ervans road , can you contact me please , its phillip downes… my email is phillnjack@gmail.com… ..asap

Leave a comment