The Harrow Club – Alan Bateman’s early memories

My association with the Harrow Club started almost sixty years ago when I was ten years old  and lasted for over forty years. I lived in Calverley Street and joined the club in 1958 following in the footsteps of my two older brothers Roy and Ray.

The club at that time was for boys only and was managed by the legendary Lew Ashman who many will remember. Lew had joined the club in 1953 and was assisted by Dick Kelly (the subs man) Jacko Poplett, Mike Cappochi, Johnny Green and many others whose names elude me at this time. In addition there were many old Harrovians : Sir Lawrence Verney, Eric Cross (Hubbly Bubbly) Hugo Trotter DFC, Dudley Saville and many more who gave up their time freely to ensure the smooth running of the club. They were all great benefactors !

The club was basically divided into three sections the minors being from 11 to 14 years of age the juniors was 14 to 16 and the seniors was 16 to 19. There was also an old guard. We paid a nominal sum each week as a sort of membership fee. The club’s entrance in those days was in Bard Road at the rear of the existing building and comprised a ground floor area, a basement area and a half landing room where the canoes were built.

On the ground floor we had three table tennis tables, a snooker table lovingly cared for by Gus Harding, a billiard table and two dart boards. There was also draughts, chess, Lexington and a large collection of National Geographic magazines.

Harrow Club .A.Bateman 1

In the basement we had the Gym, a Shower Room and the Canteen where Mrs Pithers dispensed beverages, sweets and her famous bacon rolls. Many will remember the padded pole in the centre of the Gym, the wood block flooring and the wall bars.

Lew was very sports minded as well as academically inclined and you were expected and encouraged to participate in various sporting activities such as Football, Cricket, Swimming, Canoeing, Boxing, Table Tennis and Snooker. There were also week ends away and visits to Harrow School. For those less sports minded there were Draughts, Chess, Lexington, Reading and I believe Debating.

Harrow Club.ABateman canoes

Lew Ashman with canoeists.

For us minors the club was open Mondays,Wednesdays and Fridays and at week ends if playing Cricket or Football. We were extremely lucky in having Albert Smith an ex QPR player and a lovely man as our football and cricket coach.

Harrow Club A Bateman6

Ex QPR player Albert Smith (on right) with Lew Ashman.

As well as the club in Bard Road we were fortunate in having our own sport’s ground in North Wembley where Albert was the groundsman and his dear wife Pat operated the canteen. In the summer months we would go to the grounds for cricket coaching and it was like going to the country and in sharp contrast to where most of us lived.

Sport was a very important part of the clubs activities and as well as internal competitions each year.

Harrow Club A.Bateman 10

QPR legend Rodney Marsh presents a 5 Aside trophy or contest held at Wormholt Park

The London Federation of Boys Clubs organised many sporting events at which the club boys excelled in winning countless cups and trophies. No matter what sport or activity the club could put together a very strong team. The club also did well in quizzes and I remember a poetry competition being won as well.

Harrow School Boys’ Club Juniors 1963-64

Harrow School Boys’ Club Seniors 1963 – 1964

The club had many fine sportsman many of whom were chosen to represent the London Federation.  It should also be mentioned that two boys, David Sanders and Alan Wilkinson became the first in the country to obtain  the Duke of Edinburgh’s gold award for canoeing.

Harrow Club A Bateman 4 Dof e award

David Sanders and Alan Wilkinson receiving the Duke of Edinburgh’s award for canoeing

A highlight of the year was the annual week end away at Woodrow High house in Amersham which was a joint affair with boys from Harrow School. The teams were equally divided and the idea was for the boys to get to know each other and break down any barriers which may have existed in a sporting and competitive fashion. If at the start of the week end there was some apprehension amongst the boys by the end all had been forgotten and strong links were forged which was the intention. The week end was all about team work and I can’t remember a time when it did not work.

Perhaps the main highlight of the year was the Isle of Wight camp held for two weeks at Whitecliff Bay. I was twelve when I first went there and it was terrific. To get to the island was an adventure in any event. Meeting at the club we travelled from Latimer Road station arriving at Victoria for the train to Portsmouth, then the ferry to Ryde followed by the steam train to Brading where a fleet of vehicles was waiting to take us on to camp. We were all excited and I can well remember the fun and games on the trains and ferry. We slept in either a bell tent or ridge tent, 6 or 8 to each tent You were expected to keep it neat and tidy, blankets folded etc. There was a tent inspection each day and at the end of the week prizes were given to the tidiest tent and individual.

Harrow Club Bateman8 IofWight

Isle of Wight camp, 1960

Some will no doubt remember the initiation ceremony involving a tub of cherry blossom and a wire brush.

They were really happy days site-seeing, swimming, sun bathing, crazy golf, quoits competition, bingo and of course – ‘shopping’ . Mrs Pithers, her husband Reg Lew, along with the staff and volunteers already mentioned worked wonders to ensure we had a great time and we did.

Another adventure for the older boys of the club was a trip to either France or Spain. In my case it was Spain. We travelled through France sleeping at the side of the road eventually reaching Sitges where we had to lift Lew from the drivers seat. It was my first time abroad and again it was a wonderful experience. Hugo Trotter drove us back through the Pyrenees on to Paris and then to the Eiffel Tower. I still carry the scars from that particular adventure.

They were indeed wonderful times and I am eternally grateful to Lew Ashman, the staff and Harrow School for providing me and my peers the opportunities that we would not otherwise have had. I made some great friends that I still see to this day.

The Harrow Club was such an important part of my life and having got so much from being a member I wanted to put something back so I carried on  for many years as a voluntary worker.

Any thoughts from anyone connected with the club would be most welcome.

Alan Bateman

This is one of two postings on the Harrow Club. The second is written by Brian Iles.

This entry was posted in Before the Westway, sport, Uncategorized, Youth Clubs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to The Harrow Club – Alan Bateman’s early memories

  1. Brian Allum says:

    I was a mate of your brother Roy, also knew Ray. I was often round your house in Calverly St. I think your mum’s name was Cicey ? And the Coopers lived next door, also a member of the Harrow Club for many years . The last camp I went to was in Poole and we stayed in a boys club. It was just before I was called up for the army and must have been 1955 . I remember all the old Jacko, Mike, Gus etc. Albert Smith used to turn up on a bike from Shepherds Bush to take training. The groundsman at Wembley was at that time George Simpson who you dearnt upset . Incidently I have a photo of your dad with my dad and my dad’s twin brother in the RAF. They came from Blechenden st. I am in my eighties now and not too good on a computer.
    All the best Brin Allum

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Dear Brian thank you for your response and I hope the blog evoked happy memories.
      Your right my mum was known as Ciss or Cissy her real name being Alice.
      So nice to hear from a mate of my dear brother Roy who left us so early.
      Would love to see that photo of my Dad and yours if at all possible.
      Ray remember you and he and I are very close.
      Going to the Harrow Club and growing up in the community that we did I am sure has stood us in good stead.
      With very best wishes
      Ray and Alan Bateman

      • Brian Allum says:

        Dear Alan Sorry to hear about Roy and sorry for delay in answering I was away for Christmas and have just read your message, I don’t know how to send photos,but will get somebody to show me all the best Brin Allum

  2. john henwood says:

    Lovely recollections Alan. I remember fondly Oxford Gardens primary school winter cricket practice in the basement gym organised by the legendary Mr Reg Lusby…….with the zinc plate in front of the stumps and his oft-repeated mantra of ‘LINE AND LENGTH!’
    Come the summer Oxford gardens teams were always best prepared.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Thanks John.
      I also went to Oxford Gardens School and your right about Reg Lusby being a legend.
      A wonderful teacher and cricket coach whose love for the game was paramount.
      I think the current Ashes team could do with the likes of Mr Lusby
      Best Wishes
      Alan

  3. Archie Pithers says:

    Hi All, so lovely to read about all these memories, thanks to my niece Barbara Young nee Pithers. I am Archie Pithers and was born in 1934. I have lived in Coventry for over 60 years. I lived in Walmer Rd and my cousins Bobby and Danny Tuhey lived in Calverly St. I was best mates with Roy Bateman and Alan Cooper. I believe I started going to the club after returning from Devizes where I had been evacuated. I was officially too young to go to camp but Jona Jones (manager) told my mum, Mrs P that if she came along to help then he would let me go (not sure what year). She never stopped going till 19?? Any one remember our signature tune; WE ARE THE NOTTING HILL BOYS, WE KNOW OUR MANNERS, WE SPEND OUR TANNERS,WE ARE RESPECTED WHERE EVER WE GO……It was lovely to see pictures of my Mum and Dad!!! That club and the volunteers who ran it were the making of many of us boys.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Dear Archie
      So lovely to hear from you after all these years.
      I was aware you were best mates with Roy and Alan Cooper and can just about remember
      you coming to the house. You were I believe a very good footballer but unfortunately broke your leg playing for Albert United which ended your career.
      Whenever I meet up with old club boys of my generation conversation usually reverts about two people in particular that is Lew Ashman and Mrs P your mum who was universally loved by all who came into contact with her. She was an absolute diamond operating the canteen and dispensing her famous bacon rolls and how she ever catered for us at camp on that tiny cooker was nothing short of a miracle.
      They were wonderful happy times!
      Our signature tune went like this:WE ARE THE HARROW BOYS WE KNOW OUR MANNERS WE FIGHT WITH SPANNERS WE ARE RESPECTED WHERE EVER WE GO
      DOORS AND WINDOWS OPEN WIDE EVER SEEN A MONKEY EAT BROWN BREAD
      EVER SEEN LEWS CURLY HEAD WE ARE THE HARROW BOYS
      We have much to be grateful for in being connected to the Harrow Club and its Staff.
      I hope you are keeping well. Ray sends his regards
      With very best wishes
      Alan

      • Archie Pithers says:

        Thank you Alan, it is a pleasure reading all the comments from various people which bring back so many happy memories. Your comment about my mum brought a tear to my eye, she was a hero, as well as looking after the club boys she brought up us 6 children and kept down 2 different jobs!!!! They don’t make them like that anymore!!!
        Do you remember what year she finished with the club?
        Regards Archie

      • Alan Bateman says:

        Hi Archie
        as far as I can see Mrs P retired sometime in the early to mid 1970’s after giving
        wonderful service to the club.
        I can still smell her bacon rolls !!
        I trust you are well
        With very best wishes
        Alan

    • sheila jones nee tuhey says:

      Lovely to see your name Archie. I have been in touch with your nephew Richard and sent a copy of the Tuhey family tree. Bobby died this year so out of the 5 of us only me left. You moved a long way. I live in Slough but hear every now and then from Patsy Tuhey. Hope you’re keeping well
      Sheila Jones nee Tuhey

      • Archie Pithers says:

        Hello Sheila, this ‘blog’ thing is a great way to keep in touch!! Last time I saw Bobby was at Richie’s golden wedding anniversary. Ann and I went to Harrow for that. Unfortuneatly we were on holiday for both Rich and Hildas funeral. We met up with Maureen in Florida about 20 years ago. Winnie is still with us, she is 94 this year!!
        Hope all is well with you
        Love Archie and Ann

  4. Brian Iles says:

    Alan
    Did you stay in touch with Lou and know what became of him?

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Brian
      Lew left the club in 1969 having started in 1953.
      He went to Windsor where he managed a community centre for many years and later
      managed a museum.
      As I am sure you remember Lew loved musicals and had a very fine voice and number of us do go and see him perform with an amateur operatic society in Windsor performing
      Gilbert and Sullivan.
      Even his canoe was called ‘My Fair Lady’
      Lew died in the Autumn of 2002 and his funeral was attended by several old boys and those connected with Harrow School.I could not go as I was in hospital at the time.
      So many of us have much to be grateful for having Lew Ashman in our lives.
      Best wishes
      Alan

      • Brian Iles says:

        Alan
        Thanks for that information. Yes, you are absolutely right Lew was very much respected. Do you know what age he was when he died?
        I am trying to put a face to your name Alan which I do recall. Were you in the group photo that I attached to my blog? I can put names to a lot of the faces and I know that Terry Johnson, Tichie Hewitt and Mickey Rouse (I don’t think he was really a Michael but the nickname was obvious) are on the back row with Eric, are you with them?
        Would be good to hear from you.
        Best regards
        Brian

      • Alan Bateman says:

        Hi Brian
        I have asked my brother Ray who was at the funeral and we both think he was in his early eighties. You probably remember my brother Ray who is 74 and four years older than me. I did go to the IOW camps but quite a bit later than you.
        They were happy days Brian and gave us many opportunities that we would not otherwise of had.
        Keep well and best wishes
        Alan

  5. Tony Puxley says:

    Excellent post Alan and a wonderful trip down Nostalgia Lane. I`m one of those many who benefited so much through being a member of the Harrow Club from the age about about 10 to 17/18 years, under the leadership of Lew Ashman – who, not that we apprecjated it at the time, was a giant in setting an example and expanding our horizons to us Nottin` Hill kids. I was fortunate to go on the IoW camps and the French Riviera Holidays, play sport at Wembley sports ground (even drove the tractor with Albert, the football coach). I understand that Lew moved out to the Windsor area, Berkshire, and was managing a small local museum before he died in the late `90s – I was was so sorry to only learn that information after he`d passed because I was then living only 5 miles from Windsor myself, and would have loved to have caught up with Lew after what had been a gap of over 40 years.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Thank you Tony and very pleased you enjoyed it.As you rightly say we did not always appreciate at the time, but looking back it provided us with a great grounding and education which has helped us through our adult life. Hope you are keeping well and hope to see you in the New Year.
      Alan

    • Mel Simpson says:

      Tony,
      You may not remember me. I was at the Harrow Club and played in the same football team as you.
      Ray Munn called me in Sydney last week and sent me the excellent article Neil Clark had written about Lee Ashman.
      Lew was incredibly influential to me and to all us boys and I remember him with respect and gratitude.
      I left the UK when I was 21 and have not lived in the UK for any length of time since.
      I would love to hear from you with any news of old Harrow Club members.
      It was a nostalgic walk down memory lane reading Neil Clark’s article and to see myself as a young lad in two football teams and once at the Isle of Wight.
      Regards
      Mel ( Melvyn) Simpson

      • Tony Puxley says:

        Hi Melvyn,

        Just noticed your post, I hope this reaches you, and finds you very well

        What a great site this is and all these really great memories of Lew and the Club.

        I well remember you with Mike Cross and, of course, spending time together with Gary Taylor and myself. I also remember the terrific parties in the big room upstairs in the pub (I think they were Xmas or New Year celebrations).

        Just brief note wishing you all the very best

        Tony Puxley

  6. My dad boxed at the club before the War. Great read and love the pics of Rodney and Albert Smith etc etc.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Hi Steve thank you for your response and so glad you enjoyed it.You are obviously a QPR
      fan as I am.Seeing pictures of Albert and Rodney does remind us of the glory days.
      Happy Christmas
      Alan

  7. jack palmer says:

    Great memories Alan. These memories are still so vivid in my mind, great days. Hope you and Ray are fine, regards Jack Palmer.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Hi Jack so pleased the post brought back so many happy memories.Yes they were great days and we so much to be grateful for. All things considered Ray and I are both well
      as we hope you are.
      Happy Christmas
      Alan

  8. Bill Stokes says:

    Having read what was posted on the forum, I felt I had to say something.
    I joined the Harrow Club when I was 9. My dad and uncles had been members, I could not wait to become a member. From the age of 9 Lew was my hero. He took myself and many many others on a journey, the IOW camps canoeing trips, to the south of France and down the river Wye. Took us to the Silver Arrow Ball at the Grosvenor Hotel. We got some funny looks in a DJ walking up Latimer Rd. Going to football matches in Lew’s Jeep. Playing table tennis with Alan and Ray.
    I remember one year at the IOW camp, we all made Lew sing on the talent competition at the Vine pub and he won. The pub is still there, nothing has changed. Lew and the club taught me right from wrong, a sense of fair play and to be the best that I can be.
    I took all these lessons in to my coaching both table tennis and swimming. I wish I had the chance to say good bye to my friend and hero.
    I hope all the club boys are well and I wish you all the best
    Bill Stokes ( club member 1954 to 1972 )

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Hi Billy
      I am so pleased you enjoyed it and that it brought back so many happy memories.
      As I have said we were so lucky in many respects although perhaps we did not appreciate it at the time.What we learnt from Lew and all those staff members has stood us in good stead throughout our adult lives.
      Ray and I are both well all things considered as we hope you are.
      Happy New Year !!
      Alan

    • Keith Wood says:

      Hi Bill

      Just seen your message. You probably wont remember me, but I have lost count on how many times I waited my turn for table tennis coaching with you, it was always after we finished football training up in the gym. My goal was to win at least one match, but I don’t think I won a game against you. Good times and a great table tennis coach.

      Best Regards

      Keith Wood

  9. David Greenman says:

    Hi Alan, Just wanted to say what a well written piece. Very informative together with some wonderful photographs. So many familiar faces, some sadly no longer with us, but good to see the photographs and remember them. I was lucky enough to have belonged to first, the Rugby Club in Walmer Road from 1958 to 1964 and to the Harrow Club from 1965 to 1968. Two great youth clubs, great rivalry in the best possible sense, as everyone knew each other. Happy days, happy memories and seeing this blog is a great reminder of how lucky we were to have such clubs to belong to. Also it makes you appreciate how much we owe to the people like Lew Ashman managing the Harrow Club and Alec Briggs managing the Rugby Club along with all the volunteers that helped them. Thanks again Alan, all the best for 2018 and hope to see you soon.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Hi David thank you for your response and kind comments.
      We have much to be grateful for in having both Lew Ashman and Alec Briggs in our lives.
      They were of pivotal importance to us along with other staff and provided us with an excellent outlook on life which we have carried forward to this day I think.
      There were not many boys who belonged to both clubs and I can only assume that you finally saw the light in 1965 when joining the Harrow club.
      All jokes aside both clubs were terrific and gave us a great grounding.
      With best wishes to you and your family
      Alan

  10. Peter Norrington says:

    HI Alan.
    Many thanks for this trip down memory lane. and it is great to read the responses from names from the past. Lew was a legend. along with everybody else mentioned. look forward to meeting again in the Pav in March. Happy New Year to you all.
    Regards Peter Norrington.

    • jack palmer says:

      hi peter whats happening at the pav in march hope you are well jack palmer.

      • Peter Norrington says:

        HI, Jack Alan Ray and me meet about every 6 months. have lunch and get pissed.and put the world to right.
        I am waiting to hear from Alan about the next date. it would be great if you or any other old boys came along.

        Regards. Peter. Mob 07971961854

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Hi Peter
      Glad you enjoyed the trip down memory lane.
      We all have fantastic memories and the Harrow Club is the main factor which binds us all together. Looking forward to our next meeting.
      Happy New Year and keep well.
      With very best wishes
      Alan

  11. Brin Allum says:

    Alan I tried to send photo of your Dad did you receive it

  12. Eddy Harrington says:

    I have Great Memories of the Harrow Club. Us Harringtons are among those who were lucky to be taught the Meaning of Friendship and Respect by Lew Ashman Sean Hinds. The Bateman Brothers and all involved at the Harrow Club !

  13. Peter Briggs says:

    Hi. Came across you while searching for something else. My Dad was Alec Briggs. He left the Rugby Clubs roughly around the same time as Lew Ashman left. Great times.

    • Keith Wood says:

      Hi Peter you may not remember me, but I was at the Rugby Club when your dad was the manager. I know you were good friends with Clive. My elder brother (Alan Wood) boxed for the club in the ABA, along with Mick Delaney.
      Keith Wood

  14. john henwood says:

    I wonder if anyone could help finding Harrow Club member Alan Brasher. We did a lot of fishing together. He lived in Silchester Terrace then and was a regular in the Kenilworth in the 60’s.

    • Tina says:

      Hi Alan did u know the Swans Tom and Alfie ?

      • Alan Bateman says:

        Hi Tina
        sorry for the delay in replying.
        I am sorry but I do not recall Tom and Alfie Swan and think they could have been members before my association with the club started in 1958. If you can give some other
        information to go on I will make some further enquiries.
        Best wishes
        Alan

  15. Alfie Kirkum says:

    Hiya Alan long time no see! Hope you are well . I truly believe the arra was responsible for keepin most of us Notting hill boys out of prison! I told a porkie when I was 10 and said I was 11 ! To this day I still say I am a year older what I am. My parents were married in the mission. Played for the club for more than 20 years so I am a arra boy ! I think we took for granted the good work people like yaself and Ray done to keep us off the streets! So many thanks for that mate 🙏 there’s a short film called 10 green bottles on utube – the blond kid is my nephew, a scene in the club where two lads made a decision one went nicking cars the other went up the gym ! Poignant moment that sum up the arra.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Hi Alfie lovely to hear from you and thank you for your kind comments.
      All things considered Ray and I are pretty well although the usual aches and pains
      associated with getting older are now more apparent.
      We hope you and your family are well. Yes we all have a great deal to be thankful for being
      members of the club which gave us an understanding of what life should be about It would have been so easy to have taken the wrong path given the area in which we lived but thankfully the vast majority choose the right path. I often think of the staff and lads and the
      wonderful times we all had together.
      Are you still in touch with any of the lads who were members and in the same football team as you ? If so it would great to hear how they are getting on.
      I will watch the you tube video with interest.
      By for now Alfie and hope to hear from you in the near futyre
      Best wishes
      Alan

  16. Linda Ling (was Bishop) says:

    Hi Alan. My Mum was an assistant youth leader at Harrow Club in the later 1960’s. Her name was Iris Bishop and I remember coming to the IOW camp with you and singing on the stage in the club there. Mum is still alive and we were just reminiscing and I looked up the Harrow Club and found your site. I can also remember being in a panto there Dick Whittington. Do you remember my Mum? Iris went on to run her own club in Fulham, the Castle Club and became an education welfare officer. She will be 90 this year.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Dear Linda
      so nice to hear from you after all these years.
      Both brother Ray and myself fondly remember Iris who I believe was the first female youth
      worker at the Harrow Club when it became open for girls in the late 1960’s up until that time it was essentially a boys club.
      Iris was very popular with both boys and girls and was a great asset to the club in that transitional period.
      Ray and myself have wonderful memories of the Isle of Wight camps and can remember you singing in the Country Club which was adjacent to our camp site. You had a very nice
      voice we recall, They were such happy care free days !!
      I am still in touch with many who were connected with the club including Hugo Trotter DFC
      who will be 96 in May.and who Iris may recall.All things considered Ray and I are well and want to wish Iris and you our profound good wishes.
      The Harrow Club was such an integral part of our lives and Iris was part of that which helped shape ours and many others futures.
      Please pass on our fondest best wishes to Iris and family

      Alan

  17. Keith Wood says:

    Mr Bateman, I know we have seen each other in recent years, i hope you and Ray are well. I spent a lot of my youth in the Club and met some wonderful friends. Like all who met Albert and Lee they were always part of my life growing up.
    Everytime you walked into the club, you were met by Lew with the subs book and his palm open waiting to be crossed. I’d like a pound for everytime I said I’d pay next week, greeted by the boyish grin from Lee knowing he was knocked again. I was always met by Lew when I entered the club with a rendition of “The woods are alive with the sound of music.” He never forgot.

    Keith Wood

  18. Ray Spencer says:

    Hello Alan
    Just found your blog and all the replies/contributions which bought back so many memories.
    So many names and the faces just spring to mind.
    Very sad to hear of the passing of Lew although given the time passed was not a surprise still a feeling of genuine loss.
    Would that I will be remembered with such respect and gratitude by so many after all these years but I don’t think so somehow.
    You may remember Dave O`Neil (now lives in Australia as does Melvin Simpson) who has always said how much he owed to Lew and the Harrow Club as do I.
    Good to see tony Puxley`s name again and please remember me to your brother Ray.
    Any idea what happened to some of the others of our time – Alan Eames and his sister Carol, Dave Paris, John McDonagh, Micky Cross.
    The Isle of Wight camps, Amersham weekends, canoeing and camping weekends, a weekend somewhere on the forestry commission land supposed to be clearing bracken etc where we cut down a big tree in the middle of a wind break by mistake -Lew got in some trouble over that I recall.
    My first ever trip abroad was to France with Lew and the club, I have some photos somewhere of that and a few at the Island camps.
    If interested I will try and find and post.
    Anyway really good to reminisce and remember the old days when the sun really did shine very day – almost!.

    With the very best regards to you and Ray.

    Ray Spencer

    • jack palmer says:

      hi ray hope you are well, I do hope you remember me jack palmer I still see some of the old faces ,lovely to read your message to alan good luck ray , jack palmer.

      • Ann Pithers says:

        Hello Alan Ray Jack and any others who knew Archie Pithers. Sadly Archie passed away on the 19th June this year. After 45 years together it is a sad cross to bear. I miss all the stories he told me, our children and grandchildren about the club. All happy memories for him.
        Please keep this blog going.
        Ann Pithers

      • Alan Bateman says:

        Hello Jack
        nice to see your response to Ray Spencer’s email.I think Ray is a couple of years older than us. I do remember him as a particularly nice chap always willing to help us younger ones when a couple of years was quite a difference.I trust you are keeping well,
        I thought you might like to know that my history group will be doing a piece on the pubs from North Pole Road down Latimer Road to the Shepherds Bush roundabout .I can still picture you and your band performing in The Brittania Arms on the corner of Bard Road.
        If you have any photographs they would be great to see !
        Keep well Jack !!
        Best wishes.
        Alan

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Dear Ray
      it was lovely to hear from after so many years and I am very pleased the blog evoked so many happy memories.We are indeed so blessed in many ways that we had Les Ashman
      and the staff of the Harrow Club in our lives !As Billy Stokes said Lew and the staff took us on a learning journey that none of us might never have experienced bearing in mind the area we grew up in .With regards to the names you mentioned sadly Alan Eames passed away some years ago but Carol lives in Chiswick with her husband Kenny they have two boys and are grandparents Brother Ray and my sister in law Evelyn do see them from time to time but these days sadly it is usually at a funeral.I know that John McDonagh lives in Norfolk but I am unaware of the whereabouts of David Paris or Micky Cross. It would be so nice to hear from them or any ex members associated with the club in our era in particular,
      Ray and I all things considered are well just the usual aches and pains associated with getting older.We both live on the Old Oak Estate in East Acton so have not strayed to far from our roots.I am still in touch with a number of old boys and do see a few from time to time when the conversation usually reverts to our time at the club.
      How about you Ray I trust you are well ,it would be so nice to hear about you and yes it would be good to see some old photographs although I did inherit a large quantity of old
      ones.
      I look forward to hearing from you !
      Best wishes,
      Alan
      Ps Did you go to Clement Danes ?

      • Ray Spencer says:

        Hello Alan

        Thank you for your reply.
        So sad and quite a shock to hear that Alan Eames had passed on.
        We were about the same age so he must have been in his late sixties very early seventies (I have just passed 74) which by todays standards is relatively young, may he rest in peace.
        I am not all sure how to post photos on this blog but I noticed on a previous reply you gave your Email address to send photos to so, if you don’t mind,I will send some this way.
        One is of me and Alan sitting on a bollard in St.Tropez (if memory serves me right) during a club holiday to France.
        There are couple more France trip photos and a couple of I.O.W. camp groups plus some miscellaneous ones from the 1964 camp.
        Your History groups topic is interesting – I sincerely hope the topics been thoroughly researched!
        No I did not go to Clement Danes I went to Isaac Newton, first year down Portabello Road 2nd to 5th just of the Golburn road.
        Better get on with sending the photos,(It could take me some time!) hopefully they will come through OK. Please let me know if they don’t.
        With the very best regards
        Ray

      • Dear Ray,This is Sue, the admistrator for the blog. I am told that you can easily just drag or copy/paste photos into your comment. Or if you want me to put them onto the end of Alan’s entry send them to the blog seperately on this email address and I will put them up. northkenstories@yahoo.co.ukMake sure you include details – when, where and who if you can.Good luck, Sue

      • Ann Pithers says:

        Hello Ray, I have written to you to tell you my dear husband Archie Pithers (youngest son of Mrs P.) sadly passed away on 19th June 2019. We have heard so many lovely stories from Archie about his club, about Lew, about you and your brov, He has had so much pleasure from your blog.

    • Melvyn Simpson says:

      Ray,
      It was good to see all the old names pop up in response to the terrific articles about the Harrow Club and in particular Lew Ashman.
      We all owe Lew deep gratitude and even at 76 I tell stories of Lew, the Club and the amazing trips we had in France and elsewhere.
      If you have any photos of the South of France trips, please send me a copy if not too much trouble. It may be better to send anything you may dig up to my email address at mel.simpson@dsc.com.au
      I have only recently found out about the various postings following my contact with Ray Munn last week.
      I would love to hear from anyone who remembers me after so long.
      Regards
      Melvyn (Mel) Simpson

  19. Alan Bateman says:

    Dear Ann
    both Ray and I was saddened to hear that Archie passed away in June and you and the family
    have our deepest sympathies !! Archie was a great mate of our elder brother Roy and Alan Cooper
    who lived next door to us.I can recall Archie coming to our house and remember him as a lovely
    chap who enjoyed his sport particular;y Football at which he excelled !
    I am so pleased he enjoyed the blog which no doubt brought back happy memories of growing up
    in Walmer Road going to the club and having a wonderful mother in Mrs P who was universally loved by all the club members .
    Rest in peace Archie !
    May I on behalf of Ray and myself wish you and your family a happy Christmas and a happy New Year !!
    Best wishes
    Alan

  20. Neil Clark says:

    Dear Alan,
    It was great to read your notes, and those of Tony Puxley and Ray Spencer who were of my generation. The last time I met your brother Ray was at Lou’s funeral on 2nd July 2002. Having not seen Lou since 1968 I met him again in 2000, and spent a lot of time with him over his last three years, He spent his last 3 Christmas days with my family (2000-202). At his funeral I gave a three minute speech on behalf of the boys from the Harrow Club, and included “We are the Harrer Boys” song you quoted. I felt honoured by the opportunity to speak of all the other boys. I was at the Club from 1958 to 1967, and during that time played football, cricket, table tennis, chess, and represented the Club in Public Speaking (along with Ray and Terry Cavanagh), quizzes. I also won The Writer of the Year Award in 1965 and 1966 for the Club from the LFBC and NABC.

    I was put in touch with Lou after being interviewed for an exhibition put on at the Club back in 2001. I know how much I am grateful to Lou and the Club, without them my childhood would have been bleak indeed.
    Best wishes to all the boys I knew. (So sorry to hear about Alan Eames!)
    Neil Clark

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Dear Neil
      I am pleased you read my blog and the various responses from ex club boys which I am
      sure evoked many happy memories.
      Unfortunately at the time of Lew’s funeral I was in Charing Cross Hospital and therefore unable to attend but my brother Ray went along with others connected with the club
      I am so pleased that you were able to give a short speech on behalf of ex club members
      which included our anthem ‘ We are the Arrer Boys ‘ Lew would have liked that.
      I do remember you very well I believe you lived in Moreland House on Lancaster Road
      and went to Isaac Newton school and was a regular at the Harrow representing the club
      in many sporting events as well as other activities such as writing .quizzes, and public
      speaking..Just for the record it was myself who was part of the public speaking team and
      not brother Ray alongside Terry Cavanagh..
      We have so much to be grateful for in having Lew Ashman in our lives he broadened our
      horizons and took us on a journey that few of us would have experienced if it were not for
      him.
      Ray and I are both well and in regular contact with a number of ex club boys.and will
      pass on your good wishes to them.
      I assume you have looked at the photographs on my blog in which you are featured.
      Very best wishes

      Alan

      • Neil Clark says:

        Hi Alan,

        I do remember you very well, and my apologies about mixing you up with your brother on the public speaking contest. You were also right that I lived on Moreland House, Lancaster Road. Your text and photographs were very moving. I put together a long text for inclusion. I also have a DVD which contains clips of Lew’s 8mm camera film that he had transcribed to a VHS tape. It is just under 6o minutes long, no commentary of course, but it contains clips of canoeing at Ravens Ait, on the Wye and Thames (I think), canoe slalom contests, a couple of the holidays in Sitges, a football competition in Holland(?) with your brother Ray as Captain. I recognise so many of the boys, including Alan Eames, but I just can’t remember the names. I would really like to make it available for all the members.

        By chance, I met up with Lew at his home in Windsor in 2000, and had a lot of contact with him until his death in 2002. It was remarkable: after a gap of over 30 years it was like neither of us had ever left the Club. As you probably know, his health was very bad – he had prostate cancer, deep vein thrombosis, a heart attack, and then a twisted colon. This last was the final point for him: he decided to give up.

        However, we had long talks about the ‘Arrer, and Lew had a remarkable memory for boys and episodes. Apart from you and your brother at Lew’s funeral, the only other boys I have met since is Terry Cavanagh. We met up in 2003/4 and he was distressed that he never had the chance to thank Lew for everything. I bet there is quite a few like that. I know that I was very lucky.

        Best wishes to you and Ray

        Neil

        PS. I think Lew deserves a memorial.

      • R SPENCER says:

        Hello Neil I was sorry to hear that Lew had so many health problems in latter life. Some years ago I Emailed the existing Harrow Club asking if there was any information available on the whereabouts of Lew but did not receive any reply. It was not until friend in Australia, also an old club member, put me on to Alans blog I was able to get any information. Forgive me if my memory is playing tricks but was it you who at one stage wanted to be a librarian and had a poem published in the program for one of the Silver Arrer balls.? I remember being impressed by the poem at the the time and looked on poetry in a different light thereafter – past the wind swept platform and the east of kathmandu we learned at school (Isaac Newton as yourself) I would very much like to have a copy of the disc you mentioned, fond memories of Ravens Hit, Canoe Slaloms and the Wye where I did my DOE canning test along with Mickey Cross,Melvin Simpson and Dave Paris. If you contact me on my Email spencer168@btinternet.com maybe we could arrange for a copy to be sent to me in Hampshire. Best regards Ray Spencer

      • Neil Clark says:

        Hi Ray,

        I have sent an email to your address as requested

        Best wishes

        Neil

  21. DONNA BANNERMAN says:

    Hello all, my grandad Bill Tipper was a proud member of the club, I’m guessiing would have been anywhere between 1940-1974

  22. DONNA BANNERMAN says:

    Neil, do you have the film on youtube? I know a lot of people who would like to see that.

    • Neil Clark says:

      Hi Donna

      I have spent all this morning trying to upload DVD to YouTube without success. I suspect that the DVD has been corrupted. After lockdown I will try to get a fresh copy made from the original VHS tape and then try again.

      I’m sorry

      Neil

  23. Roy Farndale says:

    Hi Alan, I was a member of Harrow Club from 1947 until it closed, then I was in the old boys club, did you have a brother Brian, I am sure my brother was a pal of Brian Bateman from Calverly St, he was born in 1939, I am 3 years older than him. When I first joined the club, Jonah Jones was manager, the balcony held a full size snooker table then, Who could forget Mrs Pithers, salt of the earth, I remember Archie once telling one of the lads off in very strong terms when he upset Mrs Pithers, but she forgave him, Jacko Poplet was an amazing Billiard and snooker player, I met him again in the Mid to late 1960’s when I ran a gartage in College Park, he came in for his repairs, loveley memories of the club, in those days the annual camp was at Deal in Kent. I could ramble on all day but I wont. Roy Farndale, some might remember me as Fadger.

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Hi Roy Brian Bateman and Ronnie Bateman were first cousins of mine and lived in Latimer Road before moving after getting married sadly both are no longer with us. We lived in Calverly Street and my older brother Roy could well have been pals with your brother
      Roy passed away aged only 49 .Mrs P and Jacko were great people and were associated
      with the club for many years..Many of us have great memories of the club which I am sure
      helped shaped our future lives.Are you still living in the area Roy ?
      Keep safe and well !!

      • Roy Farndale says:

        Hi Alan, I had word with my brother, you are quite right, Brian Bateman lived in Latimer road, he has been in contact with Soinia Mills his daughter. The Calverly st connection was a lad called Jimmy Slaney, my mistake there. I did not see my 1st reply to you on here so I’ll tell you again. I moved to College Park in 1962, and in 1978 I moved to Northampton, I have been here ever since, I miss the old district, not as it is now, as it used to be, we lived in Oldham road, opposite the Black Bull public house, my family lived in that street since 1912, we also had close relatives in Silchester rd Walmer rd and Latimer rd and one had a fruit and veg stall in Norland market. regards, Roy Farndale.

  24. Nooky Lant says:

    Alan
    My husband Nooky Lant remembers you very well from Oxford gardens and Issac Newton school also The Harrow club .Like you he was product of the boys clubs, he went to the Rugby Club and had Alec Briggs who was a great man for the boys .You had Lew and we had Alec and and people like Stan and Norah Ovendon who molded us into the people we are today .Pity these clubs are no longer there
    I also remember David Greenman ,Bob Underwood, Peter Schofield and lots of others from the Harrow club ,although we were great rivals we were also good friends.
    I lived around the corner from Bob in Langley when he passed away
    I now live in Windsor and moved there just before Lew passed away
    Regards
    Nooky Lant

    • Alan Bateman says:

      Dear Nooky
      how lovely to hear from you after all these years.I do of course remember you very well
      from our school boy days.Also from your days as a Rugby club boy and me as a member
      of the Harrow club.They were fantastic days and yes we were great rivals but always very
      respectful, after each game with a good handshake and a pat on the back for who ever won on that particular occasion.We were very lucky to have the likes of Alec Briggs and
      Lew Ashman in our lives who insured we followed the right path.I am still great friends with
      David Greenman and spoke to him only yesterday it was terribly sad about Bobby. I remember you as a good all round sportsman as so many boys from Notting Dale were. I believe Boxing was your particular area of expertise.My telephone number is 0208 749 1273 if you fancy having a chat at some point.I hope you are keeping well its been a very
      strange year !
      I will let David know that you have been in contact.
      Keep well and safe !!
      Alan

  25. Nooky Lant says:

    Hi Tay
    Glad you got my message
    Nice you keep in touch with David Greenman,remember him and his cousin Jimmy Still talk to Peter Ellis now and again ,recently got back in touch with some old club boys you may re member Alex Ardis,Bob French and John Daly.
    Always nice to remember the good old club days
    Still go to Notting hill to visit relatives near the old Harrer club
    My phone number is 01753 860434
    I will certainly give you a call to reminisce on old times ,in the meantime give my regards to David
    Keep well
    Nook

  26. Riley Taggart says:

    Dear Alan

    It’s so good to hear yours and all the other memories and stories about the Harrow club from the past and our it enriched your childhood. It’s also fascinating to hear the names of Albert Smith and Hugo Trotter who I came into contact with during my time. For those who don’t know me I started attending the Harrow club in 1978 as a 6 year old and stayed with the club becoming a volunteer right up and into my 20’s. I attended the club with my older brother Arron and we took part in so many sporting activities which have bode well for us in our lives. We also really enjoyed the activities weekends at Woodrow High House and later Forest Gale which was bought by the club in later years.

    I just wanted to come onto this forum and thank the likes of Alan and Ray Bateman, Hugo Trotter, Barry Leach, Sean Hynes etc who made the club so special for us and the hundreds of children, boys and girls in the North Kensington area who attended over the years.

    Thanks a million Alan!

    See you soon

    Riley

  27. Luis Elias says:

    Dear Alan,
    Following on from Riley’s kind words I shall add a few. In our life you come across so many people, but some leave an everlasting impression. In my case these people were Alan, Ray, Sean and Hugo and Barry. Now being a father I see how much these influential people taught me, and most of the things I now undertake are thanks to the opportunities given to me by the club. Alan, you were a planner and giving me the opportunity to plan Woodrow with you has now ensured I plan all my family trips with fun and itineraries. Sean gave me the opportunity to run the Youth committee then I joined the staff team, today I sit on various committees ( chairing a couple). My children are now enjoying canoeing which I started thanks to the club, Ray and Hugo motivated us along the Thames and the Wye, always some ‘ginger nuts’ to gain energy. Working weekends at Forest Gale gave the skills to keep my home in order. Still visited Forest Gale recently on a trip to the Forest of Dean.
    Apart from all these skills given to us by the club and the volunteers and it being a safe haven for me, the biggest skill learnt was respect, we looked up to these volunteers and they will always have a place in my heart.
    Best wishes

    Luis

  28. Ann says:

    Hi
    Did Jacko Poplett live in Old Oak Common Lane?

Leave a comment